84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Did he play for ATFC before?
    Don't think so. I think it was Sligo and Limerick

Quote Originally Posted by Paddyfield View Post
    Are ye holding on to Lavine?
    At the moment we don't even have a manager appointed for next season. Had a beer or two with Eric in the hotel he was staying Saturday night and he really likes it here and would stay if offered a contract. He was our Supporters Player of the Year by a mile.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

barry moran and alan murphy gone.

i just caught the last bit of it on the radio there,they are the only 2 names i heard but i assume theres more.
    those 2 were great the year we got to the playoff final,pity they have faded a bit since then.

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    any chance we can get andy myler whos been released by rovers?
    Dont think so. I saw an interview where he said that he wouldnt commit to full-time because he had a job as an accountant and he found it hard to even commit to part-time. He is a journeyman anyways even if he did play well towards the end of the season.

those 5 needed to go
    more water!

75 Posts
    one to all concerned on getting this sorted so Professionally and Quickly http://www.galwayunitedfc.ie/squad/suqad-update.html .
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

firstly let me say i am absolutely delighted DOB is back on board - i thought we might lose him.

i have to agree with most of those kept on and released except treacy, but i think it was a 2 year contract anyway. sad to see murph go but he did very little this season anyway and it is probably time, i really thought he could have excelled but if he didn't this year with full time set up he never will i suppose.

as a person who is not too slow to criticise TC i must admit he has got this about right this time!

75 Posts

Murph has been a great servant to Galway United but he has never regained the old spark since he came back from Derry and id say he wouldnt have gone full time this year as he has a very good job.

Thanks Alan and your always welcome back in Terryland Park whatever you chose to do from now on .

DOB I heard turned down a far better deal from Derry to stay in Galway.
    Fair play to him.
    Sorry to see Slab go, one of uniteds most talented players ever.
    It's only good to let someone like that go if you replace him with some one better. We shall wait & see.
    Don't think Wes will be much value to the squad, at best he is now fourth choice CB and most definitely is not a Lb and can't play anywhere else. Can't see any of our strikers getting 19 goals a season.
    We need, IMO at least, LB, attacking centre mid, right wing,& two strikers

In years to come, supporters will remember Slab as a United legend, possibly our best player of the 1997-2007 era. At the moment, his reputation is soiled because of the "two jobs" saga and his poor performances this season. TC made the right call - in full time football, you have to be clinical.

Slab is like De Valera, historians will rehabilitate him. I have no doubt some professor of history in NUIG will write a boring treatise (without pictures) on his life. He will be featured on Hidden History in 2057, a capitalist Che Guevara for our times.

He remains an iconic figure. Farewell, El Slab !

75 Posts
    I also forgot to say thanks and best wishes to the other 6 players who all have been with us for a long time Barry who also was a gifted goalscorer in his time and came back from 2 horrific Injuries,Philly,Cookie, Iarla,Liam and Shaun. Professional Football is a cruel game but all these lads gave it their best shot and hopefully they will bounce back.

They should all be able to do a job in the First Division, Moran, Cooke and Reilly have already performed well at that level.

McKenna looks decent enough to do a job for Athlone/Limerick. I never really rated Davoren, by all accounts a nce lad though, and his father bought a few Lotto tickets off me !

Its East Fife, or more likely, Buckie Thistle, for Fagan. Time to get a job in the real world I'm afraid. At least his on-line social networking skills have improved immensely.

Thanks Lads

Thanks Lads for your efforts for GUFC.

Alan & Barry contibuted hugely IMO over the years. The leg break was a cruel blow for Barry after he had struggled to break through to the first team in the first place a few seasons ago. Murph had loads of talent and showed it in Terryland on countless occasions. Hopefully those who saw enough of him over the years will remember the contributions he made in the pre Derry stage of his career.

Thanks to Philip, Cookie, Iarlaith, Liam and Shaun too.

Best of Luck to all in the future.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

No big surprises in those released apart from Murphy. Started off the season well but form seriously dipped after that. Murph probably had to commit to full-time to improve his game and once he wasn't willing to do that I guess the writing was on the wall. A pity he couldn't have given full-time a go for a year or two as he has real talent but it wasn't to be.

Best of luck to all those released.

Its Iarflaith.

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123