Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Dunphy

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Classic Dunphy contradiction last night. The panel were giving out stink about the media circus outside the hotel where they thought the meeting was going to be and that this was humiliating for Stan and should be done in private. Dunphy then said, "Typical of the FAI and the incompetents up there, who couldn't organise it. This is the sort of people they are" or words to that effect.

Then when it was shown that the FAI had actually held the meeting in secret with Stan who had therefore avoided the glare of the cameras as they had suggested should happen in the first place, out pops Dunphy with the words "Typical of the FAI and the incompetents up there, who organised it. This is the sort of people they are and why they hate the fans and the media" or words to that effect.

Damned if you do and damned if you don't.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

no owl it was Brady that was giving out stink...when the lads started mentioning George graham and Ron Atkinson I had to laugh, just as well they arnt on the selection panel...Big Racist Ron is hardly the man the FAI need to spearhead their new PR campaign..
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Quote Originally Posted by citizenerased View Post
    no owl it was Brady that was giving out stink...
    Jesus OwlsFan, how did you get that so wrong?

214 Posts
    Big Ron? Dear lord.

if you we end up with Big Ron, Graham, Sounness, O'Leary, Whelan, Moran, Megson, Stapleton and co then we are truly ****ed for another 3 years. We'd be better off re-employing Stan. None of those names above are remotely good enough to take a team to a world cup finals.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

I hear they are employing a team of eperts to appoint a new manager...they did that with stans appointment, one of those experts was 'Brian Hamilton', a part time eurosports comentator as dunphy pointed out..

20 Posts
    they did it with the Kerr appointment. and is it not gerry armstrong who does Eurosport(or did) and a hell of a lot better than anything rte have to offer...

Yeah, dunphy was being derogitary to what the FAI considered football experts...Hamilton was deffo doin it for Stans appointment i think...hamilton does abit of commentary aswell(not george)

Hamilton was involved in Kerr's appointment only. It was the "3 man committee" (i.e Delaney) behind Staunton's appointment...
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

214 Posts
    why don't the FAI just put a poll up here on foot.ie. I'd back it over anything the media or opinions from the so called experts.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

sorry i got mixed up abit there boyzzzzzz

Yeah Hamilton who was for Kerrs appointment. Gerry Armstrong is a great pundit by the way. Himself and Kerr were top class for the 2004 Euro Champinoships I think or it could have been the 2002 World Cup. Really knew his European football and players all around Europe. Should be used as a scout by the next manager in my view.
    In Trap we trust

794 Posts
    no owl it was Brady that was giving out stink...
    Yes he was but the Dumpster agreed with him that the FAI should have done the whole thing behind closed doors and then when they did, he castigated them for doing it because they "hate the fans and the media". Wasn't he also a big fan of Delaney once upon a time

Two totally different opinions within the space of 45 minutes. Plus ca change (sorry billsthoughts, you don't have a monopoly on this saying)
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by Billsthoughts View Post
    ....and is it not gerry armstrong who does Eurosport(or did) and a hell of a lot better than anything rte have to offer...
    Gerry Armstrong covers La Liga with Sky Sports....Very Good commentator all the same....
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

I4e...shut Up...

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    People on here are obsessed with what he says. When was the last time you saw this messiah on any TV channel that wasn't Irish?
    BBC, UTV or SKy are hardly going to have him on because they dont want any pundits who might dare express a controversial opinion. Wheteher you agree with him or not, at least he he is not afraid to speak his mind. And just because we dont see him on non Irish channels means what??
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Mayo_Bhoy View Post
    BBC, UTV or SKy are hardly going to have him on because they dont want any pundits who might dare express a controversial opinion. Wheteher you agree with him or not, at least he he is not afraid to speak his mind.
    Which mind? The one at the start of the programme or the exact opposite mind 45 minutes later

20 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Two totally different opinions within the space of 45 minutes. Plus ca change (sorry billsthoughts, you don't have a monopoly on this saying)

same **** different shovel.....thats another one of mine....

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    Which mind? The one at the start of the programme or the exact opposite mind 45 minutes later
    Very tru. But it's usually two cobtreoversial, if slightly contradictory opinions.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

I4e...shut Up...
    Do you want me to erase you citizen???
    Marge: Homer, the plant called. They said if you don't show up tomorrow don't bother showing up on Monday.
    Homer: Woo-hoo. Four-day weekend
    -
    Trappattoni+Tardelli+Brady=Holy Trinity of Irish Football

He was on the radio this morning giving out about all the recent appointments as no marks who had won nothing in professional football, and then proceeded to recommend Paul Jewell, who has won what exactly? The man is a walking contradiction.

Page 6 of 15 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast