Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Robbed again

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt
    Irish people are dumb

people colllecting for hospitals, etc...............then they go and vote for FF

this country is a joke
    Ah sure, that's grand ain't it? Hospitals = PD problem.

Still waiting for that elusive FF voter to swallow his pride and own up around here

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Rail roaded?!?! A blind chimp should have had enough sense not to vote Fianna Fail back in,
    Its a shame they don't have the vote.

Mary Harney said if you pay peanuts, you get monkeys.
    Maybe we should give that a go.
    Last edited by BohsPartisan; 29/10/2007 at 10:25 AM.
    TO TELL THE TRUTH IS REVOLUTIONARY

The ONLY foot.ie user with a type of logic named after them!

All of this has happened before. All of it will happen again.

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Still waiting for that elusive FF voter to swallow his pride and own up around here
    Happily admit i voted FF & the reason the i and so many others did, is that there was and is still not a strong alternative, its a simple as that. What will be the alternative the next time?

3,488 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by soccerc View Post
    Wait, he does, apart from an official residence.
    And I think it was on the radio during the week that an official residence in the Phoenix Park was done up for him, but he didn't want it.

It for visiting heads of state

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Farmleigh

Farmleigh was formerly one of the Dublin residences of the Guinness brewing family. It is situated on extensive private gardens of 31 hectares (78 acres) to the north-west of the Phoenix Park. It was purchased from the Guinness family in 1999 for €29.2m and, following extensive renovation by the Office of Public Works, is now the official Irish State Guest House. It was opened to the public in July 2001.

Today
    In 2006 it was announced by the OPW that the Steward's House which is located in the grounds of Farmleigh has been renovated. It is believed that the house will become the official residence of the Taoiseach (although a spokesperson has said Bertie Ahern has no intention of using it), and any official engagements will be carried out in Farmleigh or Government Buildings.[1]

http://www.independent.ie/national-n...n-1206636.html

Ahern missed out by failing to catch semi-state gravy train

Bertie Ahern and the judiciary may have been deluged by criticism after deciding to accept the latest proposed pay increases, but the Taoiseach may be regretting not keeping up with the 'ould bookkeeping courses at the VEC.
    Last edited by Ringo; 29/10/2007 at 3:19 PM.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo
    Happily admit i voted FF & the reason the i and so many others did, is that there was and is still not a strong alternative, its a simple as that. What will be the alternative the next time?
    FG won 20 seats at the election. Think that's an indication of how strong they are at the moment.

Everyone was going to vote for them going into the last week of campaigning, before Bertie turned up on tv, warning us that FG/Lab were going to destroy the economy, so everyone bought it, and voted him in. Now, he's taking another big slice of our cash for himself, as a thank you.

I love the "Independent" Review Body. Appointed by the government to decide on government pay.

500K for the CEO of ESB is insanity. Must be the easiest semi state body to run as no competition so no idea if service good or bad...

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    500K for the CEO of ESB is insanity. Must be the easiest semi state body to run as no competition so no idea if service good or bad...
    Actually, I think it does well internationally winning contracts and actually makes the state money - hence privatisation on the way! Afterall can't be having something making money for the people of the state when it could be making money for shareholders and financial institutions.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Actually, I think it does well internationally winning contracts and actually makes the state money - hence privatisation on the way! Afterall can't be having something making money for the people of the state when it could be making money for shareholders and financial institutions.
    Perhaps my favourite Act of Harney was when the PDs insisted that the ESB raise their prices in spite of them already making a healthy profit. The reason: to make the market more attractive for competition. You know, cos that drives down prices, right?
    You can't spell failure without FAI

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Perhaps my favourite Act of Harney was when the PDs insisted that the ESB raise their prices in spite of them already making a healthy profit. The reason: to make the market more attractive for competition. You know, cos that drives down prices, right?
    She did the same with Health Insurance - make the VHI build a reserve, which means higher prices, which means BUPA/Quinn and VIVAS can charge more too and be more profitable.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ringo View Post

sorry thats not a good excuse
    yes you are dead right there inst an alternative, but jeez you could have at least voted for an independent/SF/Socialist party/Looney party or something else...........but to actually vote for FF is a bit embaressing really

FG dont appeal to many, but at least Kenny is making more of a noise now that he did before the election

but isnt it great to know that Labour are on the ball again! On the day of job shortages and less than a week from the obscene pay increases they are banging on (maybe literally) about Gay marriages!! good to know that they have their priorities in order

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Ah sure, that's grand ain't it? Hospitals = PD problem.
    They've you well drilled in their "plausable deniability" story anyway. 1 PD minister doesn't a policy make ...or certainly not enforce. Suits FF down to the ground to have a PD in Health because it enables their voters to say things like "Hospitals = PD problem" and then put their X next to a FF candidate with it all rationalised away.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    but isnt it great to know that Labour are on the ball again! On the day of job shortages and less than a week from the obscene pay increases they are banging on (maybe literally) about Gay marriages!! good to know that they have their priorities in order
    Yeah, because it's not important to you, it's not important.

But do you mean they've ditched stuff like...
    Action must be taken to prevent job losses
    Issued : Wednesday 31 October, 2007
    Brian O'Shea TD
    Gov plan spells disaster for community childcare facilities
    Willie Penrose TD
    Government needs to do more for childcare sector
    Issued : Tuesday 30 October, 2007
    Senator Alex White
    Shocking decision to discontinue smear tests will put women at risk
    Jan O'Sullivan TD
    Labour Bill will put witness programme on statutory footing
    Issued : Monday 29 October, 2007
    Senator Dominic Hannigan
    ... this week.

they are banging on (maybe literally) about Gay marriages!!
    Your rolly eyes symbol said more than I ever could. Here's a nother

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Yeah, because it's not important to you, it's not important.

But do you mean they've ditched stuff like...
    Action must be taken to prevent job losses
    Brian O'Shea TD
    Gov plan spells disaster for community childcare facilities
    Willie Penrose TD
    Government needs to do more for childcare sector
    Senator Alex White
    Shocking decision to discontinue smear tests will put women at risk
    Jan O'Sullivan TD
    Labour Bill will put witness programme on statutory footing
    Issued : Monday 29 October, 2007
    Senator Dominic Hannigan
    ... this week.
    so you are a member of "new labour" then, good lad as there is very few of ye guys left in the country

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Your rolly eyes symbol said more than I ever could. Here's a nother

ha ha funny (and another)

by the way you are not as clever as you think, it was a clear reference to a Lab Td (and no not Stagg!)

So that makes a terrible terrible pun about gay sex OK?

335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    So that makes a terrible terrible pun about gay sex OK?
    ok? sorry i broke the PC rules, or whatever

the point is the Labour party are useless and are obsessed about these kinds of things, rather than say workers rights................which might just go to explaining why they are in such a sorry state at the moment

and for the record i dont care about the proposed legislation regarding same sex marriages..........since its such a non event to many people anyway.......

But it does matter to some. Which is the ****ing point. Just becasue you don't care about it doesn't mean it doesn't matter

And as pointed out above they made several proposals, its hardly their fault if the media pick on one...

Page 2 of 7 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast