Thread: Disillusionment?

Disillusionment?

We or the club has to get this moving on some of the ideas that are being touted around this forum.

Take the hiring of the camera for example - even the 1st division clubs are moving on this, and infairness their charges are more than what we are being asked for.....

I think it's time that some of us started getting a SEI/Ultras/Independant Saints organisation going, and the very least get the ball rolling on stuff like this and organising fans displays etc.....

Even a few of us donating €3-5 a week towards flags, flares, sponsorship of a player, match ball, match camera would be a start... Fook getting tied up with any of the supporters clubs - totally independant to do what we want with the money when we want to do it... Realistically there would only be 10-15 of us at the max, so we probably wouldn't have to even elect a committee... Be answerable to no-one but ourselves.... even with 10 of us contributing €3 a week, thats €30 to play with a week...

Give the club a committment that we'd sponsor every third home league games camera, and we'd still be left with money over, and realistically who's gonna miss €3 a week?
    52 x €30 = 1560
    6 x €90 = 540
    Balance for flag, banners, other sponsorship etc = €1020

Longford Independants?
    LVFC - Longford Vocal Fans Campaign?

Anything than the total ignorance of our ideas, and infairness our own inaction, that is going on at the moment...

Anybody else have any thoughts?

[FONT=arial][COLOR=darkblue]right behind you on this Macy, the problem is that we need creditabilty...

but I support what you say completely, we are at a very important place at the moment, the euphoria of just being in the premier has died...

on another thing, everyone expects the businesses in Longford to provide this and to provide that, but we need an independant supporters club to do alot of this...

I propose a meeting of like minded individuals sometime soon to get this off the ground...

How about a pre-match meeting for the:

Eircom League Series 9 U.C.D. Flancare Park Sat, 31/05/03 [/COLOR][/FONT]

Maybe McDowells next week? In Kilkenny that weekend for the Cat Laughs......

112 Posts
    yeah totally agree, but in fairness, we are beginning to get our act together with the flags for a start, the intention is there at least.. Fanzine at the end of the month will go a good way towards funds... a lot of people might not have time though that’s the only thing. Personally, id be happy to help out, but im moving to Edinburgh early June so im going to obviously quite limited from there! plus an independent supporters club is a great idea, like minded people going the same direction can achieve a lot...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Well we need to do something... I might not be in McDowells and the Rovers game is short notice... but there should be more than you and I there, no...

Originally posted by PAURO 7
    yeah totally agree, but in fairness, we are beginning to get our act together with the flags for a start, the intention is there at least.. Fanzine at the end of the month will go a good way towards funds... a lot of people might not have time though that’s the only thing. Personally, id be happy to help out, but im moving to Edinburgh early June so im going to obviously quite limited from there! plus an independent supporters club is a great idea, like minded people going the same direction can achieve a lot...

[FONT=arial][COLOR=darkblue]the flags and the drums and the fanzines are great but what we want is a credible organisation driving it... and we wouldn't want people thinking them swoer of ejits the far side got that flag... if you know what I mean...[/COLOR][/FONT]

Also if we opened a bank account and started standing orders it would hardly be that much effort to collect - eveything else is sponsorship/ orders of tifo/ making flags and banners - not exactly rocket science.....

Thumbs up Fair play

Fair play to ye lads if it works but theres alot to put into it and something always goes wrong but the club badly needs the supporters to help them make any money.

techs
    stick to the singin lads your all livin in dream land. flags and flares and independant supporters clubs, its all too optimistic. we're only a small club with a small fan base, if you aim too high it could be disastrous. this whole section O thing has got to yous big time. stick with the flag idea, its the only idea that would appeal to everybody. i think the town have there sponsorship covered by big local businesses

Question I say fair play !!

I say go for it lads ..... any effort would go a long way. Stay in contact with other groups and fanzines around the country and see what is going on.

But doing that and putting effort in you see the difference it makes to the atmosphere, it will only get bettter for yourselves aswell.

Keep us all posted anyway.

Red face

Originally posted by techs
    stick to the singin lads your all livin in dream land. flags and flares and independant supporters clubs, its all too optimistic. we're only a small club with a small fan base, if you aim too high it could be disastrous. this whole section O thing has got to yous big time. stick with the flag idea, its the only idea that would appeal to everybody. i think the town have there sponsorship covered by big local businesses

I'm a little disheartened by your lack of enthusiasm, it's your opinion, no harm...

What some of us are trying to do is get something small off the ground, remember that word, small... We're not trying to rock the world, we are just trying to do something which will allow Longford follow an impressive trend which is gathering pace in the eL at the moment, flags... The fanzine is going to provide some small finance to which our plans will see the light of day...

On our second proposal, we want to gather support to enable sponsorship of the recording of games at Flancare. The reason we want to control this is that we can interact with TV3 and see that Longford get a fair coverage in the league. The benefit to the club here is the increased coverage the ground and sponsors signage receives which in turn increases the club position to bargain for future sponsorship....

So lighten up - It's something which you don't have to contribute to, it's something you don't have to embrace, but you could wait until we fail to stick the boot in...
    Last edited by Xlex; 12/05/2003 at 9:00 AM.

i think its a great idea, the first division could do with some added colour next season

cheers
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

Originally posted by parnell ranger
    i think its a great idea, the first division could do with some added colour next season
    LOL...... Are Scumlone taking our ideas, as well as our rejects, of us now? Sure you lot of junkies have been predicting us to be relegated since we got promoted.....

LTFC - Pride of the Midlands

Best of luck lads, if you're meeting in McDowells, have a word with us (macy knows who) and we'll give ye a few tips...

And techs, you really are a miserable ****er aren't you?

Cheers Dodge.

To Techs et al - thanks for emphasing my point.... If it's only 10 of us, then so be it - no skin of our noises, non of yours.... I don't particularly want this to be a section O thing, but if that's the way it turns out then so be it... It could well fail, but at least we will have made the effort....

I don't particularly want this to be a section O thing, but if that's the way it turns out then so be it...

dead right, it will be done, with or without any one person!!

112 Posts
    Techs, if youve nothing positive to say, dont say it at all. Negativity never achieved anything.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

techs
    its an opinion pauro. every one is entitled to one. you have yours, i have mine. i think for myself and don't let others do it for me!

exactly Pauro, every one has opinions, and at the end of the day everyone to themselves, we are all prone to negativity which in any case I don't think tecks is being, there's plenty of ways to support and once we do just that we're fine...

112 Posts
    that’s fair enough, we all have our point of view. Didnt mean to get at ya there...