Page 3 of 128 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer Rumours/Suggestions

if we had a gk coach it would improve brush greatly. he just needs more confidence and a couple of sessions a week with leo would do wonders i'd say. all the same, hopefully donal's right with his prediction on o'hara like he was with hughes months ago. boyd had a disciplinary issue a few weeks ago and got a hefty fine from club so i doubt he'll be back. he's a one trick pony who has very little impact on games and i'd rather see curran given a game before him, also i get the impression he's a bad influence on foyzer

TBH I thought Boyd had potential if he only got himself in shape. And as for Ventre, love this player, plays with his heart on his sleave and has every striker in the league ****ting themselves.
    Last edited by gustavo; 15/11/2007 at 2:39 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Redzer View Post
    That might not be so far of the mark. An uncle of John's told me a few weeks ago that he was planning on comming home.
    I remember reading, a few months ago, on Bebo about him possibly coming back. Hope it's true.
    Quote Originally Posted by Rovers1 View Post
    Id say Cousins let him go because he was fighting Ciaran Foley for a place,theyre both similiar players, and if thats the reason, then he certainly doesnt deserve a place at Rovers.
    Cousins placed Foley on the transfer list around the same time so he wouldn't have been planning on playing either of them! Besides, Galway fans were raging when James was let go, he was a good enough player for them, not exactly a reject. More of a dispute with the manager I'd say, just like Raf with Sean Connor, and you wouldn't call Raf a reject would you?

32 Posts
    what about mark rossiter??
    hes not too happy at bohs and might be a decent signing.

Actually Colie left because he couldn't settle in Galway.He missed Dublin.
    Average player-not a chance he'll join ye though....he'll be with Bray/UCD next year.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

we would of had mark rossiter but mc donald didnt think he was good enough.

I'm surprised that Cookie isn't releasing more players with a view to strngthening the squad. Obviously the money available will dictate and he is unlikely to gave 2 players for every position.

Shams had a great season and yet they've released 11 players. I have great time for Cooke, but part of management is making the most of what you've got and cutting tour cloth. In all honesty he should be looking at each position and saying can i improve it. If not then we're drifting along.

In my opinion, the only players who are pretty much definites are Faz, Coleman.Judge and Peers. The rest should all be under the spotlight.

Of the regular starters team last season here is my reckoning.

Brush- Will never be the best and is not a patch on O'Hara.
    Coleman- Say no more
    Peers- Oustanding
    McKenzie- Not up to it. Should be on the way out.
    Foy- There are better left backs out there.
    Faz- Terrific
    O'Grady- Best years are probably behind him. A good squad player to have.
    Curran- Simply hasn't stepped up to it and i'm not sure if he will. Good technical players but needs too much time on the ball.
    Judge-Blows hot and cold. Needs competition to be kept on his toes.
    Ventre- Plenty of spirit, but would struggle to get a place in any team in the rest of the top 6.
    Meredith- Not good enough
    Boyd- As above.
    Cretaro-Disappointing season. Can do better.
    Cash- Good squad player.

Cooke himself-Overall though he has done exceptionally well. Now comes the next challenge and that's to wheel and deal for players. Simply not good enough to say i don't have money. Most other clubs don't either. I was really disappointed with the Bray display. It was unfair on Waterford and UCD not to field your strongest team. They are professionals. Was it asking too much to play one last game before next March ?

If we started the season next year with the following team I'd be happy enough

Brush
    Coleman Peers ........CB ......... LB
    Raf or Cash....... O''Grady.......... CM.............Gordon/LM
    Faz ..............Judge
    then on the bench you'd have
    Arcaba
    McKenzie
    Curran
    another striker
    Raf or Cash
    Gordon/LM
    Foy
    Ventre if he stays
    and all the u-21 lads

21 Posts

If Faz goes I think Cook will leave too, he rates him so highly that I think he'd have enough if Faz was sold. In saying that, the money could come in handy if he knew of others available too though.

if drogs or bohs(god forbid!) come in with a good offer cant see the club turning it down because of our financial situation, sadly its always going to be the case that we will lose our top players until there is massive investment at the club, like with hughes dont think anyone would blame faz if he left, has been superb this season and we would have finished a lot further down the league without him i think

32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cmak-88 View Post
    we would of had mark rossiter but mc donald didnt think he was good enough.
    its not because mc donald didnt think he was good enough, it was because the squad was goin full time and rossiter wasnt able to.
    its a pity because hes a decent player.

Quote Originally Posted by sligo23 View Post
    its not because mc donald didnt think he was good enough, it was because the squad was goin full time and rossiter wasnt able to.
    its a pity because hes a decent player.
    Surely he's full time with Bohs?
    "he tries his best.... but I was a proper player".

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DonalE View Post
    Surely he's full time with Bohs?
    Only part time with Bohs. Rossiter accepted an insurance pay out from Sunderland after a career threatening injury. If he wanted to go full time again he has to repay all monies. Mark Kelly former Irish international who had a stint at Rovers was in the same bracket.

He is full time with them but they have him nominally down as a coach

Has Foyzer signed for next season? Was speaking a friend from Tallaght who said he'd left

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    He is full time with them but they have him nominally down as a coach
    Rossiter after being forced to retire from English football and accepting compensation can never play full time again unless he repays the insurance. This would of all being in his insurance policy. Its a part time contract he has with Bohs or amateur status.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    Rossiter after being forced to retire from English football and accepting compensation can never play full time again unless he repays the insurance. This would of all being in his insurance policy. Its a part time contract he has with Bohs or amateur status.
    yes but nothing to prevent him being paid for "coaching" full time and playing for nothing !!
    "Excuses are the nails used to build a house of failure"

151 Posts
    I heard that Foyzer wanted to go back to Monaghan or some such.

Quote Originally Posted by avvenalaf View Post
    I heard that Foyzer wanted to go back to Monaghan or some such.
    thats such a waste of talent if it happens.

what a shame he won't get fit

Page 3 of 128 FirstFirst 123451353103 ... LastLast