Thread: Our Best XI

Our Best XI

With four crucial games games left in the relegation battle, do we (or the management) yet know what our strongest eleven is. Barring injuries and suspensions, my first choice would be:

--------------Rogers----------------

Nootimer---Fitzgerald--Lester----Keane

Murphy---O'Halloran--Russell----O'Brien

----------Glynn----O'Flynn----------

Subs: Robson/Charles/Faherty/Fagan

75 Posts
    There has to be a doubt over Murph after his display against Bohs and Russeler and Fagan are carrying knocks.If Russ is fit i would play him on the right and its a toss up between Murphs and Foley to partner Greg.

Wes also gives us a bit of height in defence and attack so i wouldnt be too quick to chuck him out.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Is Robson still out? If not I'd put him in there simply because he gives his all and can do it on his day (best signing methinks)

Wes is slow but as long as he's not on the left he'll do a good job in the centre and goin up for the corners.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

if russell cant play id have foley in - with robson ready to come in - depending on wether murph is at the races or not
    more water!

146 Posts
    Faherty for Glynn, Foley for Russell, but apart from that, would go with Gaillimh's selection
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Quote Originally Posted by WoodquayBoy View Post
    Faherty for Glynn, Foley for Russell, but apart from that, would go with Gaillimh's selection
    those 2 changes dont make any sense, you have a our top scorer swopped with a junior turned pro whos yet to score, and a center-mid who CONSTANTLY gives the ball anyway cause he cant pass to save his life!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

146 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    you have a our top scorer swopped with a junior turned pro whos yet to score
    As opposed to Derek Glynn who is, er, a junior turned pro as well. Last few games he wouldn't have hit a barn door from 5 yards, and if we persist with the 'lump it up high' game plan, at least Faherty can win things in the air

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    a center-mid who CONSTANTLY gives the ball anyway cause he cant pass to save his life!!
    A slight exaggeration, no? If we can meet half way, I'll give you an unfit Russell, you give me a blanks-firing Faherty!
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

Just a thought. We've had two home wins with Wesley climbing high to head the critical goal from a corner. I know Buckser was screaming for him to be used up front on GBFM in a few matches where we were struggling to retrieve a deficit.

I hate that we haven't made the best use of set pieces. The best ever League finish from us was built on a huge return from Denis Bonner flicking on near post corners or scoring them himself. Also Murph had a season before he went to Derry where he had a great goals return from free kicks. Under Don O'Riordan, it was the ONLY reason I could see for Gareth Gorman's selection.

Sorry, back on topic, whatever about the best 11, I would include Rogers, Fitzgerald, Lester, Keane, O'Halloran, Robson, O'Brien, Nootimeer and would need until 7.45 tomorrow night to fill the last three places.

In fairness, if they've been anywhere near this forum in the last week, their already low confidence must be on the floor.

IMO a few people have confused the meaning of support with their all important right to express their opinions.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    In fairness, if they've been anywhere near this forum in the last week, their already low confidence must be on the floor.

IMO a few people have confused the meaning of support with their all important right to express their opinions.
    if professional footballers need to massage their ego's prior to a massive game to avoid relegation then they would be a bit silly to log onto a supporters forum.

this is not a site set up to do that. if they want to be told how great they are some of them won't get it here. they are not fragile little u12's you know!!!!

what do you want us to do, write how brillant everything is just on the off chance a player or 2 may browse the pages! a bit of a Nazi/communist hiding in the back of your mind there MyTown???

players shouldn't worry about what is written about them on forums or in the press, just get on with the job at hand. and by the way the main reason for critism is usually not there ability moreso their willingness to work (or lack thereof) and the organisation/tactics of the team (or lavck of).

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    if professional footballers need to massage their ego's prior to a massive game to avoid relegation then they would be a bit silly to log onto a supporters forum.

this is not a site set up to do that. if they want to be told how great they are some of them won't get it here. they are not fragile little u12's you know!!!!

what do you want us to do, write how brillant everything is just on the off chance a player or 2 may browse the pages! a bit of a Nazi/communist hiding in the back of your mind there MyTown???
    Good Man Hoop.
    You now feel free to question whether or not I'm a bit of a Nazi / Communist?
    An accusation I've never had to deal with in the past from any quarter.And yet you are free to speak on behalf of "us" (whoever "us" are) and can also dish out lectures about how the forum should be used? I think you are a bigger fan of those two ideologies than you're letting on.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

more water!

Good Man Hoop.
    You now feel free to question whether or not I'm a bit of a Nazi / Communist?
    well you are calling for the thread to be sanatised so the players don't get to read what people think. propaganda anyone???
    And yet you are free to speak on behalf of "us" (whoever "us" are) and can also dish out lectures about how the forum should be used? I think you are a bigger fan of those two ideologies than you're letting on.
    more propaganda MyTown,
    the "few people" you speak of here are the "us" I am referring to

75 Posts
    just a question Galway Hoop are you travelling tomorrow????????

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    well you are calling for the thread to be sanatised so the players don't get to read what people think. propaganda anyone???

the "few people" you speak of here are the "us" I am referring to
    Hoop,

Before the mods close this down, I'm happy for you to have the last word on this after I post now, as an obvious defender of free speech, I know you'll want the last word anyway

1. I haven't disguised my position about the thread, but where did I look for it to be sanitised or closed down? If you look back over it, you'll find other posters making that call.

2. You're definitely prone to more than the odd bit of preaching IMHO, so please don't dismiss it as propoganda when you plainly want the thread to go one way - your way

It's yourself Hoop that is the master of Propoganda so bring on your last spin....
    Last edited by MyTown; 18/10/2007 at 1:50 PM. Reason: typo
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

oh and furthermore, surely people are allowed to express their opinions in this thread, after all the title is "Our Best 11" surely people are allowed to use their "all important right to express their opinions" on this thread.

Or do you think we should all wait until the team is announced and then en-bloc all post the starting 11 to show our support to the manager and not to offend the sensitivities of the players!!!

I am here to discuss various aspects about GUFC. If you want to be a blind cheerleader then thats your want, but personally I will critisize something if I feel the need and don't expect to have to listen to the same old maroon tinted specticle brigard giving out - however it is your entitlement to do so as it is mine to say what i feel. whether it be positive or negative, i have always supported GUFC and will continue to do so, however at any time if i feel that the current players/management/board is not up to the job i will say it. i refuse to follow blind!

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    just a question Galway Hoop are you travelling tomorrow????????
    no. i have a family and work. i go to all home games but unlike ye lads can't take a half day every second friday!!! enjoy the game though and hopefully we get the 3 points.

btw why do you ask?
    Last edited by galwayhoop; 18/10/2007 at 1:59 PM.

75 Posts
    jesus Ricahard Marx John some taste in music what was that song again?

75 Posts
    and i thought i was bad remembering one song

quality baileban!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!111111
    more water!

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    Back on topic

My best 11

1 - Stalin
    2 - Castro
    3 - Lenin
    4 - Brezhnev
    5 - Karl Marx
    6 - Groucho Marx
    7 - Chico Marx
    8 - Harpo Marx
    9 - Hoop Marx
    10 - MyTown Marx
    11 - Richard Marx

Subs - Howard Marks, Top Marks, Skid Marks, Stretch Marks
    who's the manager.....

NO MARX (out of ten)!!!!!

No offense Tony in case you are reading, it's only a joke and i wouldn't want to put you further in the dumps as i know you read this forum to boost your confidence before massive matches.