Fair play to him !Originally posted by Colm
0-0 at half time.
James is at the game and according to him "we're doing ok", oh and we're playing in Navy (why? I don't know!)
Anyone else from Cork make it up?
Oh yeah, another nil all draw..![]()
0-0 at half time.
James is at the game and according to him "we're doing ok", oh and we're playing in Navy (why? I don't know!)
Champions!
Fair play to him !Originally posted by Colm
0-0 at half time.
Anyone else from Cork make it up?
1-0 Derry '89 minute! Beckett scored it.
aaahh feic
Oh no not them again
suppose its a point away from home
Apparantly the goal was a great strike, fcuk sake!
We're on a bit of a bad run so by the looks of it. Lost to Rovers, drew with Waterford and lost to Derry. We've now got to beat Shels next week, nothing else will do. I'd be hoping for a draw between Bohs and Shels tomorrow now.
C'mon City, we know we're good enough.
Champions!
It sounds as if Derry were poor but City were even more so.
James: "We played just like we did all last year away"
That doesn't sound too good, hopefully Dolan will sort it out and we'll against Shels we'll play like we did against UCD/Bohs/Longford.
Poor crowd tonight of only 1500.
Champions!
Oh Jebus.
I was p*ssed off with the nil all, but this is a disaster.
Yeah lads,
Youse had a navy rig on with Guinness as the sponsor except Flynny and George didn't have any sponsors on their shirts?
Teetotallers?
Full report to follow
Wouldnt be too worried. The Brandywell is a graveyard for us, we all know that. I mean, it really would have been asking too much for 3 wins from Belfield, Flansiro AND Brandywell.
Just peed off that the goal came so late.
And lets be fair, we are punching above our weight at the mo, so to speak, considering our midfield needs a major facelift.
Still though, we need 3 points aginst Shels, for good attendances if nothing else.
If at first you don't succeed, redefine success.
well it looks like the away form bogey has returned to haunt![]()
where were you in 1916?
PITY THE GOAL came so late in the game. it was only a matter of time before derrys poor results would continue unlucky for city that derry are starting to pick up.
Derry City claimed a well deserved three points against a poor Cork City side at the Brandywell this evening and so continue their climb up the table.
In truth the 1-0 scoreline was scarce justice for a City side who had dominated the second half but had to rely on a late, late Gary Beckett strike that was to prove the difference between the sides.
City were boosted before the game with the news that defensive duo McCrystal and McCallion had recovered from groin problems and returned to the starting eleven.
There was a gusting wind which made play difficult in the opening stages with visitors, have the advantage to theirs backs having the better of the game without really creating any clear cuts chances. Indeed George O’Callaghan spurned their only real opportunity when he shot well wide after a goal run. The physical build of the Cork side meant that they proved dangerous at set pieces but the Derry defence dealt admirably with any danger.
Indeed it was the latter stages of the first half before Derry seemed to get to grips with the conditions and create any moves of their own. Padraig Moran ran on to a Martyn pass and shot early past an advancing Devine, only to see the ball roll agonisingly wide. Moran also was involved in a tangle with the Cork stopper where he appeared to push the ball round Devine and seemed to be impeded as he tried to hurdle the keeper. Referee Kelly didn’t see it that way, a decision which caused a flood of protests from the home side.
As the first period drew to a close Derry came into the game and a series of corners created a number of chances. The pick of these was a worked corner which saw Sean Friars run onto the ball in the box and fire a shot which Devine did well to get a hand to, the ball spinning just past Eamonn Doherty’s outstretched leg.
The wind, which had been such and influence in the first half seemed to slacken during the break and the second half was a much better spectacle for those on the terrace.
Derry really took the game to their opponents with Ciaran Martyn and Eamonn Doherty winning the midfield duel with Doyle and O’Halloran. It was from this platform that Derry crafted the chances of the second period.
McGlynn and Fiars, Derry’s wingers were tormenting the Cork backline as they produced a collection of dangerous crosses. Ciaran Martyn headed across the goal and Eamonn Doherty just failed to connect. Doherty then saw a header of his own hit the base of the post and roll wide. Sean Friars was set up by Eddie McCallion and he dropped the shoulder and powered into the area, firing a low shot which hit the post and rebounded into the grateful hands of Devine. Murray was also forced to clear a ball of the line from a corner as Derry searched for the breakthrough.
O’Flynn and O’Callaghan, the hottest pairing in the league right now with 12 goals became increasingly frustrated with the trickle of balls that they were receiving. They began to drop deeper and deeper into their own half to pick up the ball, but there was to be no respite for the Leesiders.
Indeed their best chance almost came from a mistake by Forde in the City nets. He chose to pass a ball from a throw back to Paddy McLaughlin and was nearly caught out by O’Flynn. Indeed Cork seemed to be restricted to long punts up the field for their attackers to chase and it was from one of this that O’Callaghan found himself clear on the edge of the box. He sent his effort soaring over the bar, much to the chagrin of his partner who gesticulated his distaste that he had not chosen to square the ball to the unmarked number nine.
City used this as a wake up call and drove forward for the remaining moments of the game. However as the assistant produced his board to signal additional time City fans must have though this was the one that had “got away” and wishing that signature of Eddie Annand had been secured for this fixture. Cork players must have though they had escaped with a share of the spoils when only one minute of additional time was indicated.
However Gary Beckett was to provide his own perfect ending to the night in stoppage time. He got the ball 25 yards out and swivelled goal wards instantly. He cut infield and let fly a scorching effort which flew past Devine and into the top corner. This sent the home fans into delirium and the player’s celebrations matched the levels of joy on the terraces.
another nil-nil is kind of depressing though, we have ability up front in John and george but it hasn't taken teams long to figure if you can shut them down then we'll struggle for goals from elsewhere. i don't like the sound of the long ball creeping into our play. while it's not the end of the world, but one point in three games is not the form you want heading up to shels.
Last edited by tiktok; 15/05/2003 at 10:34 PM.
Bias I know lads but seriously youse were poor tonight
Punching above your weight is right, just like we are punching below ours
We have $hels at home and will probably be played off the park again if we don't improve. No one could have honestly thought we have been superb so far and it is impossible to carry players like billy and the ever useless O' Grady.
It's starting, it's starting...
Wanna buy a second-hand "Dolan Out" banner?![]()
Revenge for 2002
Thanks, I enjoyed that.Originally posted by oddboy
EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny
Were fine for banners at the moment thanks. Would'nt mind some baseball bats thought to break O' Gradys legs though. Tommy T, your kind specialise in this kind of area, any chance you could help us out?
New Book available in the club shop
"How to sh*t the bed away at Derry in the last minute every shagging time."
We are now officially a club in crisis.
Christ and I thought Bohs fans were over reacting... Mind you if we win tonight we're ahead of youOriginally posted by razor
We are now officially a club in crisis.![]()