Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Who we Want?

Who we Want?

Well Lads and Lassies, Who would ye like to see coming in for next season. Who should stay and who should go. Who can we be realistic to sign and who not. And please before anyone says it..........Mooney is very average IMO

moran, davoren, cookie, mckenna or reilly (maybe if we dont get cover hold onto one of these two) - have to go

tracey, faherty and fagan - do these guys get a second chance - and for that matter what about murpthy getting his 3,4,5th chance?!?!?!

think derek glynn will come on again, if we play it on the ground again
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Well Lads and Lassies, Who would ye like to see coming in for next season. Who should stay and who should go. Who can we be realistic to sign and who not. And please before anyone says it..........Mooney is very average IMO
    Mooney might be average but he knows where the net is better than any of our current strikers.

I imagine they'll be a fair few clubs in for him though.

Vital that we recruit well this Winter as it'll be an even bigger dogfight next season. Defensively I think we're not too bad. For example Sligo have conceded 9 more goals than us, Cork have only conceded 3 less and St Pat's 5 less. We haven't been scoring enough though (UCD, Bray and Longford have all scored more) so we definitely need some new faces up front and in midfield.
    Last edited by Maroon 7; 05/11/2007 at 8:48 PM.

We will have to wait and see obviously but first things first Tony and Nick will have to knock out contracts for the players we want to keep. And from looking at other threads on foot they might have to persuade some to stay. All the best players in the league will be swallowed up by the clubs with the big bucks (Drogs etc.) We'll be left with the rest to battle for. I think we might find it easier to attract players now that we have stayed up (then again I could be completely wrong!) I wouldn't rule out a few more coming in from across the pond either.
    Last edited by Tir Oilean; 05/11/2007 at 8:51 PM.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

TC has been very mixed in his signings.

Players like Brianias,Yeboah and Armstrong were very poor choices.
    Robson and Fitzy were good acquisitons.

Very important we get rid of at least 7 of the squad and sign 2 goalscorers.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

[QUOTE=Conor H;807713]Yeboah and Armstrong were very poor choices.
    QUOTE]

Why do you say these were poor choices? Mensah was injured in his first game and Armstrong didnt last too long before he got injured. Hardly Cousins' fault! As for Brinias......nuff said.

[QUOTE=Tir Oilean;807768]
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Yeboah and Armstrong were very poor choices.
    QUOTE]

Why do you say these were poor choices? Mensah was injured in his first game and Armstrong didnt last too long before he got injured. Hardly Cousins' fault! As for Brinias......nuff said.
    I can see what Conor was getting at as i know Armstrong has a history of injury but again as a manager you roll the dice and some you win and some you lose .
    I was a big fan of Armstrong as I could see him leading the front line very well and was good with his head but even if he did stay fit how many of Derek's crosses would he have managed to get to .
    Now as for Mensah he looked sharpe in the friendly up in Corofin who reminded me of some chap called Eric, well I better move on after that one .

147 Posts
    Get rid of Murphy. Then maybe Moran, Cooke, Reilly.
    Defence is not too bad, though we do need a left back. Could do with a couple of wide men and someone who knows how to score, so even if Mooney is average in some people's eyes, he scored a hell of a lot of goals for the side who are bottom, so snap him up.
    Do we keep the manager as well?
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

115 Posts
    Mooney will never join us.
    He wants to go over to England and there are a few clubs watching him at the moment, if that falls through he'll join a Dublin club over us.

We need a left back a right winger, a goalkeeper (for cover) and a striker as well as 7 or 8 other players!

If Harps don't get up obviously Gethins should be a target for us. There aren't too many available players for the other positions so maybe Tony will have to use his contacts for the rest.

I think it's pretty obvious to everyone the players who aren't up to it and there's no point keeping these. Tracey and Faherty probably should be kept hold of as they're young and have potential.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    We need a left back a right winger, a goalkeeper (for cover) and a striker as well as 7 or 8 other players!
    Well why not go all out and get a left winger and move Derek to the right? (thats if we can hold onto him)?

75 Posts
    Who ever we sign will be signed under tight budgetary controls so expecting to sign the likes of Mooney who will be looking for serious money is pie in the sky.

Tony and Nick were very shrewd in their signings last season so expect a better standard of player but if it goes to an auction we are way down the financial ladder.

UCD paid a playeyer higher wages tha United could offer last season so realism rather than clutching at straws and bankrupting the club is what will decide who we sign.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

75 Posts
    Tony is a fully Qualified Coach with all his badges so tell me who should he bring in that would be better qualified than himself.

Thanks vinny for enlighthenig us all on VF's wage packet im sure he shown you his payslip.The club has a very tight budget and sticks to it vinny unlike at least 6 other teams in the Division.Our full playing budget inclucding management is up to a quarter of some of the big spenders and no it didnt help that UCD were Dublin Based it helped that they were able to pay more than us.

75 Posts
    Rovers have the pick of all the players who for various reasons cant go fulltime in Dublin and their playing budget would be much the same as ours for this season and could be actually bigger than our full time budget next season. Our backroom staff is a hell of a lot bigger than that Vinny.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    UCD paid a playeyer higher wages tha United could offer last season so realism rather than clutching at straws and bankrupting the club is what will decide who we sign.
    A full time club with a budget of roughly €1m couldn't pay as much as us? It seems to me that you're making stuff up. Maybe you could say who the players was and how much he is on at UCD. by PM even if you do not want to post it on the forum.

The manager comments about the lack of a budgets is an insult to
    the supporters, sponsors, club officials and staff who have contributed approx E1.2million towards the cost of running Galway United this season.

The squad have been provided with Premiership training facilities, meals after training, a preseason trip to Spain, top class arrangements for away travel etc.

Our budget is twice that of Waterford United, who could still finish level on points with us. But for a points deduction, we would be level with cash-strapped Longford Town.

The manager should concentrate on preparations for next season, instead of spurious excuses about this seasons performances.

Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    A full time club with a budget of roughly €1m couldn't pay as much as us.
    The budget of €1.2m is for the total running of the club not exclusively for players wages.

There are a number of problems with splashing the cash on top quality individuals. If they get injured you have to pay out anyway without getting the use of their services (see Armstrong and Mensah). The rest of the squad will want a bigger slice of the pie which simply isnt there (just yet). If we had a sugar daddy we'd be spending all over the place but we don't. So Nick is keeping the purse strings fairly tight. I'd prefer a steady progression for the club rather than digging a hole for ourselves with the banks. 8th this season, mid-table next season then we should be prepared to left fly with the cheque book.

Is it me or is this thread becoming the second unofficial ballot on the Manager's future at the club?

If so, fair enough.

Read 'arry Redknapp's views here (down the page a bit).

Imagine what he'd make of this Forum? . Still, for balance, it's good to hear one manager's opinion, or is it just nasty propoganda?
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

75 Posts
    Pa or el Mullo the playing Budget is almost half the entire budget so you are being very selective and for our Famous UCD Fan I will pm you the players name and boy werent we lucky we missed him. Carping on about Tony and the players all the time is getting very boring and some of the stuff that has been posted is wholly untrue and every little thing that happens is being blown out of all proportion .

What Tony said in his interview wasnt moaning it was stating a fact there 4/5 clubs in the league who have budgets up to 4 times ours so we have to try and pick up bargains along the way.

1,552 Posts
    What has the other half of the budget been spent on?

75 Posts
    we own nothing .We have rent to pay for Terryland,Drom,we have five full time office staff,An U21 team to run plus all the other bits and bobs.Our playing budget this year was €670,000 and we have some of the players on 2 year contracts who will be paid in the off season.

People see a budget of €1.2m and think we are paying huge wages put that is far from the truth. I wonder what the full budget for Drogheda, Bohs, Pats , Cork & Derry is .

A bit of realism is all im asking for rather than some of the posts that fly around here even after we have achieved what our target was at the start of the season and with a bigger even challenge coming up next year.

Good luck on Saturday hopefully ye will do it but that is only when the hard work begins as the cost of survival is getting bigger every season.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast