Thread: Raffle Tickets and Club Licence

Angry mmmm

ill talk to you in private u **** about the sc and the direction i and indeed everyone seems to want it to go down. now speeking of going down lets look at your track record lol ha ha!

Re: mmmm

Originally posted by gael353
    ill talk to you in private u **** about the sc and the direction i and indeed everyone seems to want it to go down. now speeking of going down lets look at your track record lol ha ha!
    Gael 353, sorry but you can't claim to be talking for everyone before we have even had the meeting - you really should think before you type stuff like that. WE can tear lumps out of each other on Thursday evening instead, eh??
    Last edited by deise deserter; 26/05/2003 at 2:05 PM.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."
    - John Purcell (Limerick FC Commercial Manager), February 2004

Re: Re: mmmm

Originally posted by deise deserter
    Trev, sorry but you can't claim to be talking for everyone before we have even had the meeting
    That's probably why he said it's the direction everyone seems to want it to go down.

Originally posted by deise deserter
    you really should think before you type cr@p like that.
    People in glass houses etc. Need I remind you of your 'every car up in Pike will be mangled and the joyriders will be after us all' stance not so long ago? If yourself and gael want to have a slagging match either do it through PM or else use phones or something. I'm not going to lock this thread because it's been excellent so far but what I will do is...

Re: Re: Re: mmmm

Need I remind you of your 'every car up in Pike will be mangled and the joyriders will be after us all' stance not so long ago? If yourself and gael want to have a slagging match either do it through PM or else use phones or something. I'm not going to lock this thread because it's been excellent so far but what I will do is... [/B]
    Never resorted to that level of sensationalism - have you started work as a Sun journalist or something? Sad matter of fact in relation to that, is that the area around Pike has this reputation - it's not like anyone is making it up. Look at the dented fences where the joyriders crash, ergo, physical evidence. There has been an improvement since they blocked up that entrance to Southhill, but we still had people interfering with cars according to the gardai at our first game. Just because you haven't seen it with your own eyes doesn't mean there isn't a problem.

All that said I think that the move to Pike has been good for us overall. Despite my previous reservations, I think that we are much better off there than we were in Jackman. Security-wise, there are so few cars coming to the matches all of them can fit inside. So the problem isn't really affecting us. Even the worries of walking up there are non-existant, and hopefully they will stay that way.
    "Anyone who's Soapy should be flushed and anyone who's a Deserter should be shot."

WE can tear lumps out of each other on Thursday evening instead
    Joking or not Deise, this is the kind of thing that we don't want to see happen on Thursday night at the meeting. I have to agree with SLK about what he said about this thread, lets not go off on a tangent and forget about the issue at hand. Also thanks for proving my point that I made earlier in this thread in that we need order at the meeting, so again I'm suggesting that SLK should chair the meeting. What do you say SLK, do you think you could handle that.

I think the clubhouse is the most suitable place for the meeting, its much more preferable than to standing around in the car park and should be held after the match, it allows us more time to talk than holding the meeting at half time would.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Yea definitely the clubhouse. If we move again we will only lose more people.

Lads I'll definately make the match but the meeting is looking dodgy for me. I might be able to stick around for a few minutes afterwards just to help get it set up but I won't be able to stay for it. I really, really hope it goes ahead though even without my esteemed presence!

I think John Devane would be a good chair then, again he's well known and liked by internet-heads and non-net people alike and he'd be well able for it so if he's agreeable I'd let it up to him.

SLK you say the nicest things. Hope you can make the meeting on the night...We need you there with ideas.

No Probs on chairing the meeting. I will attempt to keep Desise and Gael apart . Is this a meeting about a meeting or do we have an agenda that we want to discuss. We would also need someone to take some notes..minutes etc so as we know what jobs people have been given to do. How do we tell everyone about it so we can get as big a crowd as possible ?

I've spoken to Damien about it and he said he'll try and get as many in as possible to it. From a selfish point of view I think a meeting about a meeting would be great because I could make the next one! However I think it's important that we do get things established on Thursday even if it's just a list of people who agree to pay the as yet undecided membership fee. Also Deise has contacted his new friends, the 'journalists' in the Limerick Post and they've agreed to publish the time and date which may attract a few more.

My views on the meeting.

It must be structured. No tangents or anybody using it to have a go at the committee etc.

My own view is that this should really be a meeting about a meeting i.e. a meeting to discuss how we can launch a supprters club. Som eissues need to be addressed before a launch throughout the city can be done. such as 1.talk to the committee about what they are willing to offer e.g. discounts on entrance, discount on merchandise etc (this is not a veto by the club), 2. agree fee fro membership (and what membership entails) 3. how to engage local media in a launch campaign (this Thursday should not be the launch - we need officers elected and a press release and photo opportunities to get maximum coverage)

We need to be very clear on what the outcome of this meeting should be:
    1. A launch date
    2. Agreement (as far as possible) on the directionof the club (i.e. indepedent or official)
    3. A list of tasks to be undertaken before the launch date - and agreement on who will do them e.g. determine the fee. An interim committee may need to be elected to take care of this

I am wary of a wide notice going out about this meeting. There is a huge potential trap where the attendees are too weighted towards the committe or too weighted towards old fossils who have an other agenda. Given the experience of the last supporters club - the Limerick City SC in the mid-1980s - I am very wary of this meeting now.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

LFC in Exile:

You make a very good point. We have to get a balance in regards attendance. Too few and we become a clique - too many and we may end up with the problems that you point out.

Fingers crossed out that all will go well.

Question

God bless ye lads, but even from a distance it is obvious there are people with agendas here forget the Committe and concentrate on supporting the team and having a bit of crack at tyhe games. It's has been tried before and has always ended in tears and acrimony. LFC supporters clubs have been used by people in the past to get on to the committee of LFC and then join in with the gang IE Micky WEbb Doc Crowe and last and certainly least NH.

The best thing you can do is support each other as fans and get behind the team and make any effort you can to get another person or 2 across the turnstile.

A good sing song and a laugh will do 10 times more for the team than any potentially divisive meeting. Encourage the palyer to stick around.

You all are grat supporters and there is tremendous credit due to you but stick with it and do what you do best and keep the flag flying.

Limerick soccer needs another ''committee'' like a hole in the head.
    You're ruining a grand game

I think the meeting should focus on how to establish a supporters club. We need to see who is in interested and able to get involved to help get things running. Apart from deciding should we be official or independent, we have to identify what positions we should have in the SC, the definition and function of those roles, elections and a charter to abide by. We need to address what our aims shall be short and long term. We should keep the committee informed of our actions and see what help/offers they can give us. I agree that it is important how we launch this, it is important to get media coverage from all local papers and radio stations. I also think on a national level it would be possible to get coverage, I know people who know people in the national media and if we were to blitz local/national media about our launch date we could attract people from all over Ireland who might be interested in supporting us. Also good coverage like this might show serious intent to the likes of the FAI and our own committee and be seen as a positive step for the club. While I have my own thoughts and opinions on the SC, I know that so do others. Its important that we get everyone involved and contributing towards the SC and also to establish a temporary committee who can act efficently and quickly in establishing the SC.
    Limerick 37, its so shiny and new we dare not take the cover off.

Originally posted by Nempton
    While I have my own thoughts and opinions on the SC, I know that so do others. Its important that we get everyone involved and contributing towards the SC and also to establish a temporary committee who can act efficently and quickly in establishing the SC.
    Nempton: I agree that despite the problems outlined by LFC in Exile we must have as many opinions as possible. Otherwise we are just "another committee" as Sodacake FC says. The most important thing about this is to avoid the situation where we have a clique. Everyone's opinion (however ridiculous they may seem) has to listened to and addressed.

If you want to show people how serious you are you have to put up more than a good ''shout'' about how you would run things if you could. You have got to deliver something real.
    A meeting at the George hotel about 10 years ago was very well attended by Limerick FC supporters and the resulting collection was in 4 figures. People were there to help and did so in the best way which was to put their money where their mouth was and stick they're hands in they're own pockets

Maybe the best way to get media and club attention is to hand over a cheque to the club to sponsor a match or something.
    If you go to media before you have anything concrete achieved all that will happen is the knockers will be out and saying here we go again new faces same old lines,

Sodacake: As someone who probably hasn't been at a game this year you mightn't know that we have had absolutely no publicity at all by the club itself - no posters - no flyers - NO PROGRAM.

I hope to God that the SC doesn't descend into what it did in the past but something has to be done to raise our profile. If a SC is willing to help out the club and do this - why not?

Forget about past supporters clubs, they're no point in being inhibited by mistakes that others have made before us. All we can do is try and learn from any mistakes that they might have made. Sodacake's suggestion that an SC will prove a waste of time may turn out to be correct but if we don't try we'll never know will we?

I think you are missing the point. LOI soccer in Limerick is a minority sport after Rigny GAA and Junior soccer. The media are not interested in providing free publicity for minority sports. Build up support and create the atmosphere then people will come through word of mouth and invitation not some poster or flyer, get real. Build from the bottom not from any where else will the club support grow.
    Media might not be the tame animal you expect and publicity might bring out elements that a flrdgling committee of supporters could not handle.
    The same response from me is put yourselves on the map in terms of being a supporters club before you invite the media.

Invite a friend or two or even get your Dad/Grandad to come for a game.

Is there some one looking for a job as a information officer or PRO

As for not being at a game this year, typical response of the suffering martyr complex are you sure you want more people in the ground or might that dilute the purity of real hardcore blues like yourself.

Originally posted by SodacakeFC
    I think you are missing the point. LOI soccer in Limerick is a minority sport after Rigny GAA and Junior soccer. The media are not interested in providing free publicity for minority sports. Build up support and create the atmosphere then people will come through word of mouth and invitation not some poster or flyer, get real. Build from the bottom not from any where else will the club support grow.
    I think you're missing the point actually. We want to use a supporters club to work together to attract new fans. Like last year when we collected money for some big flags. Or when we bought trophies for Player of the Year. We want to organise and if you're detecting a harsh tone from anybody here it's because it sometimes sounds like you're taking the old school attitude of 'Sure we can't do anything anyway' I don't think that's what you mean either but it comes across that way sometimes. It's easy to forget that we should all be on the one side here!

Invite a friend or two or even get your Dad/Grandad to come for a game.
    Been there and done that. My dad, my brother, my sister, a couple of friends. Most of them come back when they can, my brother has even headed to some away games.

Is there some one looking for a job as a information officer or PRO
    The club will have to appoint a media officer under the terms of the UEFA licensing agreement. As for the SC, hopefully that's one of the things that will be decided in my absence tomorrow night. If we organise we can work at increasing the numbers of supporters we get.

As for not being at a game this year, typical response of the suffering martyr complex are you sure you want more people in the ground or might that dilute the purity of real hardcore blues like yourself.
    While I agree that it was a rather crass, condescending comment for anyone to make, you've gotten very defensive about it. Nobody expects you to attend games if you're in Manchester. Likewise your allusion to a 'suffering martyr complex' as you so succinctly put it is rather unfounded. I hate seeing the pathetic crowds we're getting. The fact it that most of the sports fans in Limerick are glory-chasers and that's why Rugby is such a success now. If Limerick FC organise on and off the field they can regain the stature they could boast of 20 years ago. It'll take effort from as many people as possible though and that is the only reason there's a real push being made right now. If you have a contribution to make it would be appreciated. If you can only tell us how pointless the whole thing is then why bother?

The very fact you're on this board even while based abroad would sugest to me that you're a big fan. Let's try and improve our lot then? Let's try and get all the fans singing off the one hymn sheet and work together to turn Limerick senior soccer around!
    Last edited by sadloserkid; 28/05/2003 at 1:07 PM.

Foot.ie!

Fair play did not wish to come across totally negative but I probably did. Maybe you fellas will make the break through and break the mould, I do hope so. Just maybe pointing out some failures of the past.
    Nothing ventured nothing gained is an old but true saying. I will await to hear what happens and where to sign up for the Manchester branch.
    It is a bit loud here at the moment a few eyeties over for a match in the local park.