Thread: Relegation?

81 Posts

Relegation?

I hate to say this but it looks like we may get relegated. Can we keep the great escape going? Waterford is now a MUST win game. The Galway game was a big disappointment. The one good thing was that Mooney scored and is now ahead of Roy O Donovon.

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by Keen2win View Post
    I hate to say this but it looks like we may get relegated. Can we keep the great escape going? Waterford is now a MUST win game. The Galway game was a big disappointment. The one good thing was that Mooney scored and is now ahead of Roy O Donovon.
    it is looking very dodgy for us . three sending offs in three matches two to daisy and one for kev doherty its just not on all these suspensions are killin us. five points is a huge gap. losin dave freeman in midfield is a massive blow and also losin jamie duffy for the rest of the season. nothing is goin right for us at the moment. I am accepting relegation right now as I cant see our luck changing. losin that two goal lead against cork has being a huge turning point and we have not being the same team since.

Why the hell is duffy gone for the season. Man we can forget it if thats true

Do ye think ye will still be a club if ye are relegated?........Do ye think ye'll lose alot of players if the club does survive?........Will ye have a decent fanbase if ye are playing First Divison football next season?

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Do ye think ye will still be a club if ye are relegated?........Do ye think ye'll lose alot of players if the club does survive?........Will ye have a decent fanbase if ye are playing First Divison football next season?
    Of course we will.
    If we go down we will lose players.
    Who judges that? If we go down and average 400 a game is that good or bad?

average of 400 isn't great. all i wanted to know is do ye think ye'll lose alot of fans purely cause ye aren't playing Premier anymore.

from what ive heard from town fans ye aren't exactly sure if ye will survive as ye have serious debts and aren't bringing in the kind of money needed to pay them off so i was wondering what some more town fans thoughts on this where.....

also i asked if ye think ye will lose alot of players if ye go down...... not if ye will just lose some players...
    Last edited by Jofspring; 09/10/2007 at 5:54 PM.

32 Posts
    best of luck lads

average of 400 isn't great. all i wanted to know is do ye think ye'll lose alot of fans purely cause ye aren't playing Premier anymore.

from what ive heard from town fans ye aren't exactly sure if ye will survive as ye have serious debts and aren't bringing in the kind of money needed to pay them off so i was wondering what some more town fans thoughts on this where.....

also i asked if ye think ye will lose alot of players if ye go down...... not if ye will just lose some players...
    There is no doubt that we will lose alot of fans because we are not a premier team. Our budget will at the very least because of this have to be slashed further which will mean a mass exodus again. If three go down next year it will be dodgy for us staying up next year even if we did stay up Hard to know if going down this year and trying to get straight back up or staying up would be the best. In any case I cant see us folding unless crowds are really bad! The asset of the ground is a plus for us if worse comes to worsst.

I thought it was the cost of flancare was one of the causes of money problems.....we'll have to discuss this more in person sonic cause as you know yourself i'm very intrested in this

I thought it was the cost of flancare was one of the causes of money problems.....
    The cost of the development work is one of the causes. The actual site was brought with the proceeds of the sale of the club house in the town years ago, so site is an asset available in the worst case scenario. Or possible sites along the road, which is already being looked at.

30 Posts
    Ah I remember the good old days at the start of the season and the
    League Cup game where the rumours were rife that we would be taking
    all yer decent players. Little did we know at the time that we couldnt
    afford the players we had, never mind any of yers!!!!!

At least if ye get relegated we'll have a darby game to hopefully get
    a crowd in! That and a nice short away trip to Longford
    Last edited by Ash; 10/10/2007 at 12:56 PM.

I thought it was the cost of flancare was one of the causes of money problems.....we'll have to discuss this more in person sonic cause as you know yourself i'm very intrested in this
    Pints in Limerick at the weekend so

Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    Pints in Limerick at the weekend so
    i suppose....if you insist

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    Ah I remember the good old days at the start of the season and the
    League Cup game where the rumours were rife that we would be taking
    all yer decent players. Little did we know at the time that we couldnt
    afford the players we had, never mind any of yers!!!!!

At least if ye get relegated we'll have a darby game to hopefully get
    a crowd in! That and a nice short away trip to Longford
    how bad is the situation with athlone town fc at the moment ash?

84 Posts
    how bad is the situation with athlone town fc at the moment ash?
    Situation is being blown out of all proportions. Is is just a total cash flow problem that is getting sorted out slowly. The club itself have no real debt and everything will be fine again by the end of the season.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

It won't be the end of the world if we go down. Eight seasons in the top flight and all the success we've had is more than we could ever have dreamed of in the bad old days.

Yes, we will lose a rake of players, but we have always lost our best players at the end of a season. Nothing new there.
    Last edited by Nipper; 17/10/2007 at 2:15 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Nipper View Post
    It won't be the end of the world if we go down
    are you serious?the club owes so much money that if we get relegated theres a good chance that the club could fold as an entity..rumours that a lot of players went a good few weeks without pay appear to be true so thats not a good sign..remember dublin city??

lets just hope the boys can turn it around for us against all the odds an start with a win in ucd on fri nite

The club won't fold, relax. The ground is worth millions, if the worst comes to the worst.

The crowds are so pathetic it won't make the slightest bit of difference what division we are in. The club is actually working on the assumption that nobody will turn up next year at all.

waterford won

112 Posts
    Feckers.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'