Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Colcannon

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noby View Post
    Basically bread and warm milk mushed up together.
    with sugar. lots of sugar. lots.

Oh yeah. Don't forget the sugar.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Bread, warm milk and generous amounts of sugar..............

I've a match at the Astro tonight - nothing like bread, milk and sugar combinations to settle the stomach!!!!!!!!
    Quoting years at random since 1975

We used to call it boilies. Sometimes was made with a bit of hot water as well as milk and sugar. We give it to our dog when she isnt well and she is in fine form after it!

We always had it same as Dodge but with Parsley as well and a fried egg on top.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Stann and the Waterford lads

Explain Blaa's to the uninitiated... and for the record I am not one of those

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    huge boxty cake
    I don't wanna start the whole "is it rice crispie cake/bun" debate but Boxty is not a cake for feck sake.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Stann and the Waterford lads

Explain Blaa's to the uninitiated... and for the record I am not one of those
    Blaas are bread items, similar to but at the same time nothing like a bap. They are always white bread, no such thing as a brown blaa. They vary in style from round and crusty (some so crusty they tend to explode in shards when you tear them open), to more square at the bottom with soft innards and a smooth domed crust.
    They are a staple particularly of breakfast time down here, on their own or filled with everything from pretend meat like hang, corned dog or red lead, to sausage and rashers with red sauce ('red sauce', never ketchup), to tayto cheese and onion crisps and an easi-single.

They are the greatest thing ever invented. By anyone. Ever.

Funnily enough, a mate of mine has come up with a theory about the name that is so plausible and simple that it must be true, but that I've not heard anywhere else.
    Blaas originated with the Hugenots who arrived in the city after fleeing persecution in France in the 17th and 18th centuries, that much is well documented. They also had the facility or know-how to make proper white bread at a time when local bread would have been brown or black, and that therefore 'blaa' is simply a corruption of 'blanc'. Nifty, eh?
    Last edited by stann; 02/11/2007 at 10:55 AM. Reason: cutting a gordian knot of a sentence :)
    more bass

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    I don't wanna start the whole "is it rice crispie cake/bun" debate but Boxty is not a cake for feck sake.
    yes it is.
    debate over
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AwXIBquiqgY

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Blaas are bread items, similar to but at the same time nothing like a bap. They are always white bread, no such thing as a brown blaa. They vary in style from round and crusty (some so crusty they tend to explode in shards when you tear them open), to more square at the bottom with soft innards and a smooth domed crust.
    They are a staple particularly of breakfast time down here, on their own or filled with everything from pretend meat like hang, corned dog or red lead, to sausage and rashers with red sauce ('red sauce', never ketchup), to tayto cheese and onion crisps and an easi-single.

They are the greatest thing ever invented. By anyone. Ever.

Funnily enough, a mate of mine has come up with a theory about the name that is so plausible and simple that it must be true, but that I've not heard anywhere else.
    Blaas originated with the Hugenots who arrived in the city after fleeing persecution in France in the 17th and 18th centuries, that much is well documented. They also had the facility or know-how to make proper white bread at a time when local bread would have been brown or black, and that therefore 'blaa' is simply a corruption of 'blanc'. Nifty, eh?
    And they are only available within the city limits of Waterford

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post

Now does anyone know about Coddle?
    Came across that tripe when I was visiting my grandmother in hospital earlier this year. Asked the nurse what it was and she said it was some crap Northsiders ate. It originated out of all the week's left overs being mashed together.

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    Came across that tripe when I was visiting my grandmother in hospital earlier this year. Asked the nurse what it was and she said it was some crap Northsiders ate. It originated out of all the week's left overs being mashed together.
    Thats not true at all. No mashing whatsoever. Its like a stew basically.

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    No it's not. It's just 'Boxty'. No cake, everything doesn't have to be put into a catagory but if you want to, then just put it into the food catagory because that's what it is!

Bubble n squeak in our house was always mashed potatoes and mushy peas mashed together and fried. Had to have a bit of a crust on it. Used to get it on a sunday evening with the leftovers from the dinner. My father used to always have a fried egg on his colcannon. In fact he used to have a fried egg on his mashed potatoes quite often. Colcannon was always made with kale in our house. Haven't had it in ages.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    No, no, no. Tripe is completely different. Tripe and drisheen is a Cork thing.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Jaysus you learn something new every day
    I always thought colcannon was the posh name for curly kale
    didn't realise that the whole dish was colcannon (ie. spuds-n-onions included)

Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123