Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Dunphy

Quote Originally Posted by an_ceannaire View Post
    Remember Johan Cryuff publically giving out stink about his manager at the time of the 78 World cup....what did the manager do? Let him have his say, still picked him and they damn near won the thing!!
    Cruyff didn't play in 1978 so you could say it was similar to the Keane situation. Of course, Cruyff refused to travel in protest at allegations of torture and murder against the military junta in charge of Argentina. Keane refused to play because the training ground was like a car park and they didn't have the fizzy sports drinks he likes...

("Blah, blah, sent home, he's a rebel Bill, coulda won the World Cup, stick it up yer ****** etc ")
    SIGNATURESCOPE

The kinda fellas we should be looking for
    Souness....yes i said Souness!!
    Jewell
    O'Leary
    Tommy Burns
    Keegan
    Venables
    Kendall

Would love to see Howard Kendall get a go

74 of course

3,501 Posts
    Jewell
    O'Leary
    Tommy Burns
    Keegan
    Venables
    Kendall

Would love to see Howard Kendall get a go
    Tommy Burns??
    Keegan flopped at England
    The last time Kendall managed a team he was in the Greek First Division and got sacked after 4 months.

kendall no, tommy burns no, Maybe jewell, love to see a good european coach take charge with good organisational skills more so that a typical english style coach, we should be aspiring for someone like benhakker or Reneghal, maybe Philip trousier, supposedly he was inteviewed by delaney
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

If you dont think Howard Kendall would be a good choice your mad!
    2 leagues, 1 fa cup and a ECWC with an average Everton side!! When Liverpool were murdering everyone!!!
    Ya thats poor alright!

he is beyond a pensioner now, id question his current appetite, plus the game has changed significantly since his successes..he is not the man if you ask me
    'How can I hate women, my Mums one!!!' Chris Finch

Club football I would agree with you Citizen. International is very different. u need a man players will respect, has tactical nous, can motivate and read a game.
    Kendall was a master at this and I see no reason why he could not be. Its just an idea is all

634 Posts
    2 leagues, 1 fa cup and a ECWC with an average Everton side!! When Liverpool were murdering everyone!!!
    Ya thats poor alright!
    1986 is calling , it wants its manager back
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

634 Posts
    . u need a man players will respect, has tactical nous, can motivate and read a game.
    I dare say you need a manager players remember to actually respect.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

alright fair enuff, maybe me blue tinted glasses got the better of me there
    still better than stan tho!

3,501 Posts
    Ya thats poor alright!
    Everton under Kendall had Neville Southall, Andy Gray, Peter Reid and Gary Lineker. Hardly average.
    What's he done since then? Sacked at Athletic Bilbao, sacked from Everton (twice) - and only managed to keep them up on the last day in one season.
    Sacked at Notts County after 3 months
    Sacked at Ethnikos Piraeus in Greece after 4 months in March 1999 and hasn't managed since. That'll be 9 years out of management by the time the spring friendlies roll around.

tetsujin
    i have conceded on the kendall front !

Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    Everton under Kendall had Neville Southall, Andy Gray, Peter Reid and Gary Lineker. Hardly average.
    What's he done since then? Sacked at Athletic Bilbao, sacked from Everton (twice) - and only managed to keep them up on the last day in one season.
    Sacked at Notts County after 3 months
    Sacked at Ethnikos Piraeus in Greece after 4 months in March 1999 and hasn't managed since. That'll be 9 years out of management by the time the spring friendlies roll around.
    Staunton was 37 years out of management when he took over............

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    load of rubbish
    people dont like him because he is harsh and tells the truth.
    Charlton WAS a long ball merchant who did not utilise our world class Midfield, and McCarthy WAS a beligerent ego maniac who couldnt handle a player being more important than him so he picked a fight.

Dunphy doesnt fit the Irish stereotype of "ah sure he is a great man, doing his best, thats all we can ask" "Ah sure we are only a small country, sure taking part is all that counts"

Its a load of ****e and He was the first man with the cahones to say it and has been vilified ever since. Dunphy talks more sense then every other "pundit" put together, with the possible exception of John "The Don" Giles.

Andy Townsend will be delighted to be called world class. I am afraid your attitude it typical Irish. Knock the people who have succeeded where others before them failed. Remind me about what grants Dunphy the right to criticise any manager? What has he managed, other than 10 G&Ts a night?

I saw far better Irish teams than Jack's not qualify for World Cups, including those with Giles as manager. It's easy to say, we could have done better if we played a different style of football but you don't know that. We might have just as easily got no where and the likes of Ray Houghton and John Aldridge and others may never have declared for us if Jack wasn't the manager. If my aunty had balls she'd be my uncle. I didn't give two hoots about the style of football we played. We got to three championships under him and the begrudgers like you and your non-entity hero can go and speculate all you want. I live in the real world of what people actually achieved. And thanks also to Mick for Korea/Japan and to Robbie for that last minute equaliser against Germany. I shall never forget them.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Jewell
    O'Leary
    Tommy Burns
    Keegan
    Venables
    Kendall
    Souness is the man for that job, well himself or Jewell, but I'd go for Souness any day of the week. O'Leary isn't a national manager by style, Keegan and Venables are washed up, what that makes Tommy Burns I'd shudder to think, and is Howard still alive?

By the by, i think Dunphy is spot on in his assestment of Ronaldo as being over-rated, though he does go over the top a bit on him

38 Posts
    Mike Newell

Dunphy said Wimbledon( under Sam Hammam) would be playing English Premier Division football from Dublin in 1996. He said all the clubs in the Premiership and the FA would not have any objection. I was in a supporter's group which said they wouldn't be allowed by either FIFA or UEFA to do so. Our views were dismissed.
    The Media here swallowed Eamon's story hook line and sinker. Only The Title even printed the other point of view. Our supporter's grouping were proved correct.
    When the Dublin move failed they were touted as moving to Cardiff. Some years later and having sold his shares in Wimbledon ,Sam Hammam had to buy Cardiff City to be able to work towards getting a Premier League club based there.

A few years back Wimbledon's fans formed a club called AFC Wimbledon who are still in London and operating in the Lower Leagues. I believe the next owners of Wimbledon moved to Milton Keynes and are now operating out of Division 4 ( or whatever it is called this week)
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 17/10/2007 at 9:12 PM.

503 Posts
    I think it is quite clear Dunphy is a walking opinion, but even a broken clock is right twice a day, and he nailed it tonight.

His analysis was spot on. He didn't critisise the players, as there is no point any more. He was right to focus on the main isues at stake; a sellout with empty seats, no direction, no game plan, tactically naive, outplayed, out fought.

Cyprus were all heart, hard work, and a good gameplan. I used to be from a country that had a team like that.

But its more than Dunphy. Brady, who admitted last month that it was hard for him to critisise a friend of his, was as passionate as i have ever seen him that Staunton must go.

How long can this carry on??

Whether or not Dunphy is a gob****e is beside the point

Page 3 of 15 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast