Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Limerick Division 1A Cup 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by dines08 View Post
    congrats to balla after last nights game...think it was a good advert for 1a...tight game but good quality, all players involved had good games...think one or two injury's picked up cost us in the end...we almost held on but as soon as the equaliser went in we were hanging on...the balla subs made a huge difference...majorly disappointin for us as for some of our players it could be their last game for the club...time to regroup and look forward to next season, once again congrats to balla
    thanks dines,was a very tough game,ya when ye're centre forward went off we were relieved,who was he and where did ye get him from?i hope ye hang onto them lads because there is the makings of a fine team there

Balla team anyone?

i'd totally agree wit you that mark healy was excellent the other night and could be a good premier player if he improved his fitness, and to the balla lads...the center forward who went off injured was liam lenihan...i guy i work wit who i convinced to sign this year, pace is beyond belief, very good player...thats when the game turned, we lost our pace up front injured...ye brought on kevin nolan who was superb...

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    Barron is a class act and good to see him progressing to ucd, only player imo who could make the jumper to premier would be M.Healy...and not trying to be smart but for how many years have you been having your player bunk off after schoolboys...?fair play for to your club for stiil having a great schoolboy setup.
    I think we have one of the best setups for schoolboy level and it is an ongoing problem that after minor we lose the better players... It,s frustrating for us that we've gotten a group of young guys together now at junior level who could geniunely push for promotion next year yet the summer could dismantle the team....i would disagree wit u that only mark healy would have a chance in premier...pat collins, darren clancy ian stewart and ian dore...4 of the best young players in town who might not be quite ready for it yet but who definately will progress to that level...wit the first two still being minors

who do you think ye could lose besides ger?and is it because of the poor season(imo for the quality that is up there) that ye had?ya the four you mentioned i know for experience are very good players who I think will in time be good enough for premier,game seemed to pass ian stewart by,i always got the impression even when i was there that he lacks interest,in training he can beat anyone and has great skill but he doesn't always bring it onto the pitch

i'd totally agree wit you that mark healy was excellent the other night and could be a good premier player if he improved his fitness, and to the balla lads...the center forward who went off injured was liam lenihan...i guy i work wit who i convinced to sign this year, pace is beyond belief, very good player...thats when the game turned, we lost our pace up front injured...ye brought on kevin nolan who was superb...
    its not often our 2 first choice centre halves get caught for pace and as i said we were relieved when he went off,as for Kevin,i think if we had him for the second half of the season we might have done better,i think his last game before the other night was our game against ye(i could be wrong there),a great impact player to bring on when the opposition are a bit tired

i think if martin dore left there could be a mass exodus...if he stays which i think he will then hopefully we'll keep everyone except ger barron...limerick u21's are sniffin around one or two allegedly...you,re dead right tho mulla, as far as we had a bad season...a bad start more so, we lost darren walsh to injury...most dines players will be disappointed wit the season we had...but it,s not lost on us that the team was completely thrown together...as u know we lost virtually everybody from last season...we were inexperienced...a learning curve for many this season...when we got going we were strong, ian stewart is a great guy, super skillful...first half the other night it passed him by...second half and extra time he was everywhere, very important player for us

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    for gerry barron more so than any other as he is off to ucd next year...a guy who has played wit geraldines since he was a young guy...not a nice way to finish up, wit one or two other very talented young guys in the squad it'll be hard to hold onto them...bit sad really, we always seem to bring players thru schoolboy and lose them soon afterwards

You hit the nail on the head there.

How long are you with the Dines?

Is Martin Dore thinking of packing it in? and is Murish still involved?
    Last edited by abbeyvale; 05/06/2008 at 5:15 PM.

i'm wit geraldines since under seventeens...23 now, martin won't quit, i hope...along wit muirish, as far as i'm concerned and i'm sure most of the dines players are concerned the two martins and dempsey and the only guys for the job...it is an awful shame to look back and see the outstanding players gone thru dines who we couldn't hang onto...yourself included

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    i'm wit geraldines since under seventeens...23 now, martin won't quit, i hope...along wit muirish, as far as i'm concerned and i'm sure most of the dines players are concerned the two martins and dempsey and the only guys for the job...it is an awful shame to look back and see the outstanding players gone thru dines who we couldn't hang onto...yourself included
    I agree the Dines have lost some great players throughout the years, and if they had all stuck together I would garauntee that they would have won at least one Premier league and would be in the top 3 or 4 sides in town now.

Its a great pity really, but its not just the players fault in all fairness.

With the 2 Matin's being involved again next season, I can honestly see ye pushing for promotion and if anyone could get decent players to the club it would be them.

Quote Originally Posted by abbeyvale View Post
    I agree the Dines have lost some great players throughout the years, and if they had all stuck together I would garauntee that they would have won at least one Premier league and would be in the top 3 or 4 sides in town now.

Its a great pity really, but its not just the players fault in all fairness.

With the 2 Matin's being involved again next season, I can honestly see ye pushing for promotion and if anyone could get decent players to the club it would be them.

would you go back if asked or will you stay at star??
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 06/06/2008 at 6:43 AM.

didn't mean anythin in a bad way to players who've left the dines in years gone by...all have gone on to do better things individually...just sayin it,s a shame they weren't kept together...the team we have now is great to be involved in, everyone geniunely gets on...we keep sayin next year next year...but we still know we need a few players more and a lot of hard work

One more time, does anyone know the Balla team from the other night?

Abbey you're always good for team news?
    Mulla?

Quote Originally Posted by Philbert View Post

Mulla?
    Andy Costello - GK
    Frank hogan - LB
    Dont know - CB
    Dont Know - RB
    Badger?? - CM
    Kevin O' Mahoney - CM
    Dont Know - RM
    Grant Murphy - LM
    Anthony Lee - ST
    Colm O' Mahoney - ST

Subs - Kevin Nolan (scored the goals)
    Ronan Canon
    One other but not sure - Locky???

Thats the best I have for you..

Cheers for the attempt Gaidin

Mulla?
    sorry for the delay
    Andy Costello - GK
    Frank hogan - LB
    Derek O Brien- CB
    Eoin Hennigar - CB
    Mark O Dwyer - RB
    Kieran Maher - CM
    Kevin O' Mahoney - CM
    Alan o Carroll - RM
    Grant Murphy - LM
    Anthony Lee - ST
    Colm O' Mahoney - ST

Subs - Kevin Nolan (scored the goals)
    Ronan Canon
    Jason O loughlin
    all subs used,kevin scored the 2 goals but all 3 made a difference when they came on

Cheers for that!

Was Mark McDonald not playing? I think he usually plays right back

didn't mean anythin in a bad way to players who've left the dines in years gone by...all have gone on to do better things individually...just sayin it,s a shame they weren't kept together...the team we have now is great to be involved in, everyone geniunely gets on...we keep sayin next year next year...but we still know we need a few players more and a lot of hard work
    I know some players have left in previous years over the likes of training and things like that,nothing to do with managers who were always there just for some reason the effort wasn't always put in.
    I hope Abbeyvale agrees with this,a lot of players who leave won't put in the effort for geraldines yet when they leave they train all the time with there new clubs,personally I don't understand why.
    I know in my time there it seemed to me that the young lads who were coming through(a lot of who were very good players)thoght they were too good to play for the junior and expected to play when they turned up,If Martin dore does stay I know he wouldn't stand for that

Cheers for that!

Was Mark McDonald not playing? I think he usually plays right back
    he had a bit of a falling out with the manager earlier in the year,good player,another lad who if he stayed might have helped us more in the second half of the league but thats history now

What kind of falling out was it, if you dont mind me asking?

Is he playing for anyone now?

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast