Thread: Thugs And Scum Is All "youse" Are

Angry Thugs And Scum Is All "youse" Are

Emotions aside, football aside, yesterday was the day i realised shamrock rovers and their fans should be banned from the civilised world.

1. 40-50 vocal city fans, looking to enjoy the same banter as with other fans, no incitement on our part, unless you count chanting as a reason for violence.
    2. Second half 200-300 rovers fans spent most of the 45 mins gesturing and throwing things at us, without even watching the game.
    3. A number of large stones were thrown from in side AND outside the ground- what kind of "fan" watches his team from outside the ground................
    4. An empty glass bottle was flung in our direction, luckily it hit the roof of the toilets and broke before it killed anyone.
    5. a number of "casuals" strutted into the city section and sat waving at their counterparts in the shed before attempt ing to sing and cause trouble, then were removed by the stewards- why? No city fans made any attempt to "take " the rovers end. No city fans touched any of these "invaders", we will not react- give it up.
    6.As was already mentioned, a knife was dropped on the pitch bya rovers fan.
    7. The gardaí had to drive you lot out of the ground like a herd of demented cattle, while we were thanked for our behaviour and wished a safe journey home.

i have defended rovers in the past, saying the majority of their fans were decent people. Not any more. No decent human being would carry on paying money into a club that does nothing to combat vermin such as those yesterday. It wasn't an isolated few, it was a large group of over 200. Probably the same scum who i heard roaring "you black monkey" at rutherford last week in dalymount.

Shamrock Rovers have consistently refused to make any attempt to deal with this element in their "support". Other clubs have repeatedly made them aware of this issue, and ...........nothing. Forget the "we can't deal with it until we have our own ground." If rovers want to they can- they obviously don't care. If they won't sort it out, then the FAI will have to ban rovers from travelling, or maybe even have them play behind closed doors.

[SIZE=24]SCUM[/SIZE]

Post We dont have to put up with it.

I wouldn't over react lads ... it should be deslt with in the proper way, through the porper channels (to put an end to it) , us name calling on the internet is not going to help things by any means. And there are alot of Rovers fans out there who want the same as us ... they hate this element as much as the rest of us and will be only too happy to lend a hand in support.

With a unified effort we can rid this sort of thing from the eL.

521 Posts
    Éanna, do you not recognise the irony and hypocrisy of what you're doing here? Can you not see that you've just performed the electronic equivalent of the very accusations you make in your post? And do you not think that it's even worse when you carry that title next to your name? Isn't it very much like a Garda wading into the crowd and calling them all scumbags?

Last edited by dahamsta; 05/05/2003 at 5:49 PM.

Colm called for Rovers fans to be banned from Cork in a thread started by Eanna with a c'n'ped post. Here's my reply

Colm if what went on yesterday was reason enough to ban people from travelling to other clubs grounds then City would have been banned from Dublin years ago.

Stone throwing inside and outside the ground ?
    A hundred plus people waiting around to attack travelling fans afterwards ?
    Home fans giving 'come on' gestures to the visitors ?
    Home fans also entering the 'away' section purely to wind up the visitors ?
    Police escort outside (well only when they can be bothered) ?

Doesn't that remind anyone else of a trip to the Cross ?

Also I posted later

EANNA NO-ONE ELSE HEARD CHANTS OF YOU BLACK MONKEY AT RUTHERFORD LAST WEEK GIVE IT UP.

Remember the time you mocked a post I left on foot.ie about the Cross being the worst ground for trouble in the League ? You had to eat your words several monthss later when a Bohs fan posted saying he agreed with it. No-one was hurt stop being so hysterical and before you post again try leaving emotions aside for real.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

Originally posted by TommyT

Remember the time you mocked a post I left on foot.ie about the Cross being the worst ground for trouble in the League ? You had to eat your words several monthss later when a Bohs fan posted saying he agreed with it.

TommyT you should know me from here and the eircom league board and i regard myself as very fair but that statement is ridiculous.

I agree with Vetinari above about the way using the term scum is being used. Its just tarring everybody with the same brush which isnt on. The way language is used is important and needs to be thought about. The vast majority of people who go to football matchs in this country are decent.

I wasnt at the match BTW.

Rovers though need to deal with this problem though having said that.

Both of those statements are factually correct. The first is based on conversations with fans of the other 3 'big' Dublin clubs while the second can be proven by doing a search under my or Eanna's name.
    EL grounds are like good episodes of The Simpsons, no matter how many times you see them they're still funny

After matchs in Turners cross you have fans from both teams milling around the place and there isnt a hint of trouble.
    You have families and young kids. I dont know where youre getting this from

521 Posts
    Nightdub's response on the eLmb is pretty on target too.

Lightbulb

I can't comment for any goings on after the match although i did manage to walk away without drawing any attention. Sometimes its hard to know when the rovers fans end & Inchicore locals begin.

With regard "taking the city end" i thought it was fairly good hearted by Richmond Park standards & seemed to be just a game as no trouble was started.

Not trying to make excuses for any behaviour but does no one ever stop to think about some of the city "chats" & that home fans may be offended some some of them? Clearly that not an excuse for behaviour but may explain some of it? Ever wonder if the Longford welcome would be so nice if chanted the samer things at Flancare?

Originally posted by Vetinari
    Nightdub's response on the eLmb is pretty on target too.

Except for the stab city bit!

THE HORSESHOE SHOULD BE PRETTY INTERESTING NEXT GAME

RECKON IF SOMETHING HAPPENS,EVEN THE INNOCENT OF CITY FANS WONT CONDONE IT

THEY WILL JUST KEEP QUIET AND PRETEND NOTHING HAPPENED

EANNA NO-ONE ELSE HEARD CHANTS OF YOU BLACK MONKEY AT RUTHERFORD LAST WEEK GIVE IT UP.
    Give it up? That was the first time i said anything about it, and there were other city fans there with me, one of whom commented on it to me.

Éanna, do you not recognise the irony and hypocrisy of what you're doing here? Can you not see that you've just performed the electronic equivalent of the very accusations you make in your post? And do you not think that it's even worse when you carry that title next to your name? Isn't it very much like a Garda wading into the crowd and calling them all scumbags?

Adam, I was very slow to post what I did. I gave it a lot of thought, but as i made clear in the post I've had it with rovers. they've been given enough chances. I don't want to see any more violence any retribution or anything, I want Rovers to put an immediate stop to this or face the consequences. The sooner they are punished the sooner this problem will go away. and as I said, those who are not involved are doing nothing to stop it and therefore just as guilty.

Originally posted by pete
    Ever wonder if the Longford welcome would be so nice if chanted the samer things at Flancare?
    There were some pretty offensive chants swapped in longford, but they actually know how to take a joke there. The same songs are sung against rovers as against other dublin teams, and there is not the same reaction.............. conclusion is fairly obvious.

Post Two wrongs !!

We dont want it going that way either.

I am actually proud that there is little to no trouble at the cross. 2-3 incidences a year max. and i would like to keep it that way.

If it doesn't ..... and something makes the papers then 3,000 fans will go on the missing list.

And lads ...... that is for sure.

The best way around this is to not get involved .... we are having a great buzz so far this year. I say carry on the way we are.

Remember the time you mocked a post I left on foot.ie about the Cross being the worst ground for trouble in the League ? You had to eat your words several monthss later when a Bohs fan posted saying he agreed with it. No-one was hurt stop being so hysterical and before you post again try leaving emotions aside for real.
    I don't remember mocking it, I remeber not believing it, and then being proven wrong, and then admitting that- pity rovers won't hold their hands up like i did. that no-one was hurt was a miracle, and instead of lmaking light of it- do something about it.

As for using the word scum, I meant it. As i said, no decent human being would pay money in to a club that allows this to happen without trying to stop it. Rovers have made clear by their inaction that they tolerate and accept this kind of behaviour, and rovers fans obviously do too. They never accept they have a problem, and never attempt to deal with it- in my book scum is a pretty good description of that kind of people.
    As for what face said about the proper channels, I fully agree- the FAI should be informed about this and the complaint taken further.

Originally posted by thecorner
    THE HORSESHOE SHOULD BE PRETTY INTERESTING NEXT GAME

RECKON IF SOMETHING HAPPENS,EVEN THE INNOCENT OF CITY FANS WONT CONDONE IT
    I reckon comments like that are geared to cause trouble and shouldn't be made. Leave the threats and insinuations to the scumbags, thats not the way to do it. This has to be done properly through the league, the FAI and the gradaí if necessary.

Replies say it all.

The replies on this and other boards say everything about Rovers. Instead of acknowleding the problem, all there is to be seen are counter-claims and downright denials of things I saw with my own two eyes. I'm still willing to be proved wrong on the "cut-throat" gestures, I said I didn't see them I didn't say they didn't happen.

Face up to your problems and maybe then someone will respect you. By denying the problem, ALL of you are exacerbating it.

521 Posts
    Originally posted by Éanna
    Adam, I was very slow to post what I did.
    Which makes it all the worse. You had time to think about it, but failed to recognise the hypocrisy of digitally replicating the minority "scumbag" element by coming in here and shouting and roaring and stereotyping every Rovers fan, by assigning blame across the board even though it's not the fan's responsibility to sort out the problems you mention. They have as much a right as you to go to a game of football, and you have absolutely no right to lecture them on their decision to go to games /in spite/ of the problems.

Your little temper tantrums can be very tiresome Éanna, and they lead to things that /really/ annoy me, like your starting a new thread on this topic. You should know better than to get on my wick with this childishness. I'm moving this thread to Off Topic, where it belongs. By rights it should be in the bin, but I'm not in the mood for the predictable melodramatic cries of censorship at the moment.

Last edited by dahamsta; 07/05/2003 at 7:43 AM.

I'm not in the mood for the predictable melodramatic cries of censorship at the moment.

I'll be quiet