Page 1 of 37 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Steven Reid

Steven Reid

Steven Reid made his first appearance in a Blackburn shirt for 14 months when he managed 55 minutes for Rovers' reserves on Monday night.

The Republic of Ireland midfielder has been struggling with injury for more than a year but played 55 minutes in the 5-0 win over Sunderland without suffering a relapse.

Reid was plagued by injuries to his back and knee which forced him to miss most of last season.
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

130 Posts
    Good to have him back, i imagine he wont be rushed back considering how long he's been out. Unlikely he'll make the wales game.

excellent news, hope he can stay fit. it'll be interesting to see the midfield that surrounds him if/when he gets back in an ireland jersey - two reids in the middle might be a bit adventurous for some. he's an athletic, forward-thinking player with a tremendous shot. i'm not too aware of his range of passing or his ability to carry the ball, been a while since i've seen him in a blackburn jersey. it might necessitate a rethink away from ireland's traditional 4-4-2 to accomodate some of our midfield players. (we have likely played different formations in recent friendlies and some competitive games but to be honest, everything looked so ragged for ireland in the last couple of years that there didn't seem to be any sense of organization or formation on the pitch.)
    zombie/thread killer..

Fantastic News.

Firmly believe that he, if fit, will be the key to our next qualifying campaign, regardless of the manager.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

Was talking to Mark Hughes on Saturday after the Blackburn game and he said Reid was looking really good and he should be back in full action very soon. Also, there's a lot of talk over there about winger Keith Tracey in the Blackburn reserves, they were showing clips of him on the screens in the stand at half-time.

seen Tracey play for the under 20s against germany a few months ago, he looked decent enough

199 Posts
    Great news on Reid
    New manager, reid back fit...... things could be about to change (for the better hopefully)

The future is a central midfield of Reid and Reid. And hopefully Zinedine Kilabne and Stephen Ireland will be let nowhere near that position. If he can regain the form he showed 2 seasons ago then we are in luck. As it is he will be doing very well to break into a very good Blackburn team

Quote Originally Posted by mackannovic View Post
    Was talking to Mark Hughes on Saturday after the Blackburn game and he said Reid was looking really good and he should be back in full action very soon. Also, there's a lot of talk over there about winger Keith Tracey in the Blackburn reserves, they were showing clips of him on the screens in the stand at half-time.
    Its true lads he was talkin to him! See the link

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.js...oId=5880672269
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Quote Originally Posted by Ireland4ever View Post
    Its true lads he was talkin to him! See the link

http://www.bebo.com/PhotoAlbumBig.js...oId=5880672269
    I thought that all you Blackburn supporters had moved on to Newcastle, followed by Leeds, then Chelsea and are now currently residing under the flag of convenience that is Sunderland

Only joking, ye are obviously dedicated.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Good to see another Blackburn fan im a seson ticket holder in Jack walker Lower I was speaking to Stephen Reid who told me he will not be involved with ireland until next campaign but he cant wait to get back playing no pictures he was just walking past me on way to dug out and I grabbed him.

gamst pedersen looks like a doll in your photo

82 Posts
    Just read that Mokuena is injured as well a Robbie Savage.... We could well find Reid getting his opportunity sooner than expected... Not talking about rushing him back mind you... Just saying that there may well be less competition in front of him...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Its great for Stephen (Reid not Ireland , obviously! ) to get back(or try to ) into a team that is absolutely flying!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Delighted Stephen Reid is back. As regards the other fella I'd like to see the rug pulled out from under him

2,690 Posts

Popular misspellings

It's Steven Reid!

Oh, and on that point: it's Jonathon Douglas and Darron Gibson

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    It's Steven Reid!

Oh, and on that point: it's Jonathon Douglas and Darron Gibson
    Is it Stan Laurel or Stan Laural ?

82 Posts
    David Dunn went off injured yesterday... So that's potentially Dunn, Mokuena and Savage out of contention. Hopefully het gets proper fit soon.

www.thefastleague.com

Good to see Reid back...but i cant see Mark Hughes being too happy with the call-up!
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

82 Posts
    I dunno... things like that can work both ways. Hughes might be happy to see him get some first team match fitness without gambling premiership points.

He played the full 90 for Rovers reserves against city last night.

www.thefastleague.com

Page 1 of 37 12311 ... LastLast