Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Were Irish fans right to "boo" last night?

I for one can state categorically that I'm not being led by a tabloid agenda in wanting Stan to go. Having watched Ireland for over 20 years at this stage, the one thing we could always count on was a solid formation and a decent team spirit/work ethic. This campaign has staggered from bad to worse in that regard. The positive spin after the German game was rubbish as it was evident to anyone with a knowledge of the game that they came here with no intention of winning the game.

Had my doubts initially about Stan, along with most of us, and these have been proved correct over the course of this campaign. Now are we meant to stand back and watch while he ruins another campaign? I booed at the end of the game and while I didn't feel good doing it, I did feel it was necessary.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Quote Originally Posted by Docboy View Post
    I for one can state categorically that I'm not being led by a tabloid agenda in wanting Stan to go. Having watched Ireland for over 20 years at this stage, the one thing we could always count on was a solid formation and a decent team spirit/work ethic. This campaign has staggered from bad to worse in that regard. The positive spin after the German game was rubbish as it was evident to anyone with a knowledge of the game that they came here with no intention of winning the game.

Had my doubts initially about Stan, along with most of us, and these have been proved correct over the course of this campaign. Now are we meant to stand back and watch while he ruins another campaign? I booed at the end of the game and while I didn't feel good doing it, I did feel it was necessary.
    Losing sight of the initial point.Its not the disgust at performances and results, which everyone is feeling, my point regards the nature of the abuse towards a great servant of irish sport for nearly 20 years, not merely just considering the previous 18 months. It has become acceptable only in the last few years, in this country, and is driven by the tabloid's expansion of attacks beyond the profession to issues as low as family matters and personal integrity. I for one dont accept it and wont use the Sun as bogroll since the disgraceful 'Muppet' front page.
    Case in point, the signature of the above poster, clearly swept away in the hysteria of the public lynching. Unintentionally, not being good at your job does not warrant being called a fu ckwit.
    Last edited by Beavis; 19/10/2007 at 4:34 PM.
    <insert witty remark>

The answer is yes, otherwise the Muppets in the FAI would not even consider getting rid of Stan.

I've never walked out on a game, despite some awful performances, but I was tempted last night after Cyprus scored. I booed after the game, probably for the first time in my life. Abysmal performance and I felt the fans had to indicate their frustration with the way things have gone.

We're customers and if we don't get satisfaction we're entitled to complain.
    "Look at them. They're all out of step except my son Johnny"
    Mrs. Delaney

Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    my point regards the nature of the abuse towards a great servant of irish sport for nearly 20 years, not merely just considering the previous 18 months. It has become acceptable only in the last few years, in this country, and is driven by the tabloid's expansion of attacks beyond the profession to issues as low as family matters and personal integrity. I for one dont accept it and wont use the Sun as bogroll since the disgraceful 'Muppet' front page.
    Case in point, the signature of the above poster, clearly swept away in the hysteria of the public lynching. Unintentionally, not being good at your job does not warrant being called a fu ckwit.
    Beavis i do agree with you as regards the personnel abuse towards Staunton

The Sun always is/was a disgrace of a newspaper - why Irish people buy it is one of lifes great mysteries.

I have and many others have been at every game in this qualification series. We have taken time off work, spent a fortune, been loyal and kept our part of the bargain.

what we have beengiven in return is beyond contempt and booing is the only way we can register our dissatisfaction, because unlike Delaney, the media doesnt want my opinion.

If he is still CEO in Cardiff I propose a massive protest. Unlike a home game, you dont get the bandwagoners and he cannot spin the protest if the hardcore are against him
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by upkerry View Post
    No matter how frustrating it gets a true Irish fan should never boo the team. What we should organise is some kind of Rally outside Merrion square.
    get off the high horse....................if you cant boo and show your dissapointment then what.......clap?

i agree, its every fans right to boo. fans boo ex-rangers players every time they play against Ireland because they play or played for a Scottish side..yet we can not boo when our national team is being made a laughing stock in front of the world, and the players don't want to play for a Muppet like [LEFT][COLOR=red][FONT=serif]staunton[/FONT][/COLOR][/LEFT] despite Robbie Keane being rolled out on the late late show in a show of support for Stan

Stan even conceded the fans were right to boo the first half performance in his post match interview. '' It wasn't good enough and the second half was a little better but still not good enough ''.

Quote Originally Posted by Saint Tom View Post
    I have and many others have been at every game in this qualification series. We have taken time off work, spent a fortune, been loyal and kept our part of the bargain.

what we have beengiven in return is beyond contempt and booing is the only way we can register our dissatisfaction, because unlike Delaney, the media doesnt want my opinion.

If he is still CEO in Cardiff I propose a massive protest. Unlike a home game, you dont get the bandwagoners and he cannot spin the protest if the hardcore are against him
    bingo. a big protest at that game would surely attract media coverage here. like ten black t shirts with the letters D-E-L-A-N-E-Y - O-U-T. Though of course you need good seats (although of course the stadium will be nearly empty) and everyones agreement to do it. Plus media might miss it. still, cardiff is the place for a protest. I'll join a protest.
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

114 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Beavis View Post
    Another thing that annoys me is the level of abuse that people hurl at Stan forgetting how much he gave to Ireland over the years,winning over 100 caps, and like anyone,understandably said yes to an opportunity to manage his country, but now a 'fu cken arsehole'. Dislike his managing techniques, style, job performance etc, but theres no need to attack him as a person. Hes just a man who wasnt that good at his job,not a criminal.
    The problem is that Stan has put his own position ahead of the team (& country). If he had any dignity he would have walked after the last Cyprus game. I regret that his commitment to Ireland as a player will be overshadowed by his commitment to himself at Ireland's expense.

Unless he is the stupidest man on earth , he must have know he was not up to the job. Even most of the eejits on this site saw it a year ago.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post

I was actually annoyed with the Irish fans for cheering when Finnan equalised.
    Ditto. And i was at the game.

I didn't even clap let alone stand up.

Agree with the sentiments about Stan. A great servant of his country and wore the green shirt with pride. I feel some of the personal criticism he is getting is unfair. I think he was offered a dream job which he should never have been given. He was always going to take it. His legacy has already been tarnished I'm afraid. It's time for him to be removed from that job now and MORE importantly for Irish football John Delaney must walk.

i think the people who didnt turn up made a bigger statement than the boo boys , they are the people who will make the FAI sack stan due to the prospect of an empty ground for the forthcoming friendlies.
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

The reason why there was booing on Wednesday was simple, it was to get the point across to the FAI. They are renowned for their absolute contempt for Irish fans by spinning situations to their own advantage. Delaney saying that the fans stayed back to cheer Stan after the San Marino for example.

I was there on Wednesday and felt that the only way the FAI would listen and take notice was to boo at the end. I wasn't booing the players, I was booing the ineptness of Stan while he has been in charge and Delaney for choosing him. And as the tickets had been paid for already staying at home wasn't an option, and I'm sure the FAI would have put the spin of us being out of the running and it being a Wednesday as an excuse for fans not turning up.
    Also, not buying tickets for future games is not an option as I would lose my place on the blockbooking scheme.

So therefore booing was the only option and by the looks of it it has worked.

Agree with the sentiments about Stan. A great servant of his country and wore the green shirt with pride. I feel some of the personal criticism he is getting is unfair. I think he was offered a dream job which he should never have been given. He was always going to take it. His legacy has already been tarnished I'm afraid. It's time for him to be removed from that job now and MORE importantly for Irish football John Delaney must walk.
    Fair play to you Tom, I seen/heard you trying to get a chant going at the Hill end of the lower Hogan callng for Delaney's removal (I pretty sure it was you). I was a bit farther up the stand and tried to get people chanting around me but to no avail. That section of the ground is like a funeral parlour and I will be trying to get tickets for a different section come the next campaign.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

Quote Originally Posted by Paddy Garcia View Post
    The problem is that Stan has put his own position ahead of the team (& country). If he had any dignity he would have walked after the last Cyprus game. I regret that his commitment to Ireland as a player will be overshadowed by his commitment to himself at Ireland's expense.

Unless he is the stupidest man on earth , he must have know he was not up to the job. Even most of the eejits on this site saw it a year ago.
    Nah that doesnt wash at all.If you think reasonably about it I'm sure you dont believe that you,in a similar position would resign after 2 competitive games in charge. Everyone naturally thinks they can do better. If every manager had that outlook, managers would change as often as the wind.

How about Greece boss Otto Rehaggel, what if he'd resigned after his opening 2 defeats of the Euro qualifiers for Portugal 2004? I'm sure everyone thought he was an eejit at that time.
    <insert witty remark>

Quote Originally Posted by Schlooooomp View Post
    Fair play to you Tom, I seen/heard you trying to get a chant going at the Hill end of the lower Hogan callng for Delaney's removal (I pretty sure it was you). I was a bit farther up the stand and tried to get people chanting around me but to no avail. That section of the ground is like a funeral parlour and I will be trying to get tickets for a different section come the next campaign.

Yeah was there for the Germany game after everybody's favourite Irish governing body of football fooked up with our allocation on the Canal end. We take 104 off them for every game and when i rang up the week of the match to arrange collection they told me that my tickets were there but I owe them an extra €20 per ticket for the privilige of sitting in the worst seats in the house as there was a mixup and my tickets were ahem, reallocated. In hindsight I should have told them to stuff it. They gave us our "normal" tickets for wednesday. All of them stuck together on a ream of tickets and not two of the tickets in seats beside each other.

I will have a homemade effort with me in Cardiff.

Yeah was there for the Germany game after everybody's favourite Irish governing body of football fooked up with our allocation on the Canal end. We take 104 off them for every game and when i rang up the week of the match to arrange collection they told me that my tickets were there but I owe them an extra €20 per ticket for the privilige of sitting in the worst seats in the house as there was a mixup and my tickets were ahem, reallocated. In hindsight I should have told them to stuff it. They gave us our "normal" tickets for wednesday. All of them stuck together on a ream of tickets and not two of the tickets in seats beside each other.

I will have a homemade effort with me in Cardiff.
    Another piece of professional administration from Delaney and his cohorts.
    This is not the best signature in the world, this is just a tribute

I'm going to cardiff. I'll go to a t-shirt shop today and get a quote on the ten t shirts for the -D-E-L-A-N-E-Y- -O-U-T- protest. Or i could just buy a small bucket of paint and do it myself...
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast