Results 1,181 to 1,200 of 2551

Thread: Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

186 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    For the next 10 years? He's only contracted for another year and considering he seems so keen to go to england there's no hope he will sign a new contract. Seriously like,400k,are you taking the p**s? Derry got way less for mcginn who is a more promising player imho. LOI clubs don't have the bargaining power to demand 400k for a player like seamie. Tbh i'd take 150k and a sell on clause. We're not gonna have him for more than a year and if we don't sell him i don't think in that year he would make 150k of a difference. I hope wherever he goes he does well though cos he's a smashing player with loads of potential.

Min. for me: 300K + Sell On bonuses + Full International bonuses
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

I think we have lost the run of ourselves here with regard to seamie's valuation!

He is only worth what someone will pay and if we got €150k then we would have done very well from this!

Remember the yoyo have increased greatly in value against sterling and that will make it worse for the rovers trying to sell to england and the dreaded credit crunch!

Saying that i want €500k for him!

Lads if we get much over 100k it'll be a good deal.

400k is just being in fantasyland

151 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by redobit View Post
    Min. for me: 300K + Sell On bonuses + Full International bonuses
    That sounds about right for you but how much for Seamie?.

21 Posts
    Meanwhile the future of full-back and Republic of Ireland U-21 international Seamus Coleman is still to be decided. Glasgow Celtic and Birmingham City have both expressed an interest in the 20-year-old Donegal native with the midlands club asking him back for a second week-long trial following a pre-Christmas audition.

Toolan said Birmingham had made an offer but they were still in discussions. He did not wish to disclose a figure and said he hoped the matter would be resolved within the next week.

“I don’t want a situation where Seamus doesn’t know where he’s going. If the player is happy [to go] then it will happen, but if Seamus Coleman wants to stay in the League of Ireland it will be a benefit to the League and Sligo Rovers.”

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/st...eyau&cat=sport

ANy word on who are the Stanley players ? That guy would be a great signing, Also with the strength of the Euro i wonder could you tempt a few players over !

21 Posts
    The manager told the source I heard it from, ah sure Cookie can be a bit of a bluffer himself! No mention of names or positions.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Meanwhile the future of full-back and Republic of Ireland U-21 international Seamus Coleman is still to be decided. Glasgow Celtic and Birmingham City have both expressed an interest in the 20-year-old Donegal native with the midlands club asking him back for a second week-long trial following a pre-Christmas audition.

Toolan said Birmingham had made an offer but they were still in discussions. He did not wish to disclose a figure and said he hoped the matter would be resolved within the next week.

“I don’t want a situation where Seamus doesn’t know where he’s going. If the player is happy [to go] then it will happen, but if Seamus Coleman wants to stay in the League of Ireland it will be a benefit to the League and Sligo Rovers.”

http://www.sligoweekender.ie/news/st...eyau&cat=sport

It also said no signings have been made yet, so does this mean its no more than a rumour about the 2 players, or that that they wont officially join until the team's budget for the season is accepted by the FAI ?
    Coleman for Ireland

it would be great to sort out seamies future as if he goes we have some cash to play with, maybe not all the fee but some of it and we will know what we need to replace!

Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    The one who went from Cambridge to Rochdale today?

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/7806817.stm
    He was with Accy at the end of last season. Three club rule anyone?

Happy that no new firm signings have been made yet apart from some of last seasons players, the desperate situation with other LOI clubs could yet see some interesting names becoming available. It has to be difficult for even good players to find new clubs anywhere, when you see how far some of them have to go to try and find a club. I am not wishing other clubs misfortune as we do need the likes of Finn Harps, Drogheda and Athlone in the league, would prefer to see one or two Dublin clubs drop out. Cooke once again is showing his good judgement by playing a cool hand and anyway he needs to know what is the situation with Seamus Coleman going to be and what is his budget likely to be. Anyway with Cooke on board I am beginning to feel good about the coming season as the likes of Pats and Bohs are unlikely to be the forces they were and Drogs are really struggling, fancy Shams to be a contender this year if they can make ends meet

If jay o'shea commanded a reputed fee of 375k (albeit apparently a dead transfer now - at least to derby)then can someone tell me how seamus coleman would be worth less. The lad has done the business over a number of seasons and is pure quality. Cant see why we cant expect in or around such a figure (If above is true) for Coleman.
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

Quote Originally Posted by neutrino View Post
    If jay o'shea commanded a reputed fee of 375k (albeit apparently a dead transfer now - at least to derby)then can someone tell me how seamus coleman would be worth less. The lad has done the business over a number of seasons and is pure quality. Cant see why we cant expect in or around such a figure (If above is true) for Coleman.
    Jay O 'Shea is way over priced. However him winning awards in the league this year is one reason why so many clubs have been after him, and this in turn has pushed up his Market value.
    I rate Coleman much better than Jay O'Shea, however I'd be surprised if Rovers got 100k for him. People saying he'll command a price of 400k is just laughable.

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_Ryan_(footballer_born_1988)
    Jimmy Ryan. Midfielder. Age 20. Irish. Just Released by Stanley and also played for Liverpool Youth team. U-21 Cap.

Thats a rumour I heard. Not reliable though as it hasn't been on so much other things.
    Any more news on these Accy players yet????

Quote Originally Posted by Valairian View Post
    Any more news on these Accy players yet????
    You tell us?

Formerly: wild rover
    Don Givens, Ireland U21 manager:

“Seamus Coleman (Sligo Rovers) is another player who had a good season with us and he is a player I would be recommending highly to a club offering him a full-time career. He is a very good defender and decent on the ball and he is a player well capable of making a living from the game.”

Givens must think we're paying Seamie in sweets or something

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Givens must think we're paying Seamie in sweets or something
    No ....we were paying foy in sweets, Seamie gets paid his weight in herrings!

I hear that John Russell will being joining up with ye , easily GUFC's best player if he stayed injury free.

Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    I hear that John Russell will being joining up with ye , easily GUFC's best player if he stayed injury free.
    What position is he? Did you hear if he's full-time or part-time?