Thread: fans in premium watch rugby

fans in premium watch rugby

did ye hear this on the radio the fans in the premium seats stayed inside and drank and watched the bloody rugby. why do irish people have an obsession with watching england. i cant imagine any other nation doing the same. For those who didnt hear it was on ray foley.

Its the nature of the people who get most of the Premium tickets. They were probably rugby fans to begin with. I hope they choked on their prawn sandwiches.
    In Trap we trust

3,501 Posts
    Didn't realise Irish people had an obsession with watching England, I didn't watch the Estonia game, I didn't watch the rugby (although I was getting updates on the score during the radio commentary) and I certainly wouldn't miss an Ireland game to watch any England game.
    If there is an "obsession" it's probably because we're force fed build up to every England game through Sky Sports and BBC, whereas they only display any interest in the Irish team if they're showing the match

A mate of mine was in the GAA's own box and he said they were all out watching it as well.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

Most premium tickets would be sold to corporates who would invite different clients whether they were interested in soccer or not.
    The fact that they watched the rugby just means they prefered the "prawn sandwiches and beer" inside to what was on show outside.
    FAI don't care they still get paid their dosh.

joke..this is what its become..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

I was in the Canal End & if I had a TV near me I would have watched the rugby. Lansdowne Road was much better whereas seats so far from the pitch at Croke Park might as well be watching on TV.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    I was in the Canal End & if I had a TV near me I would have watched the rugby. Lansdowne Road was much better whereas seats so far from the pitch at Croke Park might as well be watching on TV.
    maybe you should have watched it so and gave ur ticket to a genuine fan
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    maybe you should have watched it so and gave ur ticket to a genuine fan
    No rugby tomorrow but will probably watch the football on TV instead. Can't give the tickets away...

at least we know yer not a proper fan anyway pete.

Can't give the tickets away...
    Indeed, strange how all the genuine fans only want to go to the Germany game.

Really? I think the view at Croker is fantastic, everywhere.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Really? I think the view at Croker is fantastic, everywhere.
    Hmm, my sarcasm detector is at home, but while it's a good stadium for gaelic games, it's a bit long for a soccer pitch. I imagine the lowest seats in the Davin are practically worthless for a view.

I know some people who always laugh about the fact that I go to watch Ireland matches all the time. These guys watch England matches when we are playing at the same time. And what a surprise they spend all there time watching Premiership games on the telly.

Also if Ireland qualify for a World/Euros again you just know those Corporate muppets will have tickets for every game.

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Hmm, my sarcasm detector is at home, but while it's a good stadium for gaelic games, it's a bit long for a soccer pitch. I imagine the lowest seats in the Davin are practically worthless for a view.
    The vast majority of play is in the middle of the pitch so it doesn't really make much difference.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    The vast majority of play is in the middle of the pitch so it doesn't really make much difference.
    I sit half way up the lower davin and the view when play is down the other end of ground is very poor. Chose that section as I was under the impression that the hardcore fans were going there (singing section etc).

The guy who sits beside me left at half time along with his mate to go and watch the rugby. He wont be coming tonight as "he is not bothered". Aparently im a sucker for punishment!

I have had to give away tickets for free for tonight. A few people asked me to help them out with tickets but dont want them now so im stuck with them and naturally the bill.

Don't worry they'll be back for the Brazil game and I'd know what I'd tell them

57 Posts
    No real fans would have missed out on tickets for last saturday so not too bothered what the prawn sandwich brigade did.

I reckon the tv viewing figures will have been well down for the game though as I've been shocked by the number of people who watched the rugby instead.

interesting this one...
    We were in the upper davin 1st half and could see jack ****e. It was dead quiet and we were told to shut up and sit down so many times. Couple of eejits in front were wandering what the rugby score was every five minutes.
    Sod that.....so at Half time we made our way to the press box seats in the upper middle hogan, what a view No one checked our tickets and the journo's couldn't care less. There were plenty of free seats.
    Most the irish lads behind us were bantering about the rugby.
    Tell you wot, second half Andy Reid was brilliant
    Never eat yellow snow!!

Kind of related to this thread but I noticed something that made me annoyed , not one of the pubs I passed on route to croker had an Ireland flag up outside on saturday, the big tree had loads of GAA flags but not one Ireland flag.