Thread: Congrats Longford and Matthews for Manager of the year

So basically, if Longford fail to beat Cork in the final then they can't get into Europe next season yes?
    On the subject, I know a few weeks back in Scotland they introduced a new ruling whereby the cup runner-up will not get a European spot if the cup winner has already qualified for Europe. The European place goes to the next spot in the league which, iirc, would be 4th or 5th. It was brought in because of how poorly Gretna, Dundee United and Dunfermline performed in the UEFA Cup.

AFAIK, there isn't something like that over here. Do others think something similar should be brought in? Considering there are only 22 league teams, it is quite possible that a "weak" side can qualify for Europe by finishing runners up. I'm sure the coefficient obsessed would be shivering in their socks at the prospect of Monaghan United taking on Kairat Almaty in the UEFA Cup.

Personally, I feel the runner-up should get the European place. It's some consolation for losing a cup final, which is very tough to take, against a big side.
    Last edited by superfrank; 29/10/2007 at 9:57 AM.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Apparantly this guy doesn't realise that Longford staying up could mean his own club going down. Love all the UCD naysayers congratulating a team for playing some of the worst football I've seen all year (and I've been to watch Limerick, Wexford, Kilkenny, Kildare and Cobh in that time) Then again obsessions are hard to come by, and even harder to let go of
    If you checked the table you would see Lonford cant actually catch us and as for obsessions you surely have one massive one with Galway.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    On the subject, I know a few weeks back in Scotland they introduced a new ruling whereby the cup runner-up will not get a European spot if the cup winner has already qualified for Europe. The European place goes to the next spot in the league which, iirc, would be 4th or 5th. It was brought in because of how poorly Gretna, Dundee United and Dunfermline performed in the UEFA Cup.

AFAIK, there isn't something like that over here. Do others think something similar should be brought in? Considering there are only 22 league teams, it is quite possible that a "weak" side can qualify for Europe by finishing runners up. I'm sure the coefficient obsessed would be shivering in their socks at the prospect of Monaghan United taking on Kairat Almaty in the UEFA Cup.

Personally, I feel the runner-up should get the European place. It's some consolation for losing a cup final, which is very tough to take, against a big side.
    We don't have the huge imbalance that Scottish football has (even if this season is looking more balanced than usual there results-wise), so I don't think we need to go down that route re Cup runners-up.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    We don't have the huge imbalance that Scottish football has (even if this season is looking more balanced than usual there results-wise), so I don't think we need to go down that route re Cup runners-up.
    Look at the clubs that have done well in Europe in recent years. Bohs, Shels, Cork, Derry and Drogs. All full-time top of the table outfits.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    If you checked the table you would see Lonford cant actually catch us and as for obsessions you surely have one massive one with Galway.
    Yes keep saying that whilst you rock back and forth alternating between whispering to yourself about how UCD and Limerick are out to get you

think Scully should get it. to come from the first div. and take a club to a possible top 5 in the premier div. is quite a task.
    I know he wont get it but our own Paul Cook has done very well too with one of the smallest squads and also getting the best out of of Dick Brush,Faz,Judge and Hughes.

115 Posts
    Maybe you should check that table again and then pray those words don't come back to haunt ya!
    more bass

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Longford can't finish ahead of Galway because of goal difference.

75 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Maybe you should check that table again and then pray those words don't come back to haunt ya!
    Its you my friend who need to check the table.Roll on Friday night we owe ye one.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Longford can't finish ahead of Galway because of goal difference.
    Couple of freak results and that can be overturned.

Unlikely, but not impossible.

Couple of freak results and that can be overturned.

Unlikely, but not impossible.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

3,491 Posts
    What? True, isn't it?

115 Posts
    Its you my friend who need to check the table.Roll on Friday night we owe ye one.
    We'd prefer three thanks.

Oh, and not to labour the point, but your very words to Jebus: 'if you checked the table you would see Longford can't actually catch us'
    6 points behind, 9 goals worse off on GD, with two games left to play means it's extremely unlikely Longford will catch you, but in no way means it's impossible.
    Go check again!
    Last edited by stann; 29/10/2007 at 2:17 PM.
    more bass

1,104 Posts
    There is no Manager Of The Year anyhow so its irrelevant. Mathews has though done a magnificent job with what he's had to work with and put up with this year. We didn't even have 7 fit subs yesterday AFAIK

147 Posts
    We'd prefer three thanks.

Oh, and not to labour the point, but your very words to Jebus: 'if you checked the table you would see Longford can't actually catch us'
    6 points behind, 9 goals worse off on GD, with two games left to play means it's extremely unlikely Longford will catch you, but in no way means it's impossible.
    Go check again!
    If I was you buddy I'd be worried worried about Longford catching you lot than them catching us. And as for the lemon from Limerick, when you have something worthy of being called a club, then we'll enter a debate.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    There is no Manager Of The Year anyhow so its irrelevant. Mathews has though done a magnificent job with what he's had to work with and put up with this year. We didn't even have 7 fit subs yesterday AFAIK
    He should've signed more. Matthews out!

Scully was a shoo-in until he kicked lads off the bus on the way to Waterford and let players go on loan (with worse cover in his "retained" squad).

Doolin will suffer from the "sure they had to win it, they had twice the squad every one else did" syndrome (which is true, all he had to do was not **** up)

At the start of the year most were predictating mid table for Pats and we're going to finish 2nd or 3rd, so McDonnell has exceeded most expectations.

Of the others I think Tony Cousins can be happy enough with his season (provided they stay out of play off) and the others either had standard seasons or poor (Mahon with UCD and Connors with Bohs IMO)

As for FAI Cup. I strongly beliefe that the losers should get the UEFA spot if beaten by the champs. I couldn't care less about the fecking co-efficient prefering to see the spread of wealth not confined to top 3/4 clubs every year

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    If I was you buddy I'd be worried worried about Longford catching you lot than them catching us. And as for the lemon from Limerick, when you have something worthy of being called a club, then we'll enter a debate.
    I'm not worried about Longford catching you. Why would that worry me? It'd be more likely to make me laugh meself sick to be honest.
    And, I'm not that worried about Longford catching us either, not yet, though they're resisting relegation fiercely, and very impressively to be fair. We'll see what happens after tomorrow night, they're the two key matches that will determine whether or how we should worry about the final outcome.
    And I'm not your buddy either.
    Last edited by stann; 01/11/2007 at 12:18 PM.
    more bass

147 Posts
    And I'm not your buddy either.
    That hurts ;0)

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Says the man who supports the First Division side masquerading as a Premier club. The club whos fans expect a pat on the back for every Mars bar they sell in their club shop. The same club who have won what in their glorious history? One cup of note? The same club who turns a blind eye to the mess Leeson made of so many peoples lives just as long as he produces nice shiny DVDs to paper over the large crack that is their club's trophy cabinet?

I'll take it you're one of the Galway fans who has come on board in the last year and a half and so is ignorant of your clubs not so great history then Woodie

147 Posts
    No, I'm well aware of the history, I have been going to Terryland since the late 70s, thanks. How about yourself, how long have you been supporting Limerick 37?