Page 3 of 24 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Transfer Rumours

Interesting to see how Rovers fare next season. For all the talk about the benefits of going full time, Rovers' position (I think?) as the leading part time team gives them the pick of a lot of decent players.
    Only a Dublin club can do that though. You won't get part time players moving from the Pale to Derry, Cork, Galway, Sligo etc. Hence, those clubs are much more reliant upon full-time players to assemble a half-decent squad.

231 Posts
    Interesting to see how Rovers fare next season. For all the talk about the benefits of going full time, Rovers' position (I think?) as the leading part time team gives them the pick of a lot of decent players.
    Agreed. If Rovers get all the signings mentioned here they'll have a more than useful squad next year. Murphy and (especially)Maguire from Pats are both quality, and I think we're crazy to lose them just because of the part time thing.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    Agreed. If Rovers get all the signings mentioned here they'll have a more than useful squad next year. Murphy and (especially)Maguire from Pats are both quality, and I think we're crazy to lose them just because of the part time thing.
    don't rate maguire too highly tbh. he's better than ferguson though

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Owen Heary and Joxer seem to be heading to Pats, with Fahey going in the opposite direction.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    I dont understand the getting rid of quality part timers for the sake of being fully full time. Weve had Woods and O Brien part-time while the rest have been full time for the lads few years. Theyve been a fantasic influence on the younger lads and the passion they bring to the club is fantastic. On top of that Billy has been one of our best players this season.

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    rumours in waterford is dave mulcahy going to Shamrock Rovers.

Rumours round Athlone that Cronin wants to be manager up here.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Rumours up here are that McGlynn, Higgins and Farren are going to Finn Harps, Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd, Ken Oman to a Dublin club and Gary Beckett retiring

Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    Rumours round Athlone that Cronin wants to be manager up here.
    would athlone really want him though??
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

apparently keddy to pats aswell

Rumours in Kildare that Stapleton & Brady to Rovers, 2 more quality players lost to them! Hope its not true
    Cmon County!

83 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    would athlone really want him though??
    Definitely not in my opinion but I wont be making the decision at the end of the season.

For what it is worth I belive we have the makings of a good manager in Dermot Lennon

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

Ronaldinho is heading to Kildare!
    "No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke

3,222 Posts
    Ian Bermingham has signed for Stockport, as far as I know.

Don't expect much in the way of change next season, although rumours persist that we'll be bringing in a couple of players from England as "full time" players also working with the new academy.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Only a Dublin club can do that though. You won't get part time players moving from the Pale to Derry, Cork, Galway, Sligo etc.
    Exactly. Rovers staying part-time will affect Bray as will reduce their pool of players.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd
    How many years is that we've been hearing that now?

Hopefully he comes home to the club he has his heart in this time
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

So by the sounds of things Shamrock Rovers will have a squad of 40 players... Jesus they can't sign every player lads.

All the top part time players mentioned also are all on top buck, Rovers simply can't afford to pay that type of money any more to a whole bunch of players.

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    How many years is that we've been hearing that now?

Hopefully he comes home to the club he has his heart in this time
    Nah i've heard from a good source that he has been flaunting and offering himself to Drogheda for a few months now but Doolo has told him we
    re to go this time as he tried several times before to sign him and was turned down.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Rumours up here are that McGlynn, Higgins and Farren are going to Finn Harps, Killian Brennan to Drogheda Utd, Ken Oman to a Dublin club and Gary Beckett retiring
    Any rumours on who Robertson is bringing in for Next Season? Heard there is a lot of unrest at the club at the moment. Players arent playing for the manager. My view is is that if they arent performing ship them out.

30 Posts
    The only rumours I have heard about players coming to Derry are Conor Sammon (UCD) and Derek O'Brien (Galway).

Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    Any rumours on who Robertson is bringing in for Next Season? Heard there is a lot of unrest at the club at the moment. Players arent playing for the manager. My view is is that if they arent performing ship them out.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfc_1928 View Post
    The only rumours I have heard about players coming to Derry are Conor Sammon (UCD) and Derek O'Brien (Galway).
    Doubt Derek is heading anywhere. He seems to be settled well down here and in fairness any player ye have signed from us in the past havent exactly worked out! He has his critics but on the whole I think anyone would want to see him go, I certainly wouldn't.

Oh ya Santa Claus is bringing us two Premiership strikers in December
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Page 3 of 24 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast