Thread: Tony going nowhere

46 Posts
    lads tony looks likes he is staying and I for one belive that is good news

The isusse of him not living in galway does not bother me but people on hear have a problem with it, but if we sack tony we have to pay him off, if we were go and try get the likes of Fennlon(who wound cost more than tony) and do think he would move to galway,thus same problen just a different manager, which would leave us with less money to sign players for next season

We have the bones of a decent squad and with some more new players we should be able have a decent season and hopfully finish 5th or 6th (and a good cup run)

part time players to full players, it takes time to see the benifits, look at drogs it took them 4 years

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    part time players to full players, it takes time to see the benifits,

not this again pleeeeeeeeeease

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    look at drogs it took them 4 years
    like comparing apples and pears in all fairness.

drogs splashed the cash big style to win the league

75 Posts
    You dont need to splash the cash in a crazy fashion like Drogheda did but if you try to build year on year bringing in better quality players each time you can make the top 3 or 4.

If the FAI enforce the wage cap and come down hard on Teams who dont meet their licencing requirements it will create a far mor level playing field with 6/7 teams challenging for top honours.

The year Drogheda beat us in the Playoff they were about to go belly up but thanks to a certain pairing of Cork Officials and some wealthy developers they changed things right around but are carrying a debt in excess of €3m and if the new stadium doesnt get off the ground they will go to the wall.

GUFC's Strategic plan is based on realistic and sustainable figures rather than on pipedreams so hopefullly we will be aeround to see the longterm gain.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    GUFC's Strategic plan is based on realistic and sustainable figures rather than on pipedreams so hopefullly we will be aeround to see the longterm gain.
    and i think everyone fully endorses the clubs off pitch activities. however i don't believe that TC is the man to bring us in the right direction on the pitch. but as you say he is here for next season so we will see then.

are we expecting a raft of new signings and the same old 'time to gel' excuse next season?????

75 Posts
    you will have a far stronger base of players with Premier experience this year so no I wouldnt say so.But this season hasnt even finished and your already having a go at the Manager for next season.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    you will have a far stronger base of players with Premier experience this year so no I wouldnt say so.But this season hasnt even finished and your already having a go at the Manager for next season.
    i am asking a question not having a go.

you and others were banging on a couple of weeks ago about not talking about the managers future with 3 games to go, now the season is over and you are giving out about not having a go at him for next season. if we can't mention that we dont rate him now then when can we ffs???

the manager hasn't covered himself in glory this season imo and is fairly lucky that we are where we are with a game to go.

He is also lucky the board, newspapers and maroon tinted spectacle supporters like you seem to back his every move and can't accept others having a view which opposes your 'full faith in TC stance' . if TC took a dump in the centre circle tonight during the warm up you'd probably come on here saying he was right to do it!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    if TC took a dump in the centre circle tonight during the warm up you'd probably come on here saying he was right to do it!!!!
    more water!

Fertilizing the pitch?
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

1,553 Posts
    Of course it would be several months before we'd see the full benefits of taking a dump in the centre circle. One can't expect miracles.

I don't think that TC has set the league alight with his management skills over the season, but he was on a steep learning curve as were the team. However the results towards the end of the season (last 10 games) were better so maybe he has improved.

I'd give him the first 6-8 game of next season and see where we are, also I can't think of any replacement at the moment so I'd leave him be for the time being...