Thread: FAI Intermediate Cup 2008

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    Rockmount 2-0 Belgrove
    Heard the interviews on the Big Red Bench last night, heard there was a touch of offside about the first and that it got a tad nasty near the end.
    It was when the reporter asked Billy if despite the clubs success that when teams play them are they surprised by the long ball tactics as opposed to playing it on the deck?
    Might be the last interview that lad gets

St Marys 1-1 Wayside Celtic
    Wayside got a penalty in the dying minutes, heartbreak for Marys.
    Still they live to fight another day.
    Last edited by razor; 03/03/2008 at 8:36 AM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Good weekend for the Cork sides. Pity about Marys, would've been a scalp. Was anyone at the game? I was impressed with Wayside when I saw them earlier this season so would be interesting to see how they faired. You have to fancy Wayside to win the replay though. Do Marys still have the bulk of the team that played in the premier division a few years ago? Mylod, Tomas etc?

What about the Avondale game? Who were the two suspended Hall players Razor? Who deserved it on the day?

Still a great chance of an all Cork final.

P.S. I am still amazed by the fact that Drogheda Town are still in the competition. They are a poor side and will probably get relegated from the LSL first division.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by champagne View Post
    Good weekend for the Cork sides. Pity about Marys, would've been a scalp. Was anyone at the game? I was impressed with Wayside when I saw them earlier this season so would be interesting to see how they faired. You have to fancy Wayside to win the replay though. Do Marys still have the bulk of the team that played in the premier division a few years ago? Mylod, Tomas etc?

What about the Avondale game? Who were the two suspended Hall players Razor? Who deserved it on the day?

Still a great chance of an all Cork final.

P.S. I am still amazed by the fact that Drogheda Town are still in the competition. They are a poor side and will probably get relegated from the LSL first division.
    I do believe Marys still have a few players but a lot of youngsters too, Deccie Daly was out training with them last week but as their manager Malcolm Stokes said on the radio they are still a First Division side.

Didn't make any games over the weekend but my sources tell me that Hall were lucky.

Bangor Celtic 0-0 Drogheda Town was the final result from the weekend.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    Heard the interviews on the Big Red Bench last night, heard there was a touch of offside about the first and that it got a tad nasty near the end.
    It was when the reporter asked Billy if despite the clubs success that when teams play them are they surprised by the long ball tactics as opposed to playing it on the deck?
    Might be the last interview that lad gets

St Marys 1-1 Wayside Celtic
    Wayside got a penalty in the dying minutes, heartbreak for Marys.
    Still they live to fight another day.

Alan Weldon was coming out and didn't go near the ball, that's not offside anymore - Deasy broke onto ball well onside. Rules changed a few years ago, they may not have reached Dale yet as Caulfield has his own set of rules...

The Dubs got frustrated with only being able to create one shot on goal and became increasingly dirty, one was sent off another should have gone for a straight red also.

Rockmount can play whatever game is necessary to beat the opposition no matter how limited they are. If teams want to slug it out they can try it or if they want to come and play ball they can. I find we never shirk either way of playing and if needs must we will adjust to any type of tactics. If sore losers or bad journos want to dress it up that we weren't as fluent as Arsenal or Barca then thats up to them. The day I see a team come to Rockmount Park to play ball is the day I see us tear a team apart for fun.

See you Sunday eh?
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

144 Posts
    Rockmount can play whatever game is necessary to beat the opposition no matter how limited they are. If teams want to slug it out they can try it or if they want to come and play ball they can. I find we never shirk either way of playing and if needs must we will adjust to any type of tactics. If sore losers or bad journos want to dress it up that we weren't as fluent as Arsenal or Barca then thats up to them. The day I see a team come to Rockmount Park to play ball is the day I see us tear a team apart for fun.

See you Sunday eh?
    Very defensive, you I mean.
    It wasn't meant as an attack Cliffy, just sayin what I heard.
    In fairness Billy reacted well to the question, saying that with a player of Ross height it'd be a shame not to use it.
    I haven't seen Rockmount recently so I can't say myself but from reports I hear that Willie has been the outstanding player for Mount, pity he didn't do the business at City.
    Lovely lad too.

Any truth in the rumours that some of the Behind the Goal Brigade (Mount OAPs) were after a fee for Alan O'Connor?

Don't get to many games anymore but have good contacts
    Last edited by razor; 03/03/2008 at 12:23 PM.

43 Posts
    Very defensive, you I mean.
    It wasn't meant as an attack Cliffy, just sayin what I heard.
    In fairness Billy reacted well to the question, saying that with a player of Ross height it'd be a shame not to use it.
    I haven't seen Rockmount recently so I can't say myself but from reports I hear that Willie has been the outstanding player for Mount, pity he didn't do the business at City.
    Lovely lad too.

Any truth in the rumours that some of the Behind the Goal Brigade (Mount OAPs) were after a fee for Alan O'Connor?

Don't get to many games anymore but have good contacts
    Naw didn't take it as an attack, just pointing out that we won't be a pushover if teams want it that way. If ever a team come to play ball that will suit Mount fine. Doesn't happen as they are so afraid of getting spanked so Mount have to utilise whatever tactics it takes to break down 11 men and a ref behind the ball....

Billy always is composed and relaxed, not surprised he batted it away for a four.

We should be entitled to a fee surely for O Connor? Giving him a platform to be spotted, is it true City would give him away for nothing a la Doyle and Long if he goes on to become a hot property?
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

144 Posts
    Naw didn't take it as an attack, just pointing out that we won't be a pushover if teams want it that way. If ever a team come to play ball that will suit Mount fine. Doesn't happen as they are so afraid of getting spanked so Mount have to utilise whatever tactics it takes to break down 11 men and a ref behind the ball....
    Like the last time Dale lost an Intermediate Cup game out there, twas definitely 11 men and a ref against them, he even went for a drink with ye after.

Billy always is composed and relaxed, not surprised he batted it away for a four.
    He just doesn't come across as the cricketing type. But you never know..

is it true City would give him away for nothing a la Doyle and Long if he goes on to become a hot property?
    Of course.

43 Posts
    Like the last time Dale lost an Intermediate Cup game out there, twas definitely 11 men and a ref against them, he even went for a drink with ye after.

He just doesn't come across as the cricketing type. But you never know..

Of course.

Aw jaysus, your not still on about that one are ya? Ha ha, handball is handball is handball in any man's language. In the box it's a spotter. Nothing the ref can do about it, yet again another occasion where our keeper was in danger of getting frostbite on his fingers from lack of action, but of course it was the ref's fault...

If he or any other ref wants to socialise with such luminaries as the Mount club then it's better to do it with the upper echelons rather than slum it with other half arsed clubs....

With regard to earlier, Willie Byrne is indeed playing very well as usual - in a back 5 that are playing well, behind a midfield who are playing very well, with an attack that are playing very well.

144 Posts
    Aw jaysus, your not still on about that one are ya?
    Just pointing out that its not always 11 men and a ref that the mighty Mount have to overcome, sometimes its made a tad easier

If he or any other ref wants to socialise with such luminaries as the Mount club then it's better to do it with the upper echelons rather than slum it with other half arsed clubs....
    In Tipples??
    Last edited by razor; 03/03/2008 at 3:39 PM.

43 Posts
    Just pointing out that its not always 11 men and a ref that the mighty Mount have to overcome, sometimes its made a tad easier
    Once in every 4 years then, yippeeeee.

144 Posts
    Once in every 4 years then, yippeeeee.
    We'll see, Semi Final Draw will take place on March 19th and i'm hearing will be live on the FAI website

144 Posts
    Todays replay
    Wayside Celtic 1-0 St Marys

Avondale meet MSL leaders Douglas Hall in the morning
    Last edited by razor; 16/03/2008 at 8:01 PM.

43 Posts
    By all accounts Dale have gone out of the cup to Douglas Hall today on spotters. Fair play to both teams on what sounds like an epic battle. No one left in the draw would fancy either of these and Hall must now be odds on favourites to win it as they have beaten the holders and are league leaders as Razor highlighted above.

Bit of karma involved in the pen miss that lost it for Dale, but hey ho there you go...

60 Posts
    Bangor were beating Drogheda Town 1-0 when the ref abandoned the game. Drogheda ran out of players having had 3 sent off and then another walked off injured. Reckon Bangor will be awarded the game, as both a Drogheda player and their physio “laid hands” on the official in question.
    Always look on the bright side of life

144 Posts
    Bit of karma involved in the pen miss that lost it for Dale, but hey ho there you go...
    Avondale Utd 1-1 Douglas Hall
    Wasn't in attendance so only going by what I heard, very even game, 1-1 after Full time, David Welch missed a penalty for Dale with 10 minutes of normal time left.
    Douglas Hall won 4-2 on penalties, Damo and Danny Kelly missed for Dale.
    Not quite the one that lost it Cliffy but almost
    O'Connell did get a strong hand on one Hall penalty but then did nothing as the ball tricked over the line, Caulfields own fault for getting rid of a top keeper.
    Last edited by razor; 18/03/2008 at 12:12 PM.

43 Posts
    Avondale Utd 1-1 Douglas Hall
    Wasn't in attendance so only going by what I heard, very even game, 1-1 after Full time, David Welch missed a penalty for Dale with 10 minutes of normal time left.
    Douglas Hall won 4-2 on penalties, Damo and Danny Kelly missed for Dale.
    Not quite the one that lost in Cliffy but almost
    O'Connell did get a strong hand on one Hall penalty but then did nothing as the ball tricked over the line, Caulfields own fault for getting rid of a top keeper.
    Ah well, still "Korma" whichever one he missed!!! Shame to see Dale without Dave the save all right, always a good one at spotters as well as everything else. Said at the time it was a strange decision to move on such an experienced lad. Is he still with Rams I wonder?

Any report on Marys trip to the Dublin mountains?

Ah well, still "Korma" whichever one he missed!!! Shame to see Dale without Dave the save all right, always a good one at spotters as well as everything else. Said at the time it was a strange decision to move on such an experienced lad. Is he still with Rams I wonder?
    not with the rams he is after hanging up the old gloves from what i've heard,
    Bake em away Toys

144 Posts
    Semi Final Draw live at 6pm today on fai.ie
    more details here

Who do you fancy to win it Razor?

Bangor
    Douglas Hall
    Rockmount
    Wayside

Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast