Thread: FAI to offer training in Basic Life Support techniques to eircom League Clubs

57 Posts

FAI to offer training in Basic Life Support techniques to eircom League Clubs

Staff at eircom League of Ireland clubs are to be trained in Basic Life Support techniques and the use of Automatic External Defibrillators (AED) under a Football Association of Ireland initiative announced today.

The FAI will fund the training of medical, physiotherapy, coaching and administrative staff at eight eircom League of Ireland clubs on how to perform Cardio-Pulmonary Resuscitation (CPR) and in the use of AEDs.

The Association purchased four AEDs from Hibernia Healthcare and entered eircom League of Ireland clubs into a draw. The successful clubs were Shamrock Rovers, Sligo Rovers, Finn Harps and Monaghan United. These four clubs have been given AEDs which have been paid for by the FAI. This will bring to 11 the number of eircom League of Ireland clubs who own their own AED.

Staff from four other clubs who already have AEDs will also attend the training. These clubs are Bray Wanderers, St. Patrick’s Athletic, Drogheda United and Derry City. In total, it is expected that 48 personnel from the league will receive training on the day.

The course is certified by the Irish Heart Foundation, endorsed by the FAI and will be delivered by Hibernia Healthcare under the direction of Mr. Michael McQuillan, Direction of Training.

According to Dr. Alan Byrne, Medical Director of the FAI: “I am confident that the training being undertaken by the league personnel will lead to a much greater chance of survival for anybody who suffers sudden collapse on the football pitch, training ground or stadium.”

Fran Gavin, Director of the eircom League of Ireland, said: “We must do everything we can to ensure the well-being of everybody inside the stadium – players, officials and supporters. Having a defibrillator available, and having staff trained on how to properly use the defibrillator, can be the difference between life and death for somebody who suffers sudden collapse. Over recent years we have seen tragedies at home and abroad involving young athletes where defibrillators could potentially have saved lives and so we want to ensure that our clubs are ready to respond if such an emergency does occur.”

Hibernia Healthcare will hold the training seminar for eircom League of Ireland clubs on November 7th.
    Have to applaud the FAI for doing this - you never know when it may be needed...
    Kom Igen, FCK...

238 Posts
    Yeah, credit where credits due.

I thought this was going to be a thread about the FAI showing clubs how to keep themselves alive....

You'll notice Cork didn't win that raffle. RRS AGAIN!!!!

Fair play to all clubs concerned. Relieved to see Pats in there

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    They weren't necessarily in it. 8 clubs already had one.
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

We already had one

Sure we're well used to it at this stage Dodge

Defribrillated Rock Solid....

I am doing this course, its being held in the Greg Turley suite at Kingspan Century Park. Am looking forward to it. God I lead a sad life!

1,524 Posts
    Yep .

Feck off Mr A, you mite be glad of my training someday!

1,524 Posts
    True. With my family history and Harps penchant for drama the more EL grounds and people have this training the better!

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    Feck off Mr A, you mite be glad of my training someday!
    And your knowledge of the defribrillator......!

need for this training??

this training will hardly be needed in terryland as games there this season have been mostly boring and not eventfull HEART STOPPING ones.its ok,ill show myself out now.

I thought this thread was going to be about UEFA LICENCING!
    I got no lips I got no bones where there
    were eyes there's only space

Have to say it was a great course and good to see some footballers and the gorgeous Paul Osam taking part. Wish had the guts to talk to Paul but clammed up. Did have a bit of a chat with Sami Ristilla and Keith Foy tho. Gavin Peers and some other young lad from Sligo were also there as were 3 lads from Derry but not sure who they were.

I think that everyone there should be well able to save a life now. Fair play to the FAI for encouraging so many of us (35 completed the course last night) to learn the skills.

and the gorgeous Paul Osam taking part. Wish had the guts to talk to Paul but clammed up.
    You mean, the human anaesthetic...?!? Feck, but that man has the most boring, uninterested voice in the world - worse than the most boring priest in the world in that episode of Fr Ted ! Nevermind you having the guts to talk to him - I bet he wishes he could just talk.....!

I shared a taxi with him in Cork after the last game of the 2006 season. We dropped him off first - at a hotel other than his own, I might add - and the tight arse didn't give me any money for the journey....

Aw leave him alone. When you are that beautiful you are allowed to lack in other departments.

Gavin Peers and some other young lad from Sligo were also there as were 3 lads from Derry but not sure who they were.
    Would that be Seamus Coleman? Donegal accent? If so, how dare you describe him as just "some other young lad"