Thread: Blah blah of the year

Blah blah of the year

I suppose it's nearly voting time in regards to the highs and lows of this year, any chance we can get nominations and poll in relation to Player of the Year and Clubman of the Year, maybe one for High of the Year and Low of the Year too, although you can't exactly give awards to points in time

Player of the Year: I don't know to be honest, Conor Molan gets my vote actually for being consistently solid when I've seen him

Clubman of the Year: Joe Sweeney gets my vote for putting up with a lot of nonsense as SC President this year, and for not just getting the SC back up and running, but for making it one of the good ones in this league. Job well done from him in my eyes

High of the Year: Beating Shels at home in injury time, coupled with some young fella setting off a flare and one of the stewards ridiculously trying to stamp it out and nearly killing himself in the process

Low of the Year: Realising ski was just another spoofer a few weeks in

Isn't that a bit morbid for a team in fourth???
    D

PLAYER Paddy Purcill.

CLUBMAN Joe of the Sweeneys.

HIGH Shels 3-2.

LOW Cobh's last min winner.

PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Its got to be Paddy Purcell.

CLUBMAN Joe Sweeney. For the reasons above.

HIGH Shels 3-2. And the infamous flare (Hes older than you think joesoap ) Another high would be the positive support we have had away from home all season. Great crowd and atmosphere both in Athlone, Cobh and Longford especially

LOW: Losing to Killkenny 2-1 and away in Kilkenny and Cobh's winner down in Cobh. That was the turning point in our season in my opinion
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

PLAYER: Kevin Waters

CLUBPERSON: Anne. (Sorry Joe but she gets up at half six on a Saturday morning!!!!)

HIGHS:

Shels at home
    Cobh away second time out (Jesus lads the result was inevitable)
    Douglas Hall Replay was fun
    Dundalk at home
    That stupid inbred Queenstown goon attacking Leo the Lion
    One of our stewards putting a Dundalk fan in his place

LOWS:

Harps away (first time)
    Losing twice (yes, twice) to Kilkenny City
    Failing to beat Wexford three times
    Shels away (second time)
    Losing at home to Monaghan and deserving it
    Ski
    Discovering the running of this club is every bit as shabby as previous set ups and indeed far shabbier than some

25 Posts
    PLAYER: Kevin Waters, on his day one of the best in the division

CLUBPERSON: Kieran Judge, does his job quietly behind the scenes and more importantly, does it on time and without bullsh*t

HIGHS:

Leo, provided a lot of distraction from poor performances on the field (and p*ssed off enough visiting fans from the big smoke to make him a legend!)

The amount of young people interested in the club - they may have a more innocent view of things going on, but hey, you don't see them bitching online on a daily basis...or do you....?

The u21s. Great football, and Billy Barrett deserves all the praise he gets. The fact that so many of them are either in the 1st team squad or are u21 again next year can only be a good thing

LOWS:

Dwindling crowds - for whatever reason - hopefully there was enough of a feel good factor around the club earlier in the season to see them through any more of the money problems so often reported here.

The backfiring of some high profile signings
    Ha?

Player of the year: Conor Molan

Club person of the year: Anne Mullan

High: Having a club/Any away trip

Lows: seeing "that team" 8 times (7 senior 1 u21) playing the "beautiful game" with one keeper, 9 cental defenders, and their MVP being a hacker!

Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    CLUBPERSON: Kieran Judge, does his job quietly behind the scenes and more importantly, does it on time and without bullsh*t
    Well said

PLAYER: Kevin Waters, our only decent footballer

SC CLUBPERSON: Joe Sweeney or Anne Mullan. I'd give it to Joe, just for the amount of s**t he has to put up with alone. I certainly wouldn't have the patience for it.

CLUBPERSON: Kieron Judge. If the CEO position is up for grabs, as advertised, this man should be a shoo-in for the job. He knows his stuff, get's things done and has great contacts.

HIGHS:
    Shels at home and all that went with it
    The emergence of some of our younger players

LOWS:
    Cobh away
    Transfer window signings ALL flopping
    Youngfellas banging those bloody drums in the shed. It's fine when there's somebody playing them who knows how to play them, but for the love of christ can ye please keep the drums away from the youngfellas who haven't got a clue? It's just noise, ruins your enjoyment of the game, and the shed will be empty if it's allowed to continue.

Player: Pat Purcell
    Clubperson:Ger Finnin(for sticking it out)
    Highs:Shels at home an exciting win,good football by opposition and same from L37 for once,with a grandstand finish
    Lows:Immediate departure of Davey Wall and Joey Maloney ,arrival of failures and subsequent confirmation that Ski hadnt a clue what he was doing.
    "Bath Avenue or Shelbourne" 1895

Player: I woulda have gone for Jimmy Fyffe if it wasn't the string of injuries that kept him out for so long. Other than that to be blunt Kevin Waters is the only one that's really stood out on a constant basis and even he has tailed off a little bit of late. Conor Molan deserves a mention too.

Clubperson: Kieran Judge. The man does all the little things that keep the show on the road quietly, efficiently and effectively.

Highlight: The first game of the season against Cobh in Turner's Cross was my highlight by a country mile. All downhill from there. A few other good parts include the Douglas Hall replay, finally giving Dundalk a hammering and the last Wexford game. Our U-21 side.

Lowlight: Most of the other Wexford games, McGee's constant hysterics on the sideline, the mistreatmeant of Joey Maloney, Dave Wall, Robbie Kelleher, Wayne Colbert et al. The ever so paranoid nature of things at times.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    the mistreatmeant of Joey Maloney, Dave Wall, Robbie Kelleher, Wayne Colbert et al. The ever so paranoid nature of things at times.
    SSSSSSSHHHHHHHH!!!!!!