Thread: Season Digest

Season Digest

Well lads another year another big bucket of nothing, and to top it all off Cobh go and win the bloody league and show us what can happen with the right management. Seriously this has been one of the worst years, actually probably the worst year, I've experienced as a Limerick fan. I don't know why, given that we've had worse on the park, and I do appreciate the efforts of a lot of people involved in both the club and the supporters club, but this season has felt like one long nothing. Depressing to say the least

Random thought just occured, given that Limerick failed to excite the imagination this year, and given that my general interest in football has been reduced to reading about it's former glories maybe I've just gone off the modern game!

A terrible saturday night just got a whole lot worse
    Last edited by jebus; 10/11/2007 at 9:10 PM.

A month before the season started ye didnt have a team, do you not think they did well???? give them a chance......

Quote Originally Posted by bigguy View Post
    A month before the season started ye didnt have a team, do you not think they did well???? give them a chance......
    Sometimes I wonder why people bother going onto forums when they don't actually read what's in front of them. Notice that I commented that I realise we've had worse on-pitch results? No?

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Sometimes I wonder why people bother going onto forums when they don't actually read what's in front of them. Notice that I commented that I realise we've had worse on-pitch results? No?
    im still lost, you got to work with what you have.......

Getting back on topic, and away from the clown who doesn't know what is a 'jackeen' actually is:

The season was a major disappointment in some ways, and not so in others. There now is a platform there that hasn't been there before and there is potential there for it to be developed into something great. Fair play to all involved. But a word of caution. I just hope that from next season onwards, we do exactly waht it says on the tin, as it were, no false promises about development, no lies, and no blatant disregard for fans a la the infamous quiz night.

The major disappointments for me came in the appointment of McGee as manager. I can see why the appointment was made, but surely now, the realisation will have dawned upon people that he is indeed a self-serving neanderthal. He had a pretty big budget, and a squad that should have at least been involved in the play offs. No excuses. His team selections were straight from the Basil Fawlty school of management at times and in my opinion the club won't progress under his guidance.

Big plus was the 21's. Billy Barrett deserves huge credit for this. Well done Billy.

Next season I would like to see:

A manager that the players and fans respect, and who isn't a clown.

Some honest feedback form the club as to how Jackman developments, finances, and other issues central to the clubs progress are going.

A huge effort by the new manager to keep Kevin Waters and get Pauil Finucane motivated again.

Not too much to ask, is it??

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    Next season I would like to see:
    A manager that the players and fans respect, and who isn't a clown.
    Agreed.

The chimps got to go

Some honest feedback form the club as to how Jackman developments, finances, and other issues central to the clubs progress are going.
    Agreed

A huge effort by the new manager to keep Kevin Waters and get Pauil Finucane motivated again.
    Not going to happen

Not too much to ask, is it??
    Probably

521 Posts
    You realise, lads, that responding to GavinZac's troll puts ye in the same "stupid" category as him, right?

Posts deleted. Grow up ffs, or I'll have to restrict ye all to the Junior League forum.

I reckon the major mistake this year was appointing Ski.A little research in Galway would have told the powers that be that he was unsuitable despite ,his experience as a player.I was told by Galway people that he had no track record of success in Salthill and that he was erratic and illogical and that would be seen with his selections.This was the case.But and this is a big but someone locally told him and it must have been quite vehemently that the returned prodigal sons would guarantee success.I dont believe he would have knowledge of these guys himself.Whoever advised him on this got it completely wrong as has been borne out by the results since they came back.The advisors should stand up and be counted.

Next time a selection of a manager is to be made a proper HR procedure should be gone through and previous employment or local experience should be used as references.

Overall finishing 4th is more than what was expected but more could have and should have been achieved.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    I reckon the major mistake this year was appointing Ski.A little research in Galway would have told the powers that be that he was unsuitable despite ,his experience as a player.I was told by Galway people that he had no track record of success in Salthill and that he was erratic and illogical and that would be seen with his selections.This was the case.But and this is a big but someone locally told him and it must have been quite vehemently that the returned prodigal sons would guarantee success.I dont believe he would have knowledge of these guys himself.Whoever advised him on this got it completely wrong as has been borne out by the results since they came back.The advisors should stand up and be counted.

Next time a selection of a manager is to be made a proper HR procedure should be gone through and previous employment or local experience should be used as references.

Overall finishing 4th is more than what was expected but more could have and should have been achieved.
    are you away with the fairies or what there was only a few weeks to get a manager let alone a team and you want the ins and outs of everything gone into i agree that mcgee was not great last year but its easy to be looking back and from what i hear the only people makeing decisions about players to sign in the transfers windows were the manager and assistant manager. and ffs your acting as if the club had months to prepare for the season so give credit where its due they went with a selection and salthill were very unhappy that he left and even trethened legal action i know this cause i know the person who was asked to act

Quote Originally Posted by greenandwhite View Post
    they went with a selection and salthill were very unhappy that he left and even trethened legal action i know this cause i know the person who was asked to act
    Funniest post I've ever read on Foot after nearly 5 years. Classic.

are you away with the fairies or what there was only a few weeks to get a manager let alone a team and you want the ins and outs of everything gone into i agree that mcgee was not great last year but its easy to be looking back and from what i hear the only people makeing decisions about players to sign in the transfers windows were the manager and assistant manager. and ffs your acting as if the club had months to prepare for the season so give credit where its due they went with a selection and salthill were very unhappy that he left and even trethened legal action i know this cause i know the person who was asked to act
    OK I take it back it was a great choice.

I thought just last week you came onto this site and said that Limerick37 were a disgrace to Limerick soccer and we are joke because we lost to Kilkenny etc..... and now your backing the manager and saying how great he has been . Anyways from what i heard Ski is happy in Limerick but I honestly cant see him here next season. But is there anyone better out there that would be interested? I dont think so..
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    Anyways from what i heard Ski is happy in Limerick .
    Why wouldn't he be??

He didn't earn half as much in the circus

but I honestly cant see him here next season
    Of course he'll be here because instead of sacking the monkey when he got the biggest fine in Irish football history we appealed it and won

But is there anyone better out there that would be interested?
    Me
    You
    Annie Fitz

The list goes on FFS.........................................

I suppose ya. I think the club were stuck for time to have a manager in place at the start of the season. They seen that Ski was available, had some experience and I think they were narrowed minded when they saw that he had played for Ireland. That does not make you a good manager, even at this level. Stanton was capped over 100 times for Ireland (enough said)
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

I thought just last week you came onto this site and said that Limerick37 were a disgrace to Limerick soccer and we are joke because we lost to Kilkenny etc..... and now your backing the manager and saying how great he has been . Anyways from what i heard Ski is happy in Limerick but I honestly cant see him here next season. But is there anyone better out there that would be interested? I dont think so..

I never posted that limerick were a disgrase on this site

They seen that Ski was available, had some experience
    I don't think either of these are true if I'm to be a bit picky. I could be waaaaaay off the mark but I think his management CV was limited to a couple of undistinguished spells at Galway United before his success at U-21 level with Salthill Devon who I thought he came directly to us from?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I don't think either of these are true if I'm to be a bit picky. I could be waaaaaay off the mark but I think his management CV was limited to a couple of undistinguished spells at Galway United before his success at U-21 level with Salthill Devon who I thought he came directly to us from?
    I know a few players involved in that Salthill Devon U21 side and they told me that Ski only trained that team on a few occasions, They were acually very ****ed off with the fact that Ski was making out to people that he was highly involved.

He's a Bluffer and thats the bottom line.

No argument from me there.

Superbly Put

1,025 Posts
    loving it..........we talk about "ski" mcgee...........the ad at the bottom is for skiing tours.