was just reading that this morning

well you are great arent ye!

i love reading stuff like this about the old country , except when i go home like last saturday night and on the nitebus back to the airport i see a fight and loads of hermans around the place to witness it. Always ****es me off, and stupidly I always get involved to try to stop it.

It said we're friendly, it didn't say we were perfect.

like the bit about having a dark sense of humour.

It said we're friendly, it didn't say we were perfect.
    True, but the more tourists that see this, will change their perception of our friendliness....

International Prospect Green Tribe's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    well you are great arent ye!

smart arse!
    was just posting on your thread to make you feel better paul, cos i know sometimes people don't respond to your threads

To be honest i was surprised to read we were still high up on that type of poll. People have changed a lot. True Dodge, i like what they say about our humour

Quote Originally Posted by Green Tribe View Post
    To be honest i was surprised to read we were still high up on that type of poll. People have changed a lot.
    But what makes you think people in other countries haven't changed? And I think people are a lot friendlier to tourists than they are to locals, so they probably don't get to see the surly side of shop assistants.

so they probably don't get to see the surly side of shop assistants.
    You mean polish shop assistants on a "stepping stone"

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    But what makes you think people in other countries haven't changed? And I think people are a lot friendlier to tourists than they are to locals, so they probably don't get to see the surly side of shop assistants.
    I just meant that certain parts of Ireland were more dependent on tourism in previous years than they are now. I definitely think people in Ireland still make an effort to be friendlier and helpful to tourists. I know that if a tourist stops me for help, I usually go out of my way to help them, I wouldn't think twice about it.

was just posting on your thread to make you feel better paul, cos i know sometimes people don't respond to your threads
    Have you noticed that too?!

I know that if a tourist stops me for help, I usually go out of my way to help them, I wouldn't think twice about it.

I know people who used to do the exact opposite for a laugh. Having said that when I have been away I think locals do it everywhere

With the rate of senseless Murders and attacks being committed in this country that list will soon change.

I am afraid I think you are right. Like work 1 bad thing accounts for at least 10 good things, and like that poor girl in galway, something like that does reflect very negatively especially on such a touristy place like Galway. If it was a non-national that committed the crime it could also create some "anti-foreiginer" mentality to some of those already on the fringes.....

Quote Originally Posted by Eire06 View Post
    Again you're looking solely at us. The rate of murders in Ireland is absolutely tiny compared to most countries in the world.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Again you're looking solely at us. The rate of murders in Ireland is absolutely tiny compared to most countries in the world.
    Oh sorry that makes it all alright then as long as our Murder rate stays tiny next to other countries

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    I am afraid I think you are right. Like work 1 bad thing accounts for at least 10 good things, and like that poor girl in galway, something like that does reflect very negatively especially on such a touristy place like Galway. If it was a non-national that committed the crime it could also create some "anti-foreiginer" mentality to some of those already on the fringes.....
    Firstly my heartfelt sympathy to the family of Manuela Riedo who died in apalling circumstances in my town. I am deeply ashamed that this is the reality of life and death in Ireland and Galway now.

Secondly, Mr. O'Shea, it wouldn't be like you to miss the chance to give Galway a kicking would it?

Thirdly, For me it comes down to a visible police presence. Most posters praised the PSNI for their proactive stance in the Brandywell last week, but here, where I live, most public order offences and most road traffic offences are quite simply ignored. At least in the UK, most people have confidence that the laws will be enforced, by those charged with enforcing them. Often that means a too heavy handed approach as in the death of the Brazilian national assassinated by crown forces while boarding the tube. But in Ireland rather than zero tolerance we have zero policing IMO.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Secondly, Mr. O'Shea, it wouldn't be like you to miss the chance to give Galway a kicking would it?
    MyTown, I seriouslly didnt mean it like that, on a serious note I wouldn't be at that stuff. honestly.

You have to remember nowadays things are reported worldwide and you hear about it far quicker, years ago this wasnt the case. And exactly as Eire06, its not a competition, its a fact and it doesnt matter on a scale or ratio, the population has stayed pretty much the same ( bar immigration ) so ye cant make out its alright.

But in Ireland rather than zero tolerance we have zero policing IMO.
    And im not having a go, just an example, outside supermacs every saturday and friday night, those little knacks that hang round the doors looking for fights ( the abuse those poor security guards get is terrible and unfortunately most of it is racist or discriminatory - im sure lots of tourists see it too), while the cops just sit outside across the road and way till something happens and finishes and then do something about it. Sad to say some of these same cops are from the same town as me too.....
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 17/10/2007 at 10:48 AM.

Oh sorry that makes it all alright then as long as our Murder rate stays tiny next to other countries
    get a ****ing grip will you. here's the context in which I posted that

Of course all murders are horrendous but the fact remains that we have way, way, way less than pretty much every country in the world so to say that as a result of our slight increase the world will no longer think of us as being more friendly than the countries with higher murder rates is ridiculous

Do you not think then, given the idea of "relative security" things like Eire06 talks about makes a difference, such as what happened in galway, given the fact that the persons in charge picked Galway over London because of the belief it was safer. 1 murder, 10 murders, its not relative.

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Firstly my heartfelt sympathy to the family of Manuela Riedo who died in apalling circumstances in my town. I am deeply ashamed that this is the reality of life and death in Ireland and Galway now.

Thirdly, For me it comes down to a visible police presence. Most posters praised the PSNI for their proactive stance in the Brandywell last week, but here, where I live, most public order offences and most road traffic offences are quite simply ignored. At least in the UK, most people have confidence that the laws will be enforced, by those charged with enforcing them. Often that means a too heavy handed approach as in the death of the Brazilian national assassinated by crown forces while boarding the tube. But in Ireland rather than zero tolerance we have zero policing IMO.
    Have to agree, I can't speak for other towns/cities but Galway has poor policing. Even looking at traffic offences, the amount of people I see constantly on their mobile phone whilst driving in the city is shocking! Little Garda presence.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast