Thread: Galway United - unprofessional or just immature?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    What I mean there is that the kids should be looked after as they are going to be the lifeblood of the club in the future so its good to give them a good day out including kicking ball with the subs. I can see how a UCD wouldn't understand this given their support base/profile.
    Your subs if you want. Mascots should stay away from the opposition team; just common sense. I don't want a big fluffy lion interfering with me when I'm working, even if it keeps the kids happy.

I misunderstood your meaning of mascot. I thought you meant the kids rather than Terry the Tiger. My apologies.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

UCD bring absoloutely nothing to the league whatsoever.

The song "Sh!te team no fans" springs to mind.

What a pity Waterford didn't win last night......no way would UCD beat Harps or Dundalk.
    They'd have definitely been relegated and one step closer to where they belong-the Leinster Senior League or "A" Championship.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tir Oilean View Post
    I misunderstood your meaning of mascot. I thought you meant the kids rather than Terry the Tiger. My apologies.
    Suddenly your posts make a bit more sense!

Glad to see it's made your season finishing ahead of us. Not really the biggest of ambitions, but whatever makes you happy!
    Our ambitions our on a much higher scale than that of UCD's.
    Mid table obscurity will be another good season for minnows like yereselves......our aim is to challenge the Top 4.

Finishing ahead of ye is only sweet because of your resentment to us.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Our ambitions our on a much higher scale than that of UCD's.
    Mid table obscurity will be another good season for minnows like yereselves......our aim is to challenge the Top 4.
    One of our club's aims is to win the league within 5 years. Top 4 was our aim this year (second last paragraph).

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    One of our club's aims is to win the league within 5 years.
    could ye aim for not embarressing the league with ye're attendances first, thanks?

Top 4 was our aim this year (second last paragraph).
    What a crock of... does he realise that in footballing terms this year, you were the second worst team?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Well i could go on but I will not , wellllllllllllllllll just a little bit then
    Stu calling Terry the Tiger a Lion please will yer get your glasses sorted or what !!!!

But before I for forget I must say I was stunned by the crossbar challenge by the girls as four of the team hit the bar . Girls I tip my hat to you .......

37 Posts
    Also never seen a team have to have the ball wrestled from them every time they concede a free even with half an hour to go in a meaningless game.
    Meaningless? Had results elsewhere gone differently last Friday, UCD could've been second from bottom with a play-off to look forward to. Fortunately, results went your way (and Longford were deducted 6 points).
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

3,491 Posts
    Meaningless for you, obviously.

37 Posts
    Meaningless for you, obviously.
    At last! We are on the same wavelength.

Galway United v UCD was a meaningless game for me.

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post

All said and done it was worth 7,500 Euro to the club !!!!!

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post

Of course.

So why bother timewasting from half time and having to have the ball wrestled off you for frees?

75 Posts
    we owed it to the other clubs involved at the bottom and our supporters all 2,288 of them to beat you at all costs and i can tell you 100% were delighted to finish above ye and the only pity was waterford didnt win.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

GUFC were extremely professional on Friday night. What did you expect, that
    we would role over and die just to do you "goys" a favour ?
    Last edited by Patrick Dunne; 11/11/2007 at 12:40 PM.

75 Posts
    pineapple you see we are really all "united" we just enjoy coming from different perspectives just takes a "professional wum" like yourself to let us all speak as one.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

37 Posts
    Of course.

So why bother timewasting from half time and having to have the ball wrestled off you for frees?
    I actually don't play for Galway United nor am I the manager.

I'm a supporter of the Club so I can't answer questions about tactics but I'll try anyway. The answer is so that Galway United could prevent the opponents from scoring more goals than Galway United. It's how games are won and lost.

We won. You lost.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    we owed it to the other clubs involved at the bottom and our supporters all 2,288 of them to beat you at all costs and i can tell you 100% were delighted to finish above ye and the only pity was waterford didnt win.
    Wrong gufct. There were 2 UCD fans there; 2286 were supporting United

Seeing as youz came up because of your supposed superior professionalism and no other reason, I must say I was very surprised at the antics of the club last night. Granted, you seem to have learned from previous errors and worked out how an officials list works, but then came -

> Your club mascot joining in our half time warm up. WTF was that about?! Granted, it's not as important as the pre-match warm up, but general cop on tells you that club mascots should be nowhere near either of the teams at half time. (Should add that it's a sign of the lax attitude which has dogged our team the past seven weeks that our players didn't tell him where to go)
    > The PA calling out the Rovers-Waterford half time wrong. An honest mistake possibly (although there was never a hint of a goal in that first half, so I don't know where it came from; the cynic in me notes that it may be more than just pure coincidence that the only half time I've heard called out wrong all season is one which would have put us into the play-offs - a bit of psychological warfare perhaps?), but given its relevance to our season, a hugely unprofessional one and one which could well have affected our outlook on the second half.
    > The Galway players holding onto the ball when we won free kicks and throws throughout the second half. Never have I seen a team time wasting while winning a (for them) dead game.

I'm sure this post will be met with blind loyalty for the infallibility of one's own team, but if Galway are the model of how a professional club should work, it doesn't say much for the rest of the league...
    My lord what a whine of a post, you had a whole day to think about negative things to post here about Gufc and this is the best you can come up with. The half-time warm up is a kick about. If your players wanted they could have told the mascot to go it would have been no problem. It seems you were the only one that saw a problem though.

The score was read out wrong at half time by accident. It was regretable but i would be fairly sure that ye knew it was wrong anyways and so did your team with mobile phones and whatever. What advantage it would have to Gufc anyways that waterford were winning i dont know seen as it would motivate your team. And it wasnt done as a practical joke on your fans because there were very few of you there.

Point 3 you are clearly contradicting yourself. The aim of the post is to question gufc's professionalism but then you start giving out that galway united were professional on the pitch in trying to win what could be called a meaningless game. Thats the height of professionalism.

Heres an idea, if you dont like gufc dont post on our board.

Does this seem professional?