Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Who we Want?

Back on topic again. Dont think we'll see Gethins and definitely not Dowdy, if Tony didnt want him this season he's hardly goin to change his mind after all Dowdy has not featured too regularly for de town AFAIK. I cant see us making any big name signings tbh cos Nick is gonna be tight with the budget (and rightly so). I think there is a few names on Tony's list already but he aint gonna tell us!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    So Mr. A. have you thrown in the towel already or what. Conor signed a new contract with ye so I doubt if Tony would pay big bucks for him. O'Flynn & Glynn are a good combination but we need back up for both.
    To be fair I think we need more than back-up for those two up front. We need a goalscorer.

O'Flynn is a willing workhorse who'll chip in every now and then but that's about it. Glynn took the league by storm in his first couple of months but once defenders copped onto the fact that his pace has his major asset he hasn't found it so easy.

75 Posts
    Glynn and Flynn were the perfect comination and any game they played together one of them usually scored but then Stevo got injured and missed a ****load of games. A fully fit injury free Stephen O'Flynn next season would be like a new signing.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Vinchenzo View Post
    He wasn't worth what Harps were asking for him last year anyways.
    He sure as hell was worth a lot more than the few euros Mr. Leeson offered for him. Anyhow, he signed a new contract with us a couple of months ago so will be going nowhere.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Pa or el Mullo the playing Budget is almost half the entire budget so you are being very selective and for our Famous UCD Fan I will pm you the players name and boy werent we lucky we missed him.
    The player you named is on loan to us so you're obviously talking crap as usual as loan players are contracted to the club they are being loaned from.

75 Posts
    so who paid his wages while he was playing for you hardly the club he was contracted with??

This came from a very reliable source who i would believe before yourself.

115 Posts
    You're obviously talking about Peter Hynes.

I'm seriously worried if we were looking to sign him.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

75 Posts
    It was when O'Flynn,Mensah & Armstrong were all injured just before the transfer deadline

I agree with Gethins. I was big fan when he was with us but i doubt we will get him Back. One to watch is Ronan O Boyle. On the Under 21 side. From Castlebar. You'll see him coming into the side this year hopefully and theres a few more of them young lads that mite be an addition

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    I agree with Gethins. I was big fan when he was with us but i doubt we will get him Back. One to watch is Ronan O Boyle. On the Under 21 side. From Castlebar. You'll see him coming into the side this year hopefully and theres a few more of them young lads that mite be an addition
    he only has one game to do that
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    so who paid his wages while he was playing for you hardly the club he was contracted with??

This came from a very reliable source who i would believe before yourself.
    I'm sure Peter Hynes chose UCD over Galway because Derry would have to pay a slightly smaller contribution to his wages. If he wanted to move to Galway on loan he would insisted as Derry were desperate to get rid of him.

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.

He scores an odd Goal but he will never scare a decent defence,for a start he is 2 slight...

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwaygooner View Post
    .He scores an odd Goal but he will never scare a decent defence,for a start he is 2 slight...
    Slight? So was Tommy Keane, What both of them lacked in bulkiness they made up in speed. I'd have Gethins back in the morning.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.
    Are Galway planning for a top four finish next season?

Top 6.

We've met our targets every year for the last 3 or 4 years-we will again next year.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I'm sure Peter Hynes chose UCD over Galway because Derry would have to pay a slightly smaller contribution to his wages. If he wanted to move to Galway on loan he would insisted as Derry were desperate to get rid of him.

???????????????????? Never said he wanted to move here we were interested because we were desperate for a striker but werent willing to pay what he was looking for in wages .

He scores an odd Goal but he will never scare a decent defence,for a start he is 2 slight...
    I think you are right about Gethins Gooner , but as for finishing in the top four next season , i would love to see it but a lot will depend on the players TC can bring to the club as the the players we have at the moment would not be good enough IMO ......

[QUOTE=galwaygooner;810400]Guys Gethins is a nice tidy player but no way is he good enough for a premier division Team with ambititions to finish in the top 4 next year.
    QUOTE]

Dont know where you heard those ambitions! It's more like a move to the comfortable midtable positions i'd say
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

115 Posts
    Did we not have a comfortable midtable finish this season?!

As for Peter Hynes he was a poor Division 1 striker last season, he was kicked out of Dundalk for going out on the lash and for some bizarre reason Pat Fenlon signed him for Derry. Unless it was like United signing Bobby Byrne when Mad dog was in charge I'll never understand that.
    I know we had injury problems but the only thing Peter Hynes had going for him was that he was available.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

At the start of the season all TC was talking about was survival. All Pat Scully was talking about was challenging for the title. We have survived, and Rovers were competitive at the top end of the table for most of the season. I want to hear TC talking like Scully next season, the attitude has to be right from the start, none of this mid table sh!tetalk!
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast