Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Who we Want?

There's a difference between playing like Brazil and passing the ball.

Comparing us to the last time we were in the Premier isn't an accurate comparison.
    The last time we were there we weren't full time,we didn't train every day of every week and we didn't have near the resources we have now.
    We've played our best football all season for a 3 game spell when we beat Bray,Longford and Pats so we are capable but for some reason aren't delivering.
    We played some good stuff in Waterford but even the week previous against Derry we were very poor.

I hope Tony makes a success out of it and hopefully with one or two changes he will.Big tesrt next year with 3 going down so we have to be on the ball straight away next season.
    Last edited by Conor H; 07/11/2007 at 12:28 PM.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

75 Posts
    Conor can I correct you without being called a fool.

The last time we wre in the premier we did have full time players (Eric,Luther,Ryan,Ger Crossley,Scotty Morgan were five im probably missing a few) and staff.Arrangements were also made with the players employers that some of them were allowed to take off work to train with the full timers and those that couldnt trained in the evenings.

Also one of your facts about 5 players not living in Galway City or County is untrue and if you check with the office there is a check everyday on whose training that is the Truth not a belief.

Im not questioning peoples support but some of whats posted on here about Tony and the Players is totally over the top and worse than any other forum I have seen as except fort whats posted on Vinnys Forum but i wont even go into that.

Reasoned balanced discussion is fine even if we dont agree with each other but Im still allowed to have an opinion.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Gufct people are giving out to you on the other forum because they feel they can't have an opinion unless it's 100% support of TC.

Also i stand by my point that the squad of 94' didn't have as much resources as the current squad.They couldn't possibly have had.

I've heard from about 5 or 6 people about a few players(at least 3) that don't live in Galway.I didn't say they weren't at training every day.

I've only said what alot of others have said-you just chose to highlight my points,for obvious reasons.

Europe's Big Club.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Gufct people are giving out to you on the other forum because they feel they can't have an opinion unless it's 100% support of TC.
    I'm not amember of the other forum, so I don't know what's going down, but it seems to me that on this Forum it is exactly the converse of what you claim above.....you can't have an opinion that supports OUR CURRENT MANAGER without being accused of being maroon tinted, propogandist, yes-men and worse.

One clown has even managed to suggest that the "older" posters (what age does he have in mind I wonder?) on Foot are blinkered and are prepared to put up with the (presumably sub-standard) fare on offer in Terryland since the mid 1970s.

Anyway Conor, on a happier note congratulations on 3,000 posts.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

75 Posts
    Connor there are 2 players who for Family reasons dont stay in Galway every night of the week but that doesnt mean anyone misses training.

Yes they are way better resourced than any other Galway United Team but that is the way the eircom league has gone.The last time we were in the premier our budget would have been very big compared to most other clubs bar Shelbourne and Bohs.

The manager and players have to be based in Galway, end of story.

Any excuses about family etc, are for spoofers. If professionals at the club
    can't make this committment, they should do the honourable thing and resign.

75 Posts
    Vinny no one is questioning peoples support i have said that at least 20 times both .
    But balanced reasonable discussion and fair play is what a forum should be rather than some people using it to slate Tony and certain players non stop.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    The manager and players have to be based in Galway, end of story.

Any excuses about family etc, are for spoofers. If professionals at the club
    can't make this committment, they should do the honourable thing and resign.
    I look forward to you bringing up that at tonights meeting Pa!

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    I'm not amember of the other forum, so I don't know what's going down, but it seems to me that on this Forum it is exactly the converse of what you claim above.....you can't have an opinion that supports OUR CURRENT MANAGER without being accused of being maroon tinted, propogandist, yes-men and worse.

One clown has even managed to suggest that the "older" posters (what age does he have in mind I wonder?) on Foot are blinkered and are prepared to put up with the (presumably sub-standard) fare on offer in Terryland since the mid 1970s.

Anyway Conor, on a happier note congratulations on 3,000 posts.
    Don't know who you're on about there but i certainly wouldn't agree with him.

I know alot of the "older" posters agree with the suggestion that TC mighn't be the right man for the job.
    It's only an opinion.
    Reasonable balanced opinions gufct are been offered-it's just you see the opinions as unfair and irrelevant.
    To many,the players should all live here,you see that as an unbalanced discussion as you do when people say TC should be based in Galway.
    Nobody slates the players personally at all nor does anyone have an agenda against Cousins.

Europe's Big Club.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Don't know who you're on about there but i certainly wouldn't agree with him.

I know alot of the "older" posters agree with the suggestion that TC mighn't be the right man for the job.
    It's only an opinion.
    Reasonable balanced opinions gufct are been offered-it's just you see the opinions as unfair and irrelevant.
    To many,the players should all live here,you see that as an unbalanced discussion as you do when people say TC should be based in Galway.
    Nobody slates the players personally at all nor does anyone have an agenda against Cousins.
    Conor all your points are fair but the last sentence destroys it all anyone that goes on Galwayunitedfc.net dont have to take my word for it.

Suggesting that supporters have a personal hatred for the manager and want him out regardless of results is ridiculous.

I am no longer posting on any football related topics on these fora, its a complete waste of time. My last words are :

COUSINS MUST STAY !

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    Suggesting that supporters have a personal hatred for the manager and want him out regardless of results is ridiculous.

I am no longer posting on any football related topics on these fora, its a complete waste of time. My last words are :

COUSINS MUST STAY !
    Ah Pa, I don't know whether to congratulate you for taking the honourable course or to remind you that Pa Dunne might have been a lot of things, but he was never a quitter.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Ah Pa, I don't know whether to congratulate you for taking the honourable course or to remind you that Pa Dunne might have been a lot of things, but he was never a quitter.
    Hmmmmmmmmmmm.
    The original Pa Dunne is a postman in Tuam
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

to get back on topic.

to get this thread back on topic and end the childish bickering between people,here are my transfer targets.
    Gethins-if harps dont go up.
    O.Dowd-if he could rediscover his form of last season.
    i dont think theres alot wrong with our defence,we do need a right winger and maybe a creative centre midfielder too.we definatly need strikers though.

1,552 Posts
    Will Cousins splash the cash for Gethins though? I very much doubt it....

1,552 Posts
    Depends on what you think a proven goalscorer is worth.

75 Posts
    So Mr. A. have you thrown in the towel already or what. Conor signed a new contract with ye so I doubt if Tony would pay big bucks for him. O'Flynn & Glynn are a good combination but we need back up for both.

1,552 Posts
    Hell no, just pointing out that there's no point chasing Gethins if you're only willing to pay buttons.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Hell no, just pointing out that there's no point chasing Gethins if you're only willing to pay buttons.
    You know what they say, pay Buttons and you get a poor Christmas pantomime character. (Sorry if is it too early to mention Christmas)
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

1,552 Posts
    It's always too early to mention pantomimes, which are pure evil and should be banned by international treaty.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast