Page 22 of 46 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast

Thread: Paul McShane

ye know the saying "in the right place the right time", well Mcshane epitomises the exact opposite of this, he just seems to be in exactly the wrong place at the wrong time. I thought he was unfortunate for the goal though.

Fabregas was running free of his marker into the centre of the open goal and McShane got across to cover. Fab would have had a tap in, but McShane got in the way, did as light a touch as possible away from Fab and tried to turn and clear the ball, but it had just bobbled over the line.

Definately not a bad own goal, he very nearly saved a certain goal. If you start giving out about defenders when they do that then they won't try to get back ever. He did well.

Might he fill our right back slot in our upcomming games? Finnan is a major doubt and Kelly is definately out.

3,502 Posts
    Hull had only won 1 game until McShane arrived, and they haven't lost since he started playing with them.

Quote Originally Posted by Wheels View Post
    Fabregas was running free of his marker into the centre of the open goal and McShane got across to cover. Fab would have had a tap in, but McShane got in the way, did as light a touch as possible away from Fab and tried to turn and clear the ball, but it had just bobbled over the line.

Definately not a bad own goal, he very nearly saved a certain goal. If you start giving out about defenders when they do that then they won't try to get back ever. He did well.

Might he fill our right back slot in our upcomming games? Finnan is a major doubt and Kelly is definately out.
    Id say with the way Italian teams would normally just move a centre back to left back/right back or vice versa over the years then Id say that Trap would have no problem playing him as a right-back.
    I do hear good things about Foley though, however I have never seen him play to be honest.
    Newtown Celtic FC RIP (1992-2007)

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    ye know the saying "in the right place the right time", well Mcshane epitomises the exact opposite of this, he just seems to be in exactly the wrong place at the wrong time. I thought he was unfortunate for the goal though.
    Probably more a case of always being at the centre of the action.

He's not a right back in a million years but that was the best I've seen him in that position. His distribution was good too.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Will he play at right back for the Cyprus game with Kelly and Finnan both out?
    Its really not that complicated!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    Will he play at right back for the Cyprus game with Kelly and Finnan both out?

More than likely but it will be heart in mouth stuff for me anyway.

1,928 Posts
    Probably, seeing that Trap brought him on as a sub for Finnan in the Georgia game.
    Just in time to be on the scene of the crime.
    Could be ominous

I'd rather McShane beside Dunne and O'Shea at right back if McShane was going to be playing. Preferably we shouldn't break up the central partnership though so I'd go with Foley at right back.

Everyone to their own I suppose, but it's amazing how there is such a difference of opinion on how good/reliable McShane is as a player.He is either assessed as being excellent or utter crap but no in betweens.

There is no way O' Shea should be moved from the centre and yes Foley should play on the right.

1,928 Posts
    No way should O'Shea be moved.
    O'Shea at Centre Half, after Trap gives him his testosterone injection
    This is a new Ireland
    O'Shea with bite and the next step is McShane to inspire confidence.

McShane will become a good player with time, he is still young and I think he is learning from his mistakes. To be honest given his nightmare at Sunderland last season it is reassuruing to see a good manager like Phil Brown bring him in to a Premiership side. He'll be OK.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    but it's amazing how there is such a difference of opinion on how good/reliable McShane is as a player.He is either assessed as being excellent or utter crap but no in betweens.
    That's because every time he plays he's either really good or really, really bad.

2,796 Posts
    No way would I break up O'Shea & Dunne either. I'd go for McShane at RB but with a degree of trepidation. It's no time to throw Foley in at the deep end regardless of how good a prospect he may be.

We should keep a settled team where possible. McShane in for Finnan is one change, moving O'Shea would require two changes and would disrupt what has been one of the foundations of a half decent run - an experienced CN partnership.

85 Posts
    I wouldn't let McShane near the right back position, for his own sake as much as ours...
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

2,796 Posts
    With Finnan & Kelly injured, who would you go for? Foley?

386 Posts
    Obviously McShane is going to start at RB in the absence of Finnan and Kelly.

85 Posts
    Either Foley or O'Shea...

I understand your reluctance to break up the O'Shea Dunne partner ship, or the need to avoid throwing Foley in at the deep end, but for me both are better options than McShane at right full. I'm a McShane fan. But only at centre half, and he still has alot to do to win back over elements of our support in his best position, never mind at right full. It's as much for his own sake as ours that I feel this..

At a push I'd pick the foley option. Another position on the pitch and I'd generally opt away from a novice, but if your gonna throw someone in at the deep end I think a specialist right full playing at right full is probbly one were it can be carried off.

I've seen him play a few times and he looks alright.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Joey O Brien is another option at right back...
    Its really not that complicated!!!

I would go with Joey O Brien at right back. He has played there plenty of times for Bolton and always looked good. A good athelete and good pace and height. At right back what you need is steady at this stage and I think Joey O Brien is the best person to cover for Finnan in my view.
    In Trap we trust

Page 22 of 46 FirstFirst ... 12202122232432 ... LastLast