Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

Thread: Worst Towns in Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Lets go through this, and I'll talk about Cork in relation to Limerick as I don't know Galway all that well and Dublin is the only actual city in Ireland if we're being picky about things (been out there 3 times, had a bad night 3 times).

Restaurants: I agree that Limerick isn't the best in relation to Dublin in the restaurant stakes, but Cork is not any better, so I assume Galway, Waterford etc. are the same? There are a handful of top quality restaurants in Limerick and quite a few decent ones, ditto Cork, in fact having lived in both cities I think Limerick edges Cork in quality terms as we have more decent restaurants, where as Cork's quality tends to be either Very Good and **** Poor.

Universities: Is a 15 minute bus ride out of the city, what else do you want? UCC is about the same distance from the city as LIT is, and Mary I and LSAD are practically in the centre of town. CIT on the other hand is in Mongolia

Theatres: The Millenium Theatre is over the bridge (5-10 minute drive) and UCH is that 20 minute drive we talked about, if people can't be bothered with those times tough, thats there loss.

Concert Venues: Dolans is one of the finest in the land, UCH has hosted some big concerts, and Baker Place is putting on a good few shows these days. The Castle has been used in the past for gigs and hopefully will be again as it is top quality there. In Cork you have the Savoy (which is a dump with bad sound) and where else again? The Brog serve the worst pints in Ireland and is a bad venue, and the other venue (same street as the Brog, name escapes me) is one of the worst set ups I've ever come across.

Cinema: The Kino in Cork is a good addition, albeit a cramped uncomfortable one, but the Gate is a pretty poor city centre cinema, and the Mahon Point one (despite being the best of Cork's cinemas) is in such a rough area no-one I know goes near it as the bus leaves you in the middle of a friggin council estate to walk the rest of the way. Limeick's cinemas are 15 and 10 minute drives out of the city centre respectively, again what else do you want? Thats perfectly reasonable

Festivals: Limerick has the best art festival outside of Dublin in EVA and the Riverfest weekenders are a great laugh. Cork's Jazz festival is over-rated and the film festival over-priced.

So I fail to see how Limerick is poorer in entertainment terms than Cork, and I assume Galway, Waterford etc. bar Dublin
    Seriously, you are truly deluded. In relation to restaraunts check the Bridgestone Guide. There is no comparison, 15 pages for Cork City for Cork County 61 pages. Cork would be pretty well known in this respect. Limerick City & County combined 8 pages.
    Uni UL 15 mins bus journey, UCC at end of Washington, St city centre. 10 mins walk from Pana.
    Millemiem in the LIT again well outside the city centre, UL well outside city centre. Cork the Granary, Everyman, Opera House, Cork Arts Theatre, Triskel & Firkin Crane all within 5 mins walk of Pana
    Cinemas again you repeat the point about no cinemas in the city centre attracting people into the city centre.
    Best Arts festival outside of Dublin, are you serious. How many actually attend EVA a visual arts festival. How about the Midsummer festival in Cork, the Galway Arts festival all of whom are mutli disciplinary arts festivals. There is just no way you can compare. Its all about making the centre of your city vibrant and attracting people in.
    Face it, Limerick City centre is a wasteland of cultural activities.
    Cork City FC

Quote Originally Posted by rebs23 View Post
    Seriously, you are truly deluded. In relation to restaraunts check the Bridgestone Guide. There is no comparison, 15 pages for Cork City for Cork County 61 pages. Cork would be pretty well known in this respect. Limerick City & County combined 8 pages.
    Uni UL 15 mins bus journey, UCC at end of Washington, St city centre. 10 mins walk from Pana.
    Millemiem in the LIT again well outside the city centre, UL well outside city centre. Cork the Granary, Everyman, Opera House, Cork Arts Theatre, Triskel & Firkin Crane all within 5 mins walk of Pana
    Cinemas again you repeat the point about no cinemas in the city centre attracting people into the city centre.
    Best Arts festival outside of Dublin, are you serious. How many actually attend EVA a visual arts festival. How about the Midsummer festival in Cork, the Galway Arts festival all of whom are mutli disciplinary arts festivals. There is just no way you can compare. Its all about making the centre of your city vibrant and attracting people in.
    Face it, Limerick City centre is a wasteland of cultural activities.
    I'd like to be first to congratulate cork city and county on it's 70 odd pages of representation in the Bridgestone guide. Kudos to you. However as I only eat in one restaurant at a time I'm fairly sure I could find one in the eight pages on Limerick.

By the way ...can you tell someone who lived in Cork for three years where or what the hell the "Pana" is?

I'm not going to dis Cork because I really liked it down there (but it did make me realise just what a great town Limerick is and how much it does have going for it as well ...sometimes you do have to leave home to realise what you're leaving behind) but a lot of the things you're describing are just more of the same as what we have here ...Cinemas aside which i personnaly have no time for. The cinemas that are there do thriving business and I don't doubt enhance their areas.

That you look down your nose at EVA (as indeed some Limerick people do) is frankly your loss though. It's a great arts festival and Limerick can be proud of it. I'll just mention Unfringed as well which is one of the multi-disiplinary arts festivals you seem to prefer. It happens in february and was fantastic last year. Actually Corks finest Sultans of Ping closed it last year.
    It's profile isn't as high as others but these things should be allowed grow organically -in much the same way as Wexfords Opera festival or Kilkennys Cat-laughs did.
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

''Pana''? jayziz boy that's taking a walk down Patrick Street, preferably with your significant other on your arm

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I'd like to be first to congratulate cork city and county on it's 70 odd pages of representation in the Bridgestone guide. Kudos to you. However as I only eat in one restaurant at a time I'm fairly sure I could find one in the eight pages on Limerick.

By the way ...can you tell someone who lived in Cork for three years where or what the hell the "Pana" is?

I'm not going to dis Cork because I really liked it down there (but it did make me realise just what a great town Limerick is and how much it does have going for it as well ...sometimes you do have to leave home to realise what you're leaving behind) but a lot of the things you're describing are just more of the same as what we have here ...Cinemas aside which i personnaly have no time for. The cinemas that are there do thriving business and I don't doubt enhance their areas.

That you look down your nose at EVA (as indeed some Limerick people do) is frankly your loss though. It's a great arts festival and Limerick can be proud of it. I'll just mention Unfringed as well which is one of the multi-disiplinary arts festivals you seem to prefer. It happens in february and was fantastic last year. Actually Corks finest Sultans of Ping closed it last year.
    It's profile isn't as high as others but these things should be allowed grow organically -in much the same way as Wexfords Opera festival or Kilkennys Cat-laughs did.
    Listen Limerick lads, your city has done some amazing redevelopment over the last 15 years, the most concentrated of any Irish city IMO. Some great new buildings etc but this has not been accompanied by getting people into the centre of your city too much on the outskirts/suburban areas is leading to a real problem with attracting people in and there is a limited selection of a "nighttime economy". Limerick just doesn't have the dedicated venues/theatres/cinemas/restaraunts etc that attract people into a city centre.
    In fairness you can't compare one urban area with one 3 times bigger, it will just ridicule your arguments. Look at Galway a city with roughly the same population and what it posesses.
    Cork City FC

Limerick is a long way from being a tip folks, the redevelopment has been great.

Millstreet for being the dullest town in the country.

tipp town also --> look at tiktoks explanation for why
    Life isn't all beer and football...some of us haven't touched a football in months

3,488 Posts
    Baffled as to this prejudice against Tipp Town!

Has nobody else been in Lifford?!

Check out times square on a Sat night and you'll see why.

Has nobody else been in Lifford?!
    I have and Shay Given comes from there so it's not all bad

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    A bus load of us went to Ballymote years ago to an underage disco. The disco was finishing up as the pubs were clearing. The beardy locals hearing there was young fellas from Sligo in the area decided to make their way down to the local hall and kick several s hites out of us. Good spot for underage pints years ago, though the locals do resemble the people from the film "The Hills have Eyes".
    It's hilarious that you think there is such a difference between the people of a place like Ballymote to Sligo!

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    couldnt be bothered reading all the posts, but has Granard been mentioned?

Moate

Moate oh my god what an unbelieveable s*^&hole

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    It's hilarious that you think there is such a difference between the people of a place like Ballymote to Sligo!
    cause there is gus!

flaming kip that is

112 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    couldnt be bothered reading all the posts, but has Granard been mentioned?
    Not sure it has, but its an awful kiphole.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    I'd like to nominate Mountrath, purely because of the amount of time I get stuck there every time I drive back to Limerick
    Another vote for Mountrath????

Sunday October 28 2007

FAI Chief executive John Delaney was involved in a car crash only hours after appearing on the Marian Finucane Show on RTE radio. In the week after sacking his second manager, Delaney was involved in a minor accident just outside Mountrath, Co Laois, shortly before 2pm.

Gardai at Portlaoise confirmed that there had been a two-car collision, where one car had gone into the back of another, but said there was only material damage caused. No one was injured in the accident.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Here are my nominations:

Castlebar
    Ballina
    Belmullet
    Ballyhaunis
    Swinford
    Headford
    Ballinasloe
    Shannon
    Enniscrone
    Buncrana
    Castlerea
    Clara
    Portlaoise
    Castleblayney
    Monaghan Town
    Edenderry
    Kildare Town
    Monasteravin
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    Here are my nominations:

Headford
    Headford isn't a town, it's a crossroads. A damn bad crossroads at that.
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Quote Originally Posted by gustavo View Post
    Sweet Baby Jesus, the difference between people is unbelieveable. Like all the young lads from Ballyremote have an axe to grind, like they have something to prove when they come into town. Plus they are thoroughbred roasters.

As for the worst towns
    -BUNDORAN, seriously that place should be wiped off the map. I dont understand why every person in Donegal hates Balleybofey when they have that tumor in its boundaries.

-Lucan, i despise it after working there for a few months. its just houseing estate after houseing estate with a few industrial estates mixed in for effect.

TBH i dont think longford is that bad, ive been to alot worse towns.

Quote Originally Posted by red bellied View Post
    A bus load of us went to Ballymote years ago to an underage disco. The disco was finishing up as the pubs were clearing. The beardy locals hearing there was young fellas from Sligo in the area decided to make their way down to the local hall and kick several s hites out of us. Good spot for underage pints years ago, though the locals do resemble the people from the film "The Hills have Eyes".
    its the opposite these days the knackers go out to bogger discos just to kick the sh1t out of roasters!

Cashel, what a dump.

Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast