Thread: Is it just me or do RTE have someting against the Rams

Is it just me or do RTE have someting against the Rams

Why do they never give a result that is good for Rams?
    When we first went ahead in the league in the summer it took Errortell 3 days to update the table, when we got knocked off the top it took them 2 minutes to update it!!!!!:mad
    All they were talking about last Friday night before the game was how Rams spoilt the party for Harps by beating Shels the previous week!
    Then I was getting really excited watching the 9 o'clock news waiting just to hear the result, to confirm I wasn't dreaming, but no, we heard and saw about the London Marathon!
    I wonder if we'll get a mention if we win the league?????

238 Posts
    RTE cameramen were saying in FP on fri night that they are planning showing the Cobh - Athlone game next fri. Cobh were to be asked yesterday.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    RTE cameramen were saying in FP on fri night that they are planning showing the Cobh - Athlone game next fri. Cobh were to be asked yesterday.
    But it cant be changed as all games have to kick off at the same time on the last day. Might be shown Saturday evening you never know

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

56 Posts
    Doubt it very much if they would show Athlone/Ramblers on Saturday night, after all nothing must get in the way of this country's fixation with the premiership
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

Quote Originally Posted by Comic Book Guy View Post
    Doubt it very much if they would show Athlone/Ramblers on Saturday night, after all nothing must get in the way of this country's fixation with the premiership
    Its only a fixation because its imposed on the country.

I doubt half of RTE have even heard of Cobh Ramblers in all honesty, let alone give a feck about trying to screw you over, so I wouldn't be getting all paranoid over it.

I doubt there was anything about last night's match for the simple fact that any games not on a Friday seem to catch RTE out - especially in the First Division.

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    I doubt half of RTE have even heard of Cobh Ramblers in all honesty, let alone give a feck about trying to screw you over, so I wouldn't be getting all paranoid over it.
    I'd be inclined to say that I doubt many people in RTÉ have heard of Cobh, much less the Rams, and that places like Dungarvan, Enniscorthy, Arklow, etc, in fact any town that does not have a county named after it would be unheard of in Montrose.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

I doubt there was anything about last night's match for the simple fact that any games not on a Friday seem to catch RTE out - especially in the First Division.
    Cobh have produced a lot more internationals than Derry in recent years so can't see why they'd be unknowns in RTE.
    We lead, they follow!!

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    I'd be inclined to say that I doubt many people in RTÉ have heard of Cobh, much less the Rams, and that places like Dungarvan, Enniscorthy, Arklow, etc, in fact any town that does not have a county named after it would be unheard of in Montrose.
    You're kidding! The place is full of culchies!

I think RTEngland have a thing against our league in general!
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

1,550 Posts
    Why do Ramblers refer to themselves as Rams anyway. Ramblers is in itself pretty unique and way better than Rams.

Come to think of it, this almost certainly merits a points deduction.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Anybody know if this RTE/FAI have been onto Cobh yet? RTE people were definately saying they'd be showing Div 1 again this weekend, which would have to see both Harps and Cobh's game switched to Friday, so obviously it'd be nice to know ASAP!!!

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T View Post
    Anybody know if this RTE/FAI have been onto Cobh yet? RTE people were definately saying they'd be showing Div 1 again this weekend, which would have to see both Harps and Cobh's game switched to Friday, so obviously it'd be nice to know ASAP!!!

They better not switch it to Friday as we have a fundraiser on that night with about 150 tickets sold already at €50 a pop

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Rebel Ram View Post
    I wonder if we'll get a mention if we win the league?????
    I think you would have, but youse didn't seem to want that!!
    Last edited by harps1954; 05/11/2007 at 2:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Postman View Post
    Cobh have produced a lot more internationals than Derry in recent years so can't see why they'd be unknowns in RTE.
    " A lot more internationals". Really ?!? Like who - Roy Keane ??? And who have Derry produced internationals-wise in tbhe same peiod ?

Keane was at Cobh for one season 20 years ago. I doubt half the people in RTE know Keane was ever at Forest, let alone Ramblers......

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    They better not switch it to Friday as we have a fundraiser on that night with about 150 tickets sold already at €50 a pop
    Don't all the games need to kick off at the same time on the final day ? Isn't that standard practice ?

1,550 Posts
    All premier games on the Friday, all D1 games on the Saturday- unless the two top D1 games are moved for TV coverage.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T View Post
    The asked rams would we change it to friday for RTE but rams rejected it, dont want the same thing happening us as harps. I guarantee if there was no RTE cameras there friday we'd be reading on text harps 3 or 4 athlone 0.

" A lot more internationals". Really ?!? Like who - Roy Keane ??? And who have Derry produced internationals-wise in tbhe same peiod ?

Keane was at Cobh for one season 20 years ago. I doubt half the people in RTE know Keane was ever at Forest, let alone Ramblers......
    Roy Keane, Stephen Ireland, Stephen O'Halloran, how about ye?
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Roy Keane, Stephen Ireland, Stephen O'Halloran,
    Keane I covered.

Ireland never played senior football for Cobh, and I'll guarantee you the overwhelming majority of people had no idea or don't care that he was a junior at Cobh. Every player has played junior somewhere - people only really care about their senior clubs.

O'Halloran was born in Cobh, never played senior there, and I don't even knwo if he played junior for the club. Reagdless - same as for Ireland.

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    how about ye?
    You or postman can tell me, if you think you've had a lot more internationals than us....

In fairness steve, the original jibe was about the town of Cobh, and they have produced these players.