Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: A left back

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    Had a look on Shels message board and they all rate McCulloch very highly. Sounds like a decent signing to me.
    yes Saigon maybe he is but we're talking about a differant division here.... cookie was a great 1st division player but look how he coped in the prem. we're meant to be challenging higher this year so that means a better standard of player is required.... players that are proven at this level or a level similiar!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

A poem for Tony

(by gufct)

Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Only for your great management skills
    We'd probably be in Division Two !

Lads you must see where Gilberto is coming from , we need to improve from last season ( and a good bit aswell ) and we need to bring in better players than what we released , it's very simple really .
    If the club are going to finish in the top 4 do you think that buying a first division player and a player who has had a run in with his club and wanted to quit football is the way forward ?

And whoever said we will never get Mooney maybe right but if we don't aim high our targets will only become lower and lower .

Bottom line is that I am happy to pay 250 euro next season and I want to see one hell of a lot better than what we were all treated to last season .

75 Posts
    Thanks Pa maybe you could pen one for Gilberto about the chip on his shoulder .

Sorry lads seems like were all tossers now that the great man has spoken!!!!
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    no i havent but ive seen where the finished this year and we're talking about 2 of that team. considering there careers took this path shows there on the way down...think back to fagen for quick referance

Cop on will ya ''who would i sign'' im not the one who is getting paid as a job to look into this.... i cant ask the club to fund me to travek toengland to check out players...and im not the ones sending our scout on various scouting missions ffs!!... cop on with the petty statements
    Did you pay any attention to how Shels did throughout the season? They were below Wexford for most of the first half until they signed a few players in the transfer window and were the 3rd best team in the second half of the season. Just because they were with Shels doesn't mean they're no good.

Also I'd like to know who you expect us to sign players from? No club in the world signs players from any "better" club than them unless they're cast-offs.
    What you're suggesting is that we sign first team players from a choice of: Any of the 7 eL clubs who finished above us, any English Premier League or Championship team or any SPL team.
    Do you honestly believe any regular started in any of those listed teams would join United?

On your last point I was hoping you'd give me an idea of what kind of players you'd like us to sign rather than you go out to sign them for the club yourself...

I've suggested Alan Cawley and Andrei Georgescu (Bray finished below us), Pa has suggested Bobby Ryan (Dunfermline second bottom in Scots Div 1 and he originally joined us from Limerick anyway) would you like to suggest anyone? And maybe we can actually get a decent thread going on this site for once!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

46 Posts
    Lads a top 4 finish is relistic

If tony and current squad we have now, along the new players can start the season like we finished the last we have a great chance of pushing for a place in the top 4

cork only finished 20 points ahead of us this year,if u take in account our 14 draws (7-8 of those are games we should have won) we could have been a lot higher

so if we these draws into wins (ie get a goal scorer than will get 10+ goals, and not concede late goals) we should finish a lot higher

Is Ian Bermingham from ucd a left back? Hard to get jackeens to come down the "coun'ry" but it's only a suggestion.

147 Posts
    Jamie Duffy has been released by Shamrock Rovers, would he be worth a look? Ian Ryan was with Longford on loan from Hoops, he might be worth a look. Would JohN Reilly from Longford be a good option on the right?
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    cork only finished 20 points ahead of us this year,if u take in account our 14 draws (7-8 of those are games we should have won) we could have been a lot higher

so if we these draws into wins (ie get a goal scorer than will get 10+ goals, and not concede late goals) we should finish a lot higher
    how could we ever break our fine draw tradition
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    Did you pay any attention to how Shels did throughout the season? They were below Wexford for most of the first half until they signed a few players in the transfer window and were the 3rd best team in the second half of the season. Just because they were with Shels doesn't mean they're no good.

Also I'd like to know who you expect us to sign players from? No club in the world signs players from any "better" club than them unless they're cast-offs.
    What you're suggesting is that we sign first team players from a choice of: Any of the 7 eL clubs who finished above us, any English Premier League or Championship team or any SPL team.
    Do you honestly believe any regular started in any of those listed teams would join United?

On your last point I was hoping you'd give me an idea of what kind of players you'd like us to sign rather than you go out to sign them for the club yourself...

I've suggested Alan Cawley and Andrei Georgescu (Bray finished below us), Pa has suggested Bobby Ryan (Dunfermline second bottom in Scots Div 1 and he originally joined us from Limerick anyway) would you like to suggest anyone? And maybe we can actually get a decent thread going on this site for once!
    did i say 1st team players?.... they have subs you know!.... well buying from clubs in a mickey mouse division is hardly breath-taking..... the club want an extra 80 odd euro for season tickets...thats grand but if we're buying these kind of lads then where is the money going?

why you just naming the premiership and championship?... there is league 1 and 2 who have decent players ya know!

im so sorry GUFCT how dare i be un-happy about these potential ''top quality signings'' that are great manager has signed. when he shows a bit of class then ill give him credit, but its just one joke after another with him!!

Trainee its very easy to say that about the draws but just remember they could very easily have been losses, same theroy for our wins...they could have been draws, and our losses could have been draws instaed too

If we had lost all our games we would have been relegated in September

Cousins must go !

75 Posts
    Gilberto your unhappy with everything always have been since you started posting on here but ill refrain from abuse its futile arguing with you.

Just one player ill mention Kevin Hunt was going nowhere fast 10 years ago and Bohs took a chance on him same with Derek Glynn for us last year and he ended up getting 10 goals in 18 starts. Because we cant pay top dollar in wages it means we have to search around for players who will fit into our wage structure and are better than what we already have. I dont think we have done too badly in the last couple of seasons on that score.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    If we had lost all our games we would have been relegated in September

Cousins must go !
    Pa watch out he might think your serious.

75 Posts
    To break away from the subject here .Good job the UCD Lads have gone away some of the spelling and grammar is shocking

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    Gilberto your unhappy with everything always have been since you started posting on here but ill refrain from abuse its futile arguing with you.

Just one player ill mention Kevin Hunt was going nowhere fast 10 years ago and Bohs took a chance on him same with Derek Glynn for us last year and he ended up getting 10 goals in 18 starts. Because we cant pay top dollar in wages it means we have to search around for players who will fit into our wage structure and are better than what we already have. I dont think we have done too badly in the last couple of seasons on that score.
    boo hoo GUFCT the day i care what you think of me will be a very depressing day... maybe because i only started posting on here when the shambles of last year started..... we had a vote and the people spoke... cousins to go

im sure theres a few who voted(yes-to stay) are thinking differantly after seeing our potential signings!!.... will ya stop with these comparisons all the time.... you went on about Drogheda before and how they climbed the tabel its a completly differant scenario and comparisions dont work in these situations...now Hunt, sure just because he worked your trying to say these lads could..... the players we let go were all good 1st division players... we all know how they faired this year so the odds of the new signings setting the league alight are slim..... id be happy to see proven players at this level or of the calibre of Robson(young promising player not a 27 yr old journey men...whos careers have gone downhill every club..see Fgen for quick referance) coming frm a strong premiership clubs you system to show some intent for next yr.....
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 14/11/2007 at 2:55 PM.

Lots of heated debate on this thread

MCCulloch is a good buy for you in my opinion - seen a good bit of Shels this year and he always stood out - likes to get forward, very comfortable on the ball and pretty nippy - ye should be happy to have him i reckon

Im not so sure about Leech - he is well able to receive the ball with his back to goal and lay it off etc - and is quite good at that - but I wouldnt see him scoring many goals - has a habit of running across defenders as opposed to in behind him - ok player but its a surprising one

Whats the story with Mensa and Armstrong? I didnt see their names listed on as players who had signed or released -they gone already and I didnt hear about it?

TC was after Shaun Williams from the Drogs last season also but he didnt fancy a move west - he is going to be a big player in my opinion in years to come - a classy player with a great eye for a pass and well able to forward from midfield and get a few goals

Mensa and Armstrong were released a few months back, They had long term injuries and came to an agreement with the club about the termination of their contracts afaik.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

75 Posts
    both players suffered serious injuries Armstrong (Ruptured Achilles) and Mensah (Cruciate 63 mins into his first game) so the club agreed a settlement with both.

won't pass judgement on the new players but tbh i would hope they are BETTER than what we currently have.

with the players that were kept on we have a decent nucleus, i would not like to think we are signing players who are of similar ability to what we currently have. i mean we have about 17 players (i think) including the 2 u21s who are signed. a squad of 22 is loads as it can be supplemented, in the event of a load of injurioes/suspensions, with the u21s and reserve team (if this A league goes ahead). so i had hoped for 4 or 5 quality players to bring us up a level. maybe these signings will be but i can't say untill we see them playing.

btw i think it is good that they are signed sooner rather than later as it will mean (hopefully) the full squad will all start pre-season together. the second transfer window shouldn't see a raft of new signings but if history tells us anything........

Just about ye're top 4 aspirations.

Is it us ye expect to overtake? I presume a lot of money will go into signings to make up the 20 point gap(we also drew a lot of games) but we're also hoping to hugely improve as it was a very poor season for us.

How many of ye think it's realistic?

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast