Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Cup final may not go ahead?!

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    And yera he only made a sly comment about "RRS". Thats a fact I suppose? We're only on here complaining because sure thats what Cork fans do, complain.

Do you not get that this affects yourselves next year as well as us? You might never win the cup but allowing the FAI to break their contract and give the clubs whatever deal they feel like giving at the last moment is not a precedent any eL fan should want set.
    And where did kdjac state anything contrary tpo that. he pointed out that one of your conspiracy theories was wrong. Nothing more. get a fecking grip lads...

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    And where did kdjac state anything contrary tpo that. he pointed out that one of your conspiracy theories was wrong.
    How, exactly? I've already stated why his nugget of information is irrelevant.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    And where did kdjac state anything contrary tpo that. he pointed out that one of your conspiracy theories was wrong. Nothing more. get a fecking grip lads...
    Dodge, come off the stage man ... conspiracy theory it is NOT.

You do realise the FAI, aside from this fiasco, the FAI will change the rule when the 2007 competition is over and in 2008 no club will get gate receipts and tv money. Do you not realise the impact of that?

Also, he tried to make light of the situation and i reacted to it.

Edit: Bare in mind the final is 22 days after the last league game. Gate receipts and tv money could pay players for this imposed delay.
    Last edited by A face; 11/11/2007 at 1:05 AM. Reason: typo

whinge bags

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    stop signing your posts. thats what your signature is for.
    Jesus, what a whinge.

Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    whinge bags
    At first (without realising all the facts) i has sympathy for cork. Then I saw this posted on he drogs forum by someone that was actually involved in our arrangements for that glorious day 2 years ago:

'Lads when we got to the Cup Final we, as a Club, worked with Cork City to ensure the best commercial deal for the two Clubs (by insisting on Lansdowne Rd). I cant and won't mention figures but trust me if the RDS holds 14,000; then after expneses I would doubt (even if it were full) there would be enough left to pay put €175k to the two Clubs.

The rules are or at least used to be that the clubs got 30% each of the gate in the final after the expenses.

Also, cup finals (up to our one whic had the largest domestic attendance in 15 years!) were not that lucrative for the competing Clubs - largely due to relatively poor attendances and very significant overheads in staging the matches.

trust me when i say, Longford if they lose and pick up €75k are still very very much ahead of the "take" they got for winning the Cup the last time around!
    '

Cork shooting themselves in the foot and being too greedy it would seem
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    Cork shooting themselves in the foot and being too greedy it would seem
    It Cork abiding by the rules and fighting everyone elses corner.

Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    It Cork abiding by the rules and fighting everyone elses corner.
    Cork are fighting there own corner dont be on any morale crusade on our behalf.

The FAI are a sick joke at this stage. Cork are 100% correct in what they're saying here. This is just the latest episode of a club having to fight the FAI in order to implement their own rules.

The league deserves better...
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    Cork are fighting there own corner dont be on any morale crusade on our behalf.
    Well we cant leave it to Waterford anyway, sure aren't ye in Delaney's pocket anyway

Yep, UCD v Bohs final.
    Town punished for both breaking the rules and insisting on sticking to them in the same season...

89 Posts
    Edit: Bare in mind the final is 22 days after the last league game. Gate receipts and tv money could pay players for this imposed delay.
    You have a full time squad.

The timing is irrelevant.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    The other side.

At a meeting in Portmarnock on Wednesday, October 10, between the FAI and representatives of the four semi-finalists – Bohemians, Cork City, Longford Town and UCD - the financial package for the finalists was outlined in detail and accepted by the clubs.
    Is this true?
    Last edited by Ceirtlis; 12/11/2007 at 12:18 PM.

Well we cant leave it to Waterford anyway, sure aren't ye in Delaney's pocket anyway
    Tough to think of a response to such an intelligently constructed and articulate argument

Anyone have the text of the original announcement by the FAI that the winners would get 100K?
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Yep, UCD v Bohs final. Wouldn't say no!
    Though I fear the viewing public would........!

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Is this true?
    It's irrelevant anyway, since it's not in the FAI's or those 4 clubs power to make such a change, as per FAI rules.

Just wondering - hasn't tv money always been included in the prize money amount, and if so, why are Cork saying that the FAI won't give them any TV royalties?
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    That's the sort of filth we're all going to have to deal with though, to think some people celebrated the FAI doing that last year is mind boggling. I remember a few people asking why the Limerick fans weren't having fund raisers and the like to help the club out, but it was never about money, or where Limerick played etc., it was always about getting rid of Danny, and since he wasn't selling, and the FAI weren't allowing him into their new shiny league we were completely screwed.
    Jebus - what wa sthe full story at least from Limerick'side) about the club losing their license in the close season.

It was ostensibly to do with Fr Hogan not wanting to sell/long lease Hogan Park to the club, wasn't it ?

Bottom Line, The FAI are shifting the Goalposts. Their Rules clearly state they cannot make a change while the competition is in motion.

Case Closed, yet another Own Goal by the FAIures

€250,000
    I can't believe the TV Rights for the FAI Cup Final are worth €250k !?! Particularly given this year's pairing isn't that mouth-watering.

That'd probably pan-out as about €1 for every viewer on average across the show - big money !

Quote Originally Posted by Pablo View Post
    Bottom Line, The FAI are shifting the Goalposts. Their Rules clearly state they cannot make a change while the competition is in motion.

Case Closed, yet another Own Goal by the FAIures
    Rule Number 1 of FAI Club - no-one talks about the Rule Book....
    Last edited by dahamsta; 12/11/2007 at 3:34 PM.

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast