Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Protest Merrion Sq.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    I haven't read the whole thread so sorry for my laziness but other than appointing Stan, why do people want Delaney out?
    Because he's a sly little bugger who would probably sack the entire FAI if it meant he kept his job. I really couldn't care how good he is at his job. Roy Keane was the best man at his job, nobody would deny that. Still plenty of people didn't want to see him recalled for Ireland.

There's a character in Prison Break that portrays Delaney very well. President Caroline Reynolds.

There's plenty of people on here that know a lot more than me about him. What I'm pretty certain of though is that he was behind the Irish Independents campaign to get the public against Kerr.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 30/10/2007 at 8:38 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Anto McC View Post
    I haven't read the whole thread so sorry for my laziness but other than appointing Stan, why do people want Delaney out?
    I don't want to drag up an old argument but in my mind his biggest crime is sitting by while Tolka was sold and Tallaght was repossessed. These two issues will have very long term consequences for Irish soccer and other decisions like picking the wrong manager are insignificant by comparison.

You can blame others for these as well but Delaney was elected to lead and I think he dropped the ball big time here.

Quote Originally Posted by barney View Post
    Delaney f**ked up with Stan. He belatedly admitted how much he f**ked up. He says he will have nothing to do with the selection of a new manager. That's learning your lesson. Give the bloke a decent chance at running the game
    Ah, great - there he is again. His last post six weeks ago was defending Delaney. Now here he is back defending Delaney again. Listen Barney - just crawl back to your Merrion Square desk and stop annoying everyone with your pathetic propaganda. It's beyond embarrassing at this stage. And to think that you are paid for this sh*te.

Havent read any of the thread lads as im not bothered all i say is a lot of clubs traditionally struggle at this time of year financially (athlone v Limerick 250 max tonight) It seems if your out of the title chase your attendances just dissapear. only a few games left do something positive and support your local club.

Quote Originally Posted by Student Mullet View Post
    I don't want to drag up an old argument but in my mind his biggest crime is sitting by while Tolka was sold and Tallaght was repossessed. These two issues will have very long term consequences for Irish soccer and other decisions like picking the wrong manager are insignificant by comparison.

You can blame others for these as well but Delaney was elected to lead and I think he dropped the ball big time here.
    I don't know about Tallaght but if Delaney tried to get involved when Tolka was being sold, i know what Ollie would have told him. I was a big critic of Delaney a while back when i sat down and looked at the facts, other than the Stan appointment, he hasn't actually been that bad. He certainly shouldn't be beyond criticism though, so feel free to protest and make banners all you like.

Eh who elected Delaney?? As part of the Genesis report after Fran Rooney was given the boot the FAI was told they had to appoint an external CEO, Delaney said they would search around and 6 months later came back and said we found no one and seems as I was doing the job for 6 months I may as well give it to myself. Even Uefa told Delaney he had too much power in the FAI and told him he must step down from one board. Whoever said that attendences in the EL league are up needs their head examined I think, I know Bohs (who have been sh1te lately) are well down and I've been to all Bohs games this season home and away and I think attendences have slowly been sliding at all grounds bar one or two i.e Galway. No attendence figures can be relied upon as the truth. My problem with Delaney is the complete lack of organisation in the league and , the cup final changing date due to forgetting to book the RDS, instead it will be played on Sunday the 2nd just 2 days after Leinster play I believe in the same venue. My main problem with Delaney though is what I see as him trying to turn the EL into a sterile Premiership going experience for the fan (sorry consumer) he just seems to have overlooked the fact that we don't have strong attendences and sh1te stadiums. To have a Delaney out flag is a right not a privilage, why is fans free speech being taken from them? The terrece has always been somewhere that fans can voice their opinions/slag the opposition and create an atmosphere. For the first time ever in Ireland there are the begins of Ultra groups who are adding great atmospheres at all grounds yet Delaney seems to want to destroy them by fining clubs for anything and everything and taking away the fans right to protest. In football there can be no love without hate and without fans football is nothing.
    Last edited by BohsFC; 31/10/2007 at 10:32 AM.

Another one for the pile:

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro200...p?newsid=29814

The thing that gets me is that, if Delaney and the FAI in general are doing such a good job why are they so paranoid about silencing even the most innocuous criticism (e.g. Pat Scully's comments last season). Even when some criticism does sneak out into the media (fans in San Marino), he lies and says that it was just a Dundalk protest - linking all dissenters to Maxi and a can of red diesel.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Whatever about Tallaght, Delaney cant be blamed for Tolka. Shels spent that cash on winning 3 titles and its the local council who own the land. Its not like Delaney could bail Shels out of a mess and save Tolka [although he tried to by putting pressure on Bohs to sell half of Dalymount to Shels for a pittance]

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    Whatever about Tallaght, Delaney cant be blamed for Tolka.
    I don't agree. It wouldn't have taken much foresight to see what the inevitable conclusion of Shels losing a million or two a year would be, plenty of people on here could see it and we don't have access to Shels' annual accounts.

It was well within Delaney's power to stop these losses before they happened and when we pay someone more than Bertie I don't think it's unreasonable to expect him to make hard decisions.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFC
    As part of the Genesis report after Fran Rooney was given the boot the FAI was told they had to appoint an external CEO, Delaney said they would search around and 6 months later came back and said we found no one and seems as I was doing the job for 6 months I may as well give it to myself.
    This is a genuine question, have you read that Genesis Report? I've been looking for a copy.

Quote Originally Posted by Jerry The Saint View Post
    Absolutely disgraceful carry-on from a so called professional organisation!!!!!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

The thing that gets me is that, if Delaney and the FAI in general are doing such a good job why are they so paranoid about silencing even the most innocuous criticism (e.g. Pat Scully's comments last season)..
    eL people like to moan so if no effort made to curb it you will have negative articles about the league i the media on a daily basis. However the FAI League needs to have means for stakeholders to voice their opinions internally.

[QUOTE]Eh who elected Delaney?? As part of the Genesis report after Fran Rooney was given the boot the FAI was told they had to appoint an external CEO, Delaney said they would search around and 6 months later came back and said we found no one and seems as I was doing the job for 6 months I may as well give it to myself. Even Uefa told Delaney he had too much power in the FAI and told him he must step down from one board. Whoever said that attendences in the EL league are up needs their head examined I think, I know Bohs (who have been sh1te lately) are well down and I've been to all Bohs games this season home and away and I think attendences have slowly been sliding at all grounds bar one or two i.e Galway. No attendence figures can be relied upon as the truth. My problem with Delaney is the complete lack of organisation in the league and , the cup final changing date due to forgetting to book the RDS, instead it will be played on Sunday the 2nd just 2 days after Leinster play I believe in the same venue. My main problem with Delaney though is what I see as him trying to turn the EL into a sterile Premiership going experience for the fan (sorry consumer) he just seems to have overlooked the fact that we don't have strong attendences and sh1te stadiums. To have a Delaney out flag is a right not a privilage, why is fans free speech being taken from them? The terrece has always been somewhere that fans can voice their opinions/slag the opposition and create an atmosphere. For the first time ever in Ireland there are the begins of Ultra groups who are adding great atmospheres at all grounds yet Delaney seems to want to destroy them by fining clubs for anything and everything and taking away the fans right to protest. In football there can be no love without hate and without fans football is nothing.[QUOTE]
    so will u be doing anything about it and joining in on friday?
    the point of putting it up here was to encourage people to come
    not to create conversation.
    so anyone who feels like they are not happy with delaney please come along and voice your dissaproval

Ive never been so embarresed to support this league , not one compelling arguement tbh, what the fup should the fai have done about tallaght, rovers are a private company and what happened is done I believe they are backing them to the hilt on the thomas davis Issue , also when it all happened the league was under the control of the league and clubs at the time, and how would shels have paid there debts if they didnt sell the ground, did you want the fai to bail them out, give me a break

Another one for the pile:

http://www.eleven-a-side.com/euro200...p?newsid=29814

The thing that gets me is that, if Delaney and the FAI in general are doing such a good job why are they so paranoid about silencing even the most innocuous criticism (e.g. Pat Scully's comments last season). Even when some criticism does sneak out into the media (fans in San Marino), he lies and says that it was just a Dundalk protest - linking all dissenters to Maxi and a can of red diesel.
    I can only assume Delaney is so sensitive about criticism because deep-down he knows how feckin clueless he is. It's therefore because the truth hurts.

If he had confidence in himself then he would just brush off the criticism - not instigate a 'Red Terror' esque culture of suppressing any and every form of dissent.
    Last edited by dcfcsteve; 31/10/2007 at 6:08 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    Ive never been so embarresed to support this league , not one compelling arguement tbh, what the fup should the fai have done about tallaght, rovers are a private company and what happened is done I believe they are backing them to the hilt on the thomas davis Issue , also when it all happened the league was under the control of the league and clubs at the time, and how would shels have paid there debts if they didnt sell the ground, did you want the fai to bail them out, give me a break
    Full stops.....?

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tis-smeee View Post
    how would shels have paid there debts if they didnt sell the ground
    Talk about completely missing the point.

i put in a few of these things,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,, whatever they are called lol

Talk about completely missing the point.
    Well what is the point? did Delaney really conspire with Ollie to run up all the debts ?

3,488 Posts
    No, but the whole point of licencing is that clubs shouln't be allowed to run up those sort of debts. The FAI, effectively, should have protected Shels from schysters like Ollie Byrne.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast