Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Dunphy

Angry Dunphy

Dunphy said after the game against Germany that Ireland have a 'Great Squad' and that they deserve a better manager etc.

Does anyone remember him saying at the start of the qualifiers that Ireland have an 'Ordinary' squad??????

Seems to be changing his tune a bit to me ( depending on who we played and how we played ).

Obviously there is terrific potential after we look at the performance on Saturday.

57 Posts
    Dunphy contradicts himself more often than Aertel getting a result right.

There's a collection of stuff out there on him.

43 Posts
    Do people still even listen to this clown? Outdated, one eyed buffoon with nothing constructive to offer.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

Maybe he's changed his mind in regards to the overall ability of our squad throughout the course of this campaign? Or maybe he has lowered his expectations of what an Ireland squad should be? Either way its no reason to hang the man, people's opinions change, even football pundits, deal.with.it.

Gotta love the anti-Dunphy brigade that go one and on about how he goes on and on about Staunton/Ronaldo/Gerrard/etc. without realising that they are going on and on about Dunphy

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Maybe he's changed his mind in regards to the overall ability of our squad throughout the course of this campaign? Or maybe he has lowered his expectations of what an Ireland squad should be? Either way its no reason to hang the man, people's opinions change, even football pundits, deal.with.it.
    I agree. But he should say he has changed his mind -and hang him anyway ( negative git ). He was saying after the Czech game that we haven't had a good manager in years ( meaning that in his opinion that Kerr and McCarthy were crap managers too ).
    He hates Charlton so you can be damn sure that he wouldn't have said that he was the last good manager Ireland had if Bill O'Herlihy had the presence of mind to press him on it -so the end result, I'd imagine, is that he would say that the last good manager Ireland had was Johnny Giles, coz he's sitting near him! ( even though Giles never got us to a finals and Charlton got us to three! ).

Feck it, like him or hate him i don't care, i'd still much prefer to watch the lads on rte ahead of the mindless drones on either of TV3 or Sky...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

1,912 Posts
    This is my favourite (from Sept 2001) courtesy of Owlsfan.

"An incredible achievement by the manager and players. Credit to the manager and to the atmosphere and to the family feeling, the feeling of belonging, he has created. That is why the manager and coaches deserve credit. That's a cumalitive thing and very, very impressive. A vindication for the manager who's had a rough time."

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Dunphy contradicts himself more often than Aertel getting a result right.

Exactly. I always find it odd that it seems the majority of people don't realise this.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman View Post
    ...........if Bill O'Herlihy had the presence of mind to press him on it .........
    Woo woo woo....dont be slagging off Bill the legend
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

Sure hes just as bad sasd the rest of them. They all collectively agreed the other night that Germany only lost the World Cup semi final on penalties FFS !
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Feck it, like him or hate him i don't care, i'd still much prefer to watch the lads on rte ahead of the mindless drones on either of TV3 or Sky...
    Agree much prefer RTE's analysis. Dunphy does know the game but courts controversy.

2,693 Posts
    Agree about always prefering RTE.

Dunphy's always been inconsistent.

The quote above after the Dutch game was the best of all time.

Another gem was him saying Ireland were a better team for Mick McCarthy's presence (after losing 2 late goals to draw 3-3 in Poland with O'Leary in the team) despite having derided McCarthy for years and lauded the out of favour David O'Leary. In fairness, this was a begrudging but honest acceptance that Mick's character rather than his skill level was a critical part of that team.

161 Posts
    "If you want entertainment go to the pictures". "Platini's a bottler" etc etc

dunphy is a legend.
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Lost in Giovanni Trappatoni's Tactics Board
    132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    dunphy is a legend.
    dunphy is a clown - always is , always was and always will be

Amen

Quote Originally Posted by back of the net View Post
    dunphy is a clown - always is , always was and always will be

Amen
    ah lads it's a bit of entertainment. Would you be rather watching the BBC with Gary "FA Cup" Lineker, Peter "Rather be watching paint dry" Schmeichel and Ian "I've no idea whats going on so I'll shout and laugh like a mad man" Wright.

Dunphy is all hype. The more he insults people the more money he can get for his newspaper articles and tv appearances. People take him too seriously.

although sensationalist his sentiments are in the right place...he was right when he said stan should have been sacked after the dutch match..very funny aswell..'rinky dink coach'....brilliant
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Shelsman View Post
    Dunphy said after the game against Germany that Ireland have a 'Great Squad' and that they deserve a better manager etc.

Does anyone remember him saying at the start of the qualifiers that Ireland have an 'Ordinary' squad??????

Seems to be changing his tune a bit to me ( depending on who we played and how we played )
    While I do think that he talks ****e most of the time in the case he has a point as the squad we have now has a number of improvements since then.

Doherty replaced by McShane
    Carr replaced by J O'Brien
    Kavanagh replaced by Carsely

plus Stephen Hunt and a few others.

reder
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Expection is Jeff Stelling on Sky soccer Saturday. The man is brilliant. Works on local radio midweek and comes on Sky on Sat and rips the ****.

Page 1 of 15 12311 ... LastLast