from RTE.ie

Longford Town 3-1 Derry City

Friday, 9 November 2007 22:52
    Longford Town started their top-flight life with a one-nil victory against Derry City 8 seasons ago. How ironic, therefore, that an emphatic 3-1 triumph against the same opposition should end their time in the major league.
    For the home side there is the consolation of a cup final appearance against Cork City next month will ease the pain but, alas, the deduction of 6 league points for off field irregularities remains the main reason why Longford make the drop.
    Longford had a couple of early chances to settle their undoubted nerves. Dessie Baker and Dave Mooney should have done better with glorious opportunities inside the opening 6 minutes.

Derry weren't lying down either. Pat McCourt was inches away from opening the scoring for them in the 11th minute while a defensive mix up almost handed Killian Brennan a gift goal just 4 minutes later.
    Derry proceeded to dominate possession for long periods before half time. Kevin McHugh was a whisker away in the 31st minute while David McDaid was denied by a superb Shay Kelly save soon after.
    Derry hit the front in the 43rd minute. Pat McCourt was superb in the build up and his perfect cross left the simplest of tap-ins for David McDaid.
    However, this setback seemed to energise the home side. And they grabbed a superb equaliser in first half injury time. Gary Deegan Played Baker in behind the Candystripes defence and his cross was brilliantly despatched by Mooney.
    The midland outfit upped the tempo in the early stages of the second half. Mooney was booked for diving inside 5 minutes of the restart as Longford were relentless going forward.
    They should have hit the front soon after. However, Jamie Duffy's strike came back off the post before being eventually cleared by a relieved Derry defence.
    Longford were in front after 72 minutes. Baker was brought to ground inside the penalty area by Killian Brennan and Mooney, the league's top scorer, proceeded to smash home his 18th goal of the season from the spot.
    Killian Brennan was dismissed for the foul and this allowed Longford to totally dominate the remaining minutes.
    Mooney twice went close to grabbing his hat-trick before eventually crowning his night by completing a terrific hat-trick two minutes from time.
    However, despite having the league's top striker in their side, Longford will ply their trade in the first division next season.
    Longford Town: Kelly; Sullivan (Ryan 89), Brennan, Doherty, Prunty; Duffy, Deegan, Doyle (James 68), Martin; Mooney, Baker.

Derry City: Jennings; McCallion, Oman, Hutton, Hargan (Harkin 89); McDaid (Deery 75), Molloy, Martyn, Brennan; McHugh, McCourt.

Referee: M. Gough (Dublin).
    Reporter: "Gordan, can we have a quick word?"
    Strachan:"Velocity"

Matthews out!

I hope he gets the ****ing sack before the cup final. Disgrace in the bar tonight.

What happened?

Sour ****ing loser. Saying one thing till it was certain we were down, then changing his tune..."we're all right jack, the players are sorted for clubs...I'm not a first division manager...good luck in the first division, *******s" was the jist of his bull****. Went down in a lot of peoples estimation tonight.

Fair play for what he did on the pitch but he shat on a lot of people that give their lives to the club tonight.
    Last edited by Nipper; 10/11/2007 at 4:29 AM.

What is your comprehension of this season. I'm sorry I asked about the bar. I felt something may happen tonight. Obviously, tempers were high, and you can appreciate that surely?

It was pretty s1tty alright. Neither the time or the place for it. Saying these guys arent first divsion players and the best of luck to them at their new clubs!! You dont say that as for mooney saying good luck too I thought it summed up a wretched night to be honest.

im afraid ill have to totally disagree with you there nipper..i thought he spoke very well and it was very moving..how wud u feel if u and all your players had put in relentless amounts of work on the training ground all year and have all that shattered by a crowd of incompetent bas***ds in the admin side of the club...its them u should be having your rant at

Unlucky lads, I honestly thought ye'd survive.

Brennan was interviewed on RTE radio last night and it sounded like himself and most of the squad will be leaving.

Quote Originally Posted by RockofGibraltar View Post
    im afraid ill have to totally disagree with you there nipper..i thought he spoke very well and it was very moving..how wud u feel if u and all your players had put in relentless amounts of work on the training ground all year and have all that shattered by a crowd of incompetent bas***ds in the admin side of the club...its them u should be having your rant at
    Agree with you on this. Its all FAI this and FAI that.....too much messing around in the backrooms!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

47 Posts
    Yup the people who cost us the six points are the ones who I would be ****ed off at. Lots of cloak and daggers stuff from them.
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

I heard what matthews said too. he had a tone of resignation bout the whole thing plus as well he put in a putdown at the admin side of the club for putting us down in the first place. cant really blame matthews blame the adminsirators they have to be full time not part time.

137 Posts
    He was on NewsTalk there a little while ago. Didn't exactly sound like he was full of love for the club......"my contract with this club is up after the Cup match".....
    Celebrating 130 Years of Athlone Town Football Club - Pride of the Midlands Since 1887

If the crowd that turned up last night had been there throughout the season we would probably have stayed up.

Longford doesn't deserve a Premier Division club.

Surely the Board are to blame. They caused the problems that led to the ponts deduction and ultimately that is what cost yez. Matthews made this point last night on TV3. A terrible truth to face.

Commiserations again lads. It's unfair on the fans and the players.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

151 Posts
    Best team ever to be relegated. Tough luck lads, but go for it next year.
    Last edited by avvenalaf; 10/11/2007 at 4:24 PM. Reason: Typo

Quote Originally Posted by Nipper View Post
    If the crowd that turned up last night had been there throughout the season we would probably have stayed up.

Longford doesn't deserve a Premier Division club.
    you dont know much about football do you

The extra revenue would have made it easier for the admin people to do their jobs rather than racing around town trying to scrape together wages every week. Where do you think the money comes from? The crowds were disgustingly bad even when the comeback was in full flow.

You don't know much about running a club, do you?
    Last edited by Nipper; 11/11/2007 at 4:14 PM.

47 Posts
    Is that you Jim?
    Roddy Collins, the biggest <insert as appropiate> in Irish Football.

Ha no, but I do know the work (a very, very small amount of) people do so that there is a team fielded every week.