Thread: first division title promotion chase

first division title promotion chase

lads this has to the most exciting league yet, the amounts of twists and turns is crazy. quality is good. good news for irish football if the second tier quality is this good
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Disagree that the quality is good. Reckon that whoever goes up will struggle to stay up apart from perhaps Dundalk who can attract Dublin based players looking for a club.
    Business as usual

should have been at rams and dundalk today good exciting football
    We control by attitudes positive mental attitudes not by rules.

Rams had a good season in 92/93 when they leapfrogged ourselves on the last day of that season (along with Monaghan United who made the play off) to gain promotion. The Mons won their play-off which was the first one ever I believe Waterford United came down but this is from memory. If they were to win the Division it would be their first League title since joining the LOI in 1985.

Quote Originally Posted by CollegeTillIDie View Post
    Rams had a good season in 92/93 when they leapfrogged ourselves on the last day of that season (along with Monaghan United who made the play off) to gain promotion. The Mons won their play-off which was the first one ever I believe Waterford United came down but this is from memory. If they were to win the Division it would be their first League title since joining the LOI in 1985.
    correction first piece of silverwear,
    what agame dundalk were fallin all over the place the second goal was some volley, im actually a bit disapointed that we may have to play in a play-off, its not in our plan, but if we loose a play-off it would be a disgrace, play-offs are stupid, i always said it, if you finnish second bottom you deserve to come down, and if you finnish third you also deserve to stay down,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Imagine if you won your play-off, then lost out on promotion to the Premier to a team which finished in third place ... then, another club is relegated to the First Division (because of financial irregularities, for instance) and you lose out on promotion again to the team that you beat in the play-off, now that would be a disgrace. Would never happen in the LOI, though.

Last years race was just as exciting,if not more.

In the end Rovers won it by 2 points on Dundak and 3 points on UTD.

There'll be one more twist though....there was a few last year.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post

There'll be one more twist though....there was a few last year.
    We're not supposed to talk about that around here anymore Conor

84 Posts
    No more twists thank you very much, if it stays as it is now I'll be well chuffed
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

71 Posts
    The 2004 title race between Harps, UCD and Bray was a good one too. There was also Kildare pushing Bray for the last promotion spot. In the end Kildare just about beat Bray in the race to throw the promotion spot away and Harps went the full pace to keep just ahead of UCD with both sides breaking the division's points tally.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post
    Last years race was just as exciting,if not more.

In the end Rovers won it by 2 points
    Same as 2005

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Poor Student View Post
    The 2004 title race between Harps, UCD and Bray was a good one too. There was also Kildare pushing Bray for the last promotion spot. In the end Kildare just about beat Bray in the race to throw the promotion spot away and Harps went the full pace to keep just ahead of UCD with both sides breaking the division's points tally.
    Yeah I just watched the season review on dvd there, there was actually 4 current prem teams in there that season: UCD, Bray, Galway and Sligo. It was nerve wracking, we nearly bucked it up away in Monaghan with a nil all draw. We went into the last game against Dundalk a point ahead, UCD won their game and we eventually beat Dundalk.
    Tbh i'll take the same this season, just wanna win this feckin league.

The standard of the top 3/4 clubs has been good but the rest have been p!ss poor. most teams we played this season have got every man behind the ball and defended to the last. The best way to win the division is to play bucket football, we have got it down and played but in all honesty thats better off used in the prem.

238 Posts
    title odds:
    Finn Harps 4 - 9
    Cobh Ramblers 13 - 8
    Dundalk 66 - 1

whats the title run-in for harps and cobh?

238 Posts
    we have:

Kildare (h)
    Athlone (h)
    Kilkenny (a) party time hopefully. We are flooding Kilkenny that day, bus loads and car loads all planned.

Cobh have:

Shels (a)
    Monaghan (h)
    Athlone (a)

should be 9 points each, but you never know either.

Sin é.

Harps won't drop anymore points, so we'll be back down in Cobh to see another chapter in the 2007 book of how to not show up at away games. Lets just hope we don't bring another bunch of scumbag wasters with is. Embarrassing day on and off the pitch
    Thursdays are Oriel

102 caps - legend

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    we have:

Kildare (h)
    Athlone (h)
    Kilkenny (a) party time hopefully. We are flooding Kilkenny that day, bus loads and car loads all planned.

Cobh have:

Shels (a)
    Monaghan (h)
    Athlone (a)

should be 9 points each, but you never know either.
    Shels is in no way a easy 3 points my friend, dreadin it.

Quote Originally Posted by onephillyhughes View Post
    Lets just hope we don't bring another bunch of scumbag wasters with is. Embarrassing day on and off the pitch
    Hear hear, the true dundalk fans showed last week, every club has *******s who try to bring the name of the club down.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post
    Shels is in no way a easy 3 points my friend, dreadin it. .
    Dude don't worry, Shels will not get points in that game. They seem to have given up on their season, It will be an interesting final day imo. We have at least 100 people heading to Kilkenny, lets hope its a celebratory p!ss up

Quote Originally Posted by bellavistaman View Post

Hear hear, the true dundalk fans showed last week, every club has *******s who try to bring the name of the club down.
    I stood in the club bar afterwards and just looked outside in horror at them, just felt so ashamed.

Really ruined what was a great number of fans to bring all the way down to Cobh. I felt so let down by those wasters and our players. Listening to Gill saying we'll just come down here and win, talk is cheap Giller, your team doesn't look fit, looks disjointed, I'm losing faith.
    Thursdays are Oriel

102 caps - legend

Quote Originally Posted by don ramo View Post
    correction first piece of silverwear,
    what agame dundalk were fallin all over the place the second goal was some volley, im actually a bit disapointed that we may have to play in a play-off, its not in our plan, but if we loose a play-off it would be a disgrace, play-offs are stupid, i always said it, if you finnish second bottom you deserve to come down, and if you finnish third you also deserve to stay down,
    Did ye not win the First Division Shield at one point?