Thread: Finger pointing thread.

47 Posts
    Really? I always assumed the money came from the magic fairy down the back of section z
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

i cant believe its been eight seasons.
    well done to alan and the lads for an amazing fightback.
    boooooooooooo to the shower of clowns who relegated us.(the feckin committee)

112 Posts
    8 seasons in the Premier is an astonishing achievement for a club our size. Thanks to all the managers from Kenny to Mathews. Its been fun. Hope our exile from the Premier isnt too long.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Respect for Matthews

Quote Originally Posted by Nipper View Post
    Sour ****ing loser. Saying one thing till it was certain we were down, then changing his tune..."we're all right jack, the players are sorted for clubs...I'm not a first division manager...good luck in the first division, *******s" was the jist of his bull****. Went down in a lot of peoples estimation tonight.

Fair play for what he did on the pitch but he shat on a lot of people that give their lives to the club tonight.
    Totally disagree with Nipper's view of Matthews.
    I was @ the end of season presentations and heard what Matthews had to say.Look,Matthews is a realist and speaks from the heart and although his sentiments might hurt,it is the truth.

The man could easily have left but he showed loyalty and managerial skill in compiling a team with limited resources to compete with heart and passion.His belief,planning and professionalism was not matched off the field and Matthews was fully right to let his opinions be known and i agree with him fully.

His achievements go beyond anything any town fan contemplated when he began and the least he deserves is the respect to voice his opinion.

If what Matthews said in the club house was what he said on Newstalk, then what exactly did he say wrong? The team would've been comfortably up without 6 points gone, showing that it is of premier standard. His contract is up (and the outraged folk are not doubt largely made up of those that have been after his head for years anyway) and we won't keep premier standard players in the first - not that we could afford it anyway.

2 points for each offence wasn't it? We'd be in a playoff if even one of those had been avoided.

Didn't hear what he said on newstalk macy but i'd say he said something similar.
    He didn't actually say anything wrong so i'm not sure what all the fuss is about.

It's only natural for a team that is relegated to lose most of its players.The town have profited from the downfalls of clubs in the past. ie Dave freeman (Dublin city) Dave Mooney (Shamrock Rovers)Happens is every league in the world.The fans in the clubhouse hardly expected the likes of Mooney,Suli,Brennan,Prunty and Deego to ply their trade in the first division?

In relation to mooney's speech mentioned earlier on in the thread.Give the lad a break.He just after coming off the field after a HATRICK and 19 goals this season!!!He doesn't have the luxury of an on hand PR consultant to co-ordinate and instruct him what to say before every public speech.Like every good young player Mooney is ambitious and the comment was just a slip of the tongue.

Points deduction did kill us in the end.Why was there not more made about retrieving @ least some of them back?2 was all we needed in the end.They appealed the 9 point avery john registration deduction back in 2002 and won.Why the lack of fight this time round??The club just seemed to take it on the chin.
    Last edited by Mullogher; 12/11/2007 at 11:05 AM.

Ok, I'll admit I went slightly overboard on the Matthews issue. Was writing after about 10pints on one of the worst nights, if not the worst in our history. The thread title was enough to set me off.

Quote Originally Posted by Mullogher View Post
    Why was there not more made about retrieving @ least some of them back?2 was all we needed in the end.They appealed the 9 point avery john registration deduction back in 2002 and won.Why the lack of fight this time round??The club just seemed to take it on the chin.
    Because we were bang to rights. Only so many times they were going to buy "dog ate my copy" type excuses.

says in todays sun that the club are now going to try and get some of the points back. For gods sake why not look for them back before this. Heck give us one point back its all we need!

Quote Originally Posted by Nipper View Post
    Ok, I'll admit I went slightly overboard on the Matthews issue. Was writing after about 10pints on one of the worst nights, if not the worst in our history. The thread title was enough to set me off.
    No worries nipper.We were all ****ed off on friday and after 10 pints i'm likely to go over the top too!!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    says in todays sun that the club are now going to try and get some of the points back. For gods sake why not look for them back before this. Heck give us one point back its all we need!
    If that's true they should be told to **** off. If there was any grounds for an appeal in the first place there would have been one.

Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    says in todays sun that the club are now going to try and get some of the points back.
    YAY

I love the Eircom League

Welcome btw lads, you'll know you've hit the First Division when you arrive in Jackman Park

i know your keeper so i'll give him abuse......
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Was in Flancare for the last match and enjoyed it except for the conquences
    great grub in the bar after SDo full opf Chickenetc.could not wait for the speechifying
    Where can i get a good map of Ireland for next season??

How many of those there friday will turn up next year i wonder. God knows that is the support that this club can potentially attract why not every week. We need to go for promotion next year I feel or we can forget about attracting anyone to flancare. The chant we all live in an empty flancare park will be all the more apt if we are struggling in division one. If they dont come out when we are struggling in the premier there wont be a cricket at games in the first. I think we should pull all the stops out to go for it. Its kind of the best year to go down with three going down next year anyway which we would probably be in so there is a window of opportunity there for us. If harps go up waterford will not very strong next year and Apart from maybe dundalk there is not a lot of quality there tbh. From the current team i can see reilly doyle james martin and dempsey definetly staying and hopefully deegan cause he is a young lad. We would in that scenario have a decent midfield to build a team around. Just a bit of optimism maybe amid the depression!!

Genuinely sorry to see Longford relegated & not just for the loss of an easier away trip either.

I spoke to a Blades supporter who went up for the friendly and thought ye played them off the park - friendly, I know, but an indication of what was possible in Flancare.

When you think that Bray survived in the top flight last season with, what was it, 18 points, it shows that for all the bitchin' and moanin' about it being a poor quality League this season ,it was fairly competitive and the points deduction screwed ye.

Good luck for the coming season - which definitely won't be easy.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

The more I think about it, everyone needs to share the blame. The people of County Longford for not going to games, the last game against Derry was the only game to pay for itself. Surely if there was money these bills would have been paid?
    We had opportunities through the season to stay up, I personally feel the last game against Waterford was a major let down, that should have been 3 points and there were other games there too for the taking
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?