I will say it again !we have won the league
We have won the league!!!!!![]()
I will say it again !we have won the league
And Just in case you didnt hear me!! We have won the league!!
Time to go out lads...............image attached below
Last edited by luka; 10/11/2007 at 8:42 PM.
Congrats lads, all in all ye deserved it, and there's a very small part of me is happy that ye did it in the faces of the money clubs (cough Athlone cough Harps). See ye in the 2009 season![]()
Is there going to be a home coming at the club tonight!!
Fair play Rams, always loved the club. Got to a good few homes this season, but no where near enough. Love it.
Premier league club. Fair play.
Enjoy the party.
The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.
Club House lads.............
Congratulations. Fair play.
Cant wait for the derbies.
[/B][I]P.Esc.
Enjoy lads
Champions
Last edited by atfconline; 10/11/2007 at 10:35 PM.
Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887
What a night. We were brutal first half, pure nerves. They must have flooded the pitch earlier in the day, none of our lads could stay on their feet. Athlone hit the bar early on and then Bilko slipped as guts back-headed and god only knows how it went over on the bounce.
I'd say Hendo was spittin fire at half time and it did the trick. We were our normal selves after and took the game by the scruff of the neck. The goal was messy but who cares, we had total control by that stage. Always felt we would keep the lead.
I'll never forget the scenes at the final whistle. The place went mental, on the pitch, grown men cryin, and a nice big shiny trophy to go behind the bar in St. Colmans (if it doesnt get lost or ruined on the long journey down!).
The players did a great job tonight, Athlone is never an easy place to win. But for me tonight was about 3 things:
1. Hendo - a pure legend and surely one of the best managers in the country.
2 The crowd - there must of been at least 1500 of us, the noice never stopped and the bongo lads were great
3. The unsung heroes - all the people who have given their heart and soul to keep the club goin, not just now but through the hard times too.
When the dust settles and the drink runs out, lets remeber that we've all got a big job to do, supporting this club and making noise like we did tonight in places like Bohs, Pats, Derry, Drogheda and of course Turners Cross. Tonight was just the beginning...
Players lose you games, not tactics. There's so much crap talked about tactics by people who barely know how to win at dominoes. Brian Clough
Delighted for alan and looking forward to seeing him back at the cross sooner rather than later - in whatever capacity![]()
Your Chairperson,
Gavin
Membership Advisory Board
"Ex Bardus , Vicis"
Saw Ramblers losing to Limerick at the Cross in the first game of the season and hard to believe ye went on to win the league!
Unbelievable to win the Monaghan and Athlone games under fierce pressure.
Congrats!!!
I'm what? I'm ants at a picnic?
thanks for all the comments lads and congratulations to all involved in the club ye deserved it..and thanks 2 athlone for last week!
Mar 19 Cobh Ramblers3-2 Limerick
July 23 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
Sept 23 Limerick 0-2 Ramblers
June 28 Ramblers 2-1 Limerick
Aug 18 Limerick 0-1 Ramblers
Oct 21 Ramblers 1-0 Limerick
Well done lads, although it hurts me so.
Really, really gonna miss our trips to Cobh and the Commodore next season.
Trips to Longford just dont excite me.
Enjoy yourselves with the " big boys", over a season you deserve it.