Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: The selection team

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by graham_d View Post
    According to the BBC 'Gossip' page

Not that I'd ever suggest the Mail knows more about anything than anybody....
    Givens got the sack so he could concentratre on his role on the panel? : ... finally, maybe this panel is not so bad after all

[QUOTE=geysir;833572] I mean with one interview, there's four people, the three of us and the candidate so and there's anything between 12 and 16 people on the list. We know that we don't want to hang around either but we need to do it properly and efficiently and thoroughly. And we'll do that in the shortest time possible.[QUOTE]

How are there 12 to 16 people who are realistic/suitable/available ? i would of thought 6 maximum. Arrange a date and send him a ticket or 3 of them fly out to interview him (him being Hodgson)

I am waiting for the excuses about Xmas shopping, people busy .

We need a manager in place before the fixtures are arranged. at this rate we will be lucky to get a manager before the fixtures start

Quote Originally Posted by Newryrep View Post
    How are there 12 to 16 people who are realistic/suitable/available ? i would of thought 6 maximum. Arrange a date and send him a ticket or 3 of them fly out to interview him (him being Hodgson)

I am waiting for the excuses about Xmas shopping, people busy .

We need a manager in place before the fixtures are arranged. at this rate we will be lucky to get a manager before the fixtures start

With this being an FAI "expenses-reimbursed " operation, I would expect it to be no doubt the most thorough and lengthy interview process in football history.

As well as time and money spent visiting various outposts to interview the likes of Kendall and possibly Omar Troussier (Morocco in December lads! Wahey! Bring the wife!) If I were the FAI accountant, I would also fully expect to have receipts produced for Flights to Melchester for a 'behind closed doors' meeting with Legendary Roy Race, a weekend in Fulchester to interview Tommy Brown (and a sly meet up with his arch rival, City manager Gus Grimthorpe) and a long , expensive visit to the Simon Weisenthal centre to try and track down for interview the manager of the Nazi XI from Escape to Victory. (MIchael Caine of the Aliied XI has ruled himself out. After "A christmas Carol", he says he won't work with muppets again.)

Meanwhile, all of the proper, genuine candidates who could have made a difference if approached, will have settled into what would arguably be considered "lesser" positions, or at least lower paid ones, as in fairness, If the FAI attache the same gravity & importance to interviewing Howard Kendall as they do to interviewing Roy Hodgson for the position, then anyone who truly loves football will know that no amount of money could make working for the FAI an attractive proposition.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post
    With this being an FAI "expenses-reimbursed " operation, I would expect it to be no doubt the most thorough and lengthy interview process in football history.

As well as time and money spent visiting various outposts to interview the likes of Kendall and possibly Omar Troussier (Morocco in December lads! Wahey! Bring the wife!)
    The obvious trip for the wife is shopping in Milan, maybe we should pressurise the wives.

Better to go interview them than they come over here - i wouldnt put a dog out in weather like this today.

161 Posts
    If we see the 2 Don's and Rayo wearing sombreros and giant sunglasses returning from "important FAI business" ie inteviewing Shaun Goater out in Bermuda then questons must be asked.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 08/12/2007 at 11:07 AM.

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    'Givens, meanwhile, feels it is difficult at this stage to put an accurate time frame on the entire process. "It's hard to know how long it will take," he said.
    "I mean with one interview, there's four people, the three of us and the candidate so and there's anything between 12 and 16 people on the list. We know that we don't want to hang around either but we need to do it properly and efficiently and thoroughly. And we'll do that in the shortest time possible."

Fair play to England for getting a good candidate and quickly.

Why can't we conduct interviews in, e.g., London hotel or various London locations, over a 2 day period? Those that want the job can make themselves available. Capello flew to London.

Those who require a direct approach can be visited. Hodgson (publicly anyway) has been non-committal for example. That'd take about a week, max.

Houllier is in Dundalk already so if he's a candidate talk to him there.

Thats class man

Quote Originally Posted by Bondvillain View Post

As well as time and money spent visiting various outposts to interview the likes of Kendall and possibly Omar Troussier (Morocco in December lads! Wahey! Bring the wife!) If I were the FAI accountant, I would also fully expect to have receipts produced for Flights to Melchester for a 'behind closed doors' meeting with Legendary Roy Race, a weekend in Fulchester to interview Tommy Brown (and a sly meet up with his arch rival, City manager Gus Grimthorpe) and a long , expensive visit to the Simon Weisenthal centre to try and track down for interview the manager of the Nazi XI from Escape to Victory. (MIchael Caine of the Aliied XI has ruled himself out. After "A christmas Carol", he says he won't work with muppets again.)

Meanwhile, all of the proper, genuine candidates who could have made a difference if approached, will have settled into what would arguably be considered "lesser" positions, or at least lower paid ones, as in fairness, If the FAI attache the same gravity & importance to interviewing Howard Kendall as they do to interviewing Roy Hodgson for the position, then anyone who truly loves football will know that no amount of money could make working for the FAI an attractive proposition.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post

Why can't we conduct interviews in, e.g., London hotel or various London locations, over a 2 day period? Those that want the job can make themselves available. Capello flew to London.

Those who require a direct approach can be visited. Hodgson (publicly anyway) has been non-committal for example. That'd take about a week, max.

Are you mixing information because I see Houllier is down to talk at the "grassroots" seminar in Dundalk in January.
    http://www.faiifagrassrootsseminar.com/

2,796 Posts
    Sorry, I thought that conference was this week. My error.

There are two key differences between us and england on this. The english fa have not felt it necessary to appoint a selection team (I think this is because people don't think mcclaren was barwicks first choice and brooking is well respected) The FAI have had to spend weeks getting external people on board

More significantly hiring an english manager is a much simpler task. They identified the five people they wanted most in the world. Three were interested and they picked their favourite from those. I'm fairly sure that given unlimited money and prestige we would have quickly put together a similar list. But there is no way Capello etc would have taken the ireland job. At the level we are pitching there are dozens of candidates all of whom have flaws. It is a much tougher decision for the FAI

214 Posts
    The delay is probably down to Delaney accidently deleting El Tel's number from his mobile phone. Once he tracks down a number for the sun tanned one we'll have a new manager.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Has there been a formal announcement of who is on this committee yet? We hear about people (eg. Hodgson) having been approached but by whom?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Has there been a formal announcement of who is on this committee yet? We hear about people (eg. Hodgson) having been approached but by whom?
    Where have you been? Givens, Howe and Houghton.

2,796 Posts
    oh oh, I think OwlsFan may be getting his first "senior moments"

hehe. I wouldn't mind but on the previous page he replies to a joke about Howe, Givens and Houghton being the Englishman, Irishman and Scotsman.

161 Posts
    I can see someone like Rosenstock calling up candidates and offering them the job. "Hi Howard. Don Howe here mate. Naah no need for an interview. We want to offer you the job. Just turn up the weekend of the Brazil game"

1,928 Posts
    "Eh. Don who?"

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Where have you been? Givens, Howe and Houghton.
    But was there ever a formal announcement or was it just leaked in dribs and drabs?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

2,796 Posts

794 Posts
    Thanks. Missed that for some reason

Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast