Page 10 of 56 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast

Thread: Eligibility proposal

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    I'm sure it is one of your favourites - now exposed as a comment by an ROI fan from Dublin who has a "split personality" on OWC - posting under two names.
    sure the whole site is probably lads "from dublin" trying to make NI fans look bad...
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    sure the whole site is probably lads "from dublin" trying to make NI fans look bad...
    RogerMilla,

I didn't say that.

I said that the comments quoted were made by an ROI fan using dual posting names on OWC - and the evidence is on OWC to prove it.

Busted.
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

RogerMilla,

I didn't say that.

I said that the comments quoted were made by an ROI fan using dual posting names on OWC - and the evidence is on OWC to prove it.

Busted.
    and surely it is drowned in the cacophony of bile coming from "real" posters there.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Absinthe View Post
    They already have this, and the age is set at 21.
    Only 21 if you want to change alliegence, if Chris Sutton for example hadn't played at any level for England he would have been eligible for Scotland after living there for 2 years were it nor for the agreement between the 'home' associations.

I'm sure it is one of your favourites - now exposed as a comment by an ROI fan from Dublin who has a "split personality" on OWC - posting under two names
    Is that true? Cos it smacks of another incident of swimming in egypt*

I'm not speaking too cryptic there I hope

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Is that true? Cos it smacks of another incident of swimming in egypt*

I'm not speaking too cryptic there I hope
    As someone who is so spelling and grammar focused, I'm sure you'll appreciate my pointing out that it should be "cryptically". You don't need to thank me.

nice try, the only thing missing above is a "," after the word cryptic The use of the preposition before the adjective doesn't mean you need to append "ally"

http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/cryptic

Anyhow back on topic NB where is the thing about yer man, if it is it just makes him look like a flute. he was obviously trying to poach what he deemed others beliefs out by throwing it in there.....egg on face!

131 Posts
    OWC is full of the most mindless, bigoted, insane drivel I've ever read. Compare their opinions on this matter to our more measured response at the end of the Darron Gibson thread when it appeared we (not them) were going to lose this case.

If a united Ireland team ever involves sitting next to a group of OWC posters at Lansdowne Road (if they ever decided to watch a match) then I'll pass thank you very much.

It's also nice the way they haven't let any guests view their site in a long time.

Somebody with a username and password for that site send it to FIFA with a link to ourweecountry.com and they can see in 30 seconds why nationalists don't want to play for Northern Ireland.

RogerMilla,

I didn't say that.

Busted.
    If thats true, and from OWC it looks like it is, then the guys a tw*t and you've done the right thing booting him off.

Care to explain the rest?

And regarding O'Connor going back to play for NI - I have said all along all I'm bothered about is that a player has a right to choose. If he has chosen NI, good luck to him and I hope has has a successful career with you. Same goes for any player from anywhere on the island who chooses to play for NI.
    Last edited by shaneker; 08/11/2007 at 10:12 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post

If a united Ireland team ever involves sitting next to a group of OWC posters at Lansdowne Road (if they ever decided to watch a match) then I'll pass thank you very much.
    Im surprised Neil didnt get onto this, he will be upset that I spotted it first. But sure you pass all the time, you admitted as much!

Case closed, if your Irish you can play for either team on the Island, heard Howard Wells on the news last night, Jesus he was nearly crying, Howard luck more like it. Common sense has won the day.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Im surprised Neil didnt get onto this, he will be upset that I spotted it first. But sure you pass all the time, you admitted as much!
    Not all the time but quite regularly under that muppet Staunton. It was like getting teeth pulled out watching Ireland under that fool.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by RogerMilla View Post
    Recently, a poster calling himself "Dazzler32" registered and started debating the eligibility issue, from an all-Ireland, FAI position. Note that his particular moniker was no bar to his registering. He had certain "troll-like" characteristics which caused him to be warned - in particular, he made one rather offensive implication which he refused to back up, despite being repeatedly challenged. Nonetheless, he was allowed to continue posting.

Yesterday, after the FIFA Letter, a 'new' poster registered, calling himself "Dan Clancy" and purporting to be an NI fan. He posted the infamous line:
    "At least if our team is comprised mainly of unionists we can go back to not hiding our Britishness by bringing union flags and bringing back the songs that represent us"
    Every single poster immediately afterwards who referred to this - "Exhausted", "Limavady GAWA", "Winnie", "Toddy", "Phil", "The Dowie", "The Hawk", "Brian" - poured scorn on this remark, until "Dan Clancy"'s true identity was revealed:

dazzler32
    danclancy

Mr Do*** Br***** 24 years old originally from Killarney

Posting from IP Location: Ireland Dublin Eircom Ltd
    86-42-152-205.b-ras1.bbh.dublin.eircom.net

Note that OWC desisted from publicly identifying this troll by name, though they might have done so with impunity (what with him coming from a foreign country and all that )

Now there have been a number of "inflamed" posters on OWC who in the light of this latest development, have gone further than I would advocate, for example. It is pretty obvious that at a time of controversy, the strongest reactions will come from the most, ahem, reactionary elements. However, as "Dan Clancy" demonstrated, the clear majority of OWC posters deplore such elements.

Finally, it may be news to posters on here, but over the years, OWC has had cause to ban at least as many "Loyalist" flamers as "Nationalist" ones. Indeed, afaik the Irish League section of the Board had to be restricted to Patrons Only precisely due to the activities of these "Uber-Prods", and the Board's owner has been abused by them (for being a "hand-wringing fenian lover" etc) at least as often as he has by the other side for being a "Loyalist bigot" etc

So there you have it. I personally would urge foot.ie posters to join and contribute - so long as they desist from Trolling and Flaming etc, and try to put their argument in a coherent way, they can be a welcome addition to the Board. There are, of course, a few foot.ie posters* who likely won't last very long; then again, I suspect they greatly embarrass the majority of other members of this forum with their witterings!

*- Speaking of which, does Dazzler32/Dan Clancy ring any bells with anyone on this forum? Anyone from down Killarney way?

Back to the subject, the case is now closed and FIFA have let common sense prevail. Thread over IMO.

2,796 Posts
    Isn't it only a preliminary opinion, rather than a final decision?

It's not in any way over, FIFA have sent this to the 2 association to see if they would both agree and the issue would go away. Seems a bit naive as the IFA were never going to agree. FIFA will therefore have to make an actual decision and I suspect now that will be NI players can play for the Republic.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by antrimgreen View Post
    Back to the subject, the case is now closed and FIFA have let common sense prevail. Thread over IMO.
    I suspect you'll find that this is anything but "Thread over", AG.

Earlier on this thread, I was accused by Lopez of "smugly" having "jumped the gun" in assuming the IFA had won its case with FIFA (a complete fabrication Lopez has characteristically failed to back up or retract, btw). How ironic that that this should have been on a thread entitled "Eligibility Finalised"!

I will remind everybody of the RTE Report which opened this particular thread (my emboldenment):

"FIFA propose solution to eligibility row
    Tuesday, 6 November 2007
    FIFA has sent a letter to the football associations of the Republic of Ireland and Northern Ireland suggesting that players from either side of the border should have free choice about who they play for.

The proposal was formulated by FIFA's legal committee in response to a long-running argument between the two FAI and IFA over the selection of international players.

Currently, players born in Northern Ireland are generally eligible to turn out for the Republic of Ireland providing they have not yet played a competitive match for Northern Ireland but the same does not apply in reverse.

Under the new suggestion put forward by world soccer's governing body, players born in the Republic of Ireland and holding Irish nationality could choose to play for Northern Ireland.

FIFA said on Tuesday it had sent the proposal to the two associations and asked for their feedback.

It added that any final decision on the matter would have to be approved by FIFA's executive committee.

A FIFA spokesman said that no deadline had yet been set for that decision
    "

Unless or until the IFA accepts this suggestion by FIFA, this issue is most definitely NOT closed. Moreover, the fact that no deadline has been set for any final decision, following a process which had laready dragged on for over a year, suggests to me that we could be mounting our final push for qualification for WC2010 and you searching for a new manager to succeed Stan Staunton's successor before this matter is finally resolved!

My understanding was that FIFA sent the FAI and IFA a letter explaining their intentions. Hopefully they see it threw and it is done and dusted. Your right though Stuggart it is probably not completely finalised.

P.S. Ealing i posted this before i read your post. D'oh. Cheers anyway for the in's and outs.
    Last edited by antrimgreen; 08/11/2007 at 10:46 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Recently, a poster calling himself "Dazzler32" registered and started debating the eligibility issue, from an all-Ireland, FAI position. Note that his particular moniker was no bar to his registering. He had certain "troll-like" characteristics which caused him to be warned - in particular, he made one rather offensive implication which he refused to back up, despite being repeatedly challenged. Nonetheless, he was allowed to continue posting.

Yesterday, after the FIFA Letter, a 'new' poster registered, calling himself "Dan Clancy" and purporting to be an NI fan. He posted the infamous line:
    "At least if our team is comprised mainly of unionists we can go back to not hiding our Britishness by bringing union flags and bringing back the songs that represent us"
    Every single poster immediately afterwards who referred to this - "Exhausted", "Limavady GAWA", "Winnie", "Toddy", "Phil", "The Dowie", "The Hawk", "Brian" - poured scorn on this remark, until "Dan Clancy"'s true identity was revealed:

dazzler32
    danclancy

Mr Do*** Br***** 24 years old originally from Killarney

Posting from IP Location: Ireland Dublin Eircom Ltd
    86-42-152-205.b-ras1.bbh.dublin.eircom.net

Note that OWC desisted from publicly identifying this troll by name, though they might have done so with impunity (what with him coming from a foreign country and all that )

Now there have been a number of "inflamed" posters on OWC who in the light of this latest development, have gone further than I would advocate, for example. It is pretty obvious that at a time of controversy, the strongest reactions will come from the most, ahem, reactionary elements. However, as "Dan Clancy" demonstrated, the clear majority of OWC posters deplore such elements.

Finally, it may be news to posters on here, but over the years, OWC has had cause to ban at least as many "Loyalist" flamers as "Nationalist" ones. Indeed, afaik the Irish League section of the Board had to be restricted to Patrons Only precisely due to the activities of these "Uber-Prods", and the Board's owner has been abused by them (for being a "hand-wringing fenian lover" etc) at least as often as he has by the other side for being a "Loyalist bigot" etc

So there you have it. I personally would urge foot.ie posters to join and contribute - so long as they desist from Trolling and Flaming etc, and try to put their argument in a coherent way, they can be a welcome addition to the Board. There are, of course, a few foot.ie posters* who likely won't last very long; then again, I suspect they greatly embarrass the majority of other members of this forum with their witterings!

*- Speaking of which, does Dazzler32/Dan Clancy ring any bells with anyone on this forum? Anyone from down Killarney way?
    First of all, fair play, since that dazzler/dan fella posted that 'Britishness' thing last night there have been more posts this morning telling him to get lost - although largely along the lines of 'busted', 'so long' etc than openly disagreeing with the statement he made.

Which is the point! The fact is that this forum hasn't even become a 'we're better than you' argument, its become a 'you're worse than us' situation! The fact is that some players and fans associate with our team more than yours, and if the NI supporters community is genuinely committed to ensuring all backgrounds are attracted to your team then comments like I posted above (I notice you and NB have only picked that one out of the selection I posted earlier; what about the rest? Nobody has been criticising them openly) then all posts like that have to be OPENLY attacked for what they truly represent. You can't have it both ways; maybe the majority on that site are open-minded and level-headed, but its very easy to say that, and a different thing altogether to actually demonstrate it, in such ways as banning those who post their bigotted crap and posters rallying to let him know his views do not represent theirs.

Until that happens (and its not just about forums, it goes to other aspects of NI football too) you cannot claim that OWC and therefore the NI support is truly trying to attract people of all background - which is probably why there are the ROI supporters and players choosing to identify with us. If those posts had been responded to with waves of posts telling them how much people disagreed, I would have posted those too. I'm not just picking on OWC for the sake of it (or because I'm a mega-republican or a bigot) but to demonstrate that for a lot of on-the-surface rhetoric about how NI is an all-inclusive cross-community team, there appears to be very little substance to it and very few people actually willing to go the extra mile to back it up (and while I recognise Windsor in now better than it was and FFA and such things, to flash those as if it has solved the problem entirely it completely disregarding the evidence provided on OWC). That is my problem with the site; a steady flow of 'the ROI are the real bigots for encouraging sectarianism whereas we support a cross-community NI team' whereas the truth of the matter is that we have been 99% constructive and unbiased by political issues, and large (and I do mean LARGE) sections of your supporters - OWC, for example - have not. And it ****es me off when those NI fans throw our hugely unusual occurances of sectarianism in our faces, whilst completely ignoring the far, far larger problem that they have in their own support.

EDIT - Apologies, that took a while to write and I didn't see the 'thread over' thing before I started. If this needs deleting, no complaints from me.

1,928 Posts
    Isn't it only a preliminary opinion, rather than a final decision?
    Yeah but FIFA are not deviating from their interpretation that Article 15 conditions are suffice and that the annex condition do not apply.

Such a lot of fuss for probably one player every generation. Most (after not making the grade) have the choice to declare for NI before the age of 21

Page 10 of 56 FirstFirst ... 8910111220 ... LastLast