Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad v England (Turner’s Cross, October 16th)

50 Posts

Republic of Ireland Under-21 squad v England (Turner’s Cross, October 16th)

Predictions any one.
    Reports from the Swedish game were short and sweet. Anyone find out who played well, who got MoTM.
    I see Darren Gibson and Darren Dennehy are ruled out for Tuesday.

Stephen Gleeson is back for the game and also nice to see Owen Garvin getting his second u-21 cap on Friday.

Is the match been televised?

1-0 I guess though been a little biased

I will be at this one and I hope we put on a decent performance. Will be good to see Garvan in the flesh after hearing only good reports about him. Should be good atmosphere I think. Who else is making this game.
    In Trap we trust

Match is live on Sky Sports

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Randolph played very well aparantly.

I don't hold much hope for us. England have a class team.

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    I don't hold much hope for us. England have a class team.
    I'm with you on this, the majority of their side have Premiership experience, some have European experience and there's still some players from the championships last summer.

The team against Sweden was:

-------------Randolph----------------
    Nolan--Spillane---O'Dea(c)---O'Halloran
    -------Cregg---Garvan---Quinn-------
    ----O'Brien-----Downes-----Stokes---

Rooney will most likely takes the place of Downes.

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2007/1015/ireland2.html

The side was named and it looks good.

By the way, the agme is live on the net tommorrow night.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Torn-Ado View Post
    Brilliant, I've never seen an agme

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Brilliant, I've never seen an agme
    ****in Mayo people and the little things that give them their kicks.

Last edited by gustavo; 15/10/2007 at 4:05 PM.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Looks a good side there, would expect to see a few of those lads in the senior squad in the not too distant future.

Haven't heard much of Eddie Nolan before, is he highly rated at Blackburn?

Is it deffo on Sky sports???
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post
    Looks a good side there, would expect to see a few of those lads in the senior squad in the not too distant future.

As far as I know Nolan made a few first team appearances for Blackburn last season, he's supposed to be very highly rated. The whole back four has a lot of potential as does the entire team. Will be a big test against an extremely good England side.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    As far as I know Nolan made a few first team appearances for Blackburn last season, he's supposed to be very highly rated.
    Yeah, he did. Even an appearance in the UEFA Cup, spent the end of the season on loan to Stockport: http://www.chatsoccer.net/irishabroa...6&seasonID=136

Saw him play for the U-19's against Germany a few months ago, think he was the captain, although he was playing at centre half, not full back. Very promising on that performance, chased the ball down, tackled hard and seemed to find a teammate with most of his passes. Pretty much what you want from a defender.

Jesus that's attacking.

Clarke - a striker. Rooney - a striker. Stokes - a striker. O'Brien - An attacking winger. Quinn - an attacking midfielder.

Garvan is the only non-attack minded player outside of defence and I certainly wouldn't call him defensive (box to box). I suppose I've only seen Quinn at senior level where they're usually given less defensive duties, maybe he plays deeper at this level. Brave one from Givens all the same, hope it works out.

As usual, not happy that Stokes will be playing off the main striker.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr. Ogba View Post

Not sure if you keep an eye on Irish underage teams or not. Eddie Nolan is 19 and from Waterford. He has been a prominent under age player and has capped at every level up to U-21, recently captained the U-19's.

Has played for Blackburn in their Youth and reserves and was called up last season to the first team squad. Made his debut in the Uefa cup last season but them went on loan to Stockport. I may be wrong, but I don't think he has played for Blackburn's first team this year yet.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

This is a real opportunity for Stokes to show people what he can do.He has rightly or wrongly got some negative press but with the game shown on SS1 he can also prove to both Ireland and Sunderland fans he has got huge potential.Pity Gibson isnt fit he could beefen up the midfield a little.We must have half a dozen eligible players in the senior squad but its still not a bad line up.I presume Clarke and O Brien will play out wide.Looking forward to seeing Garvan.A draw would be a good result tbh.

Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Not sure if you keep an eye on Irish underage teams or not. Eddie Nolan is 19 and from Waterford. He has been a prominent under age player and has capped at every level up to U-21, recently captained the U-19's.

Has played for Blackburn in their Youth and reserves and was called up last season to the first team squad. Made his debut in the Uefa cup last season but them went on loan to Stockport. I may be wrong, but I don't think he has played for Blackburn's first team this year yet.
    Yeah would always try and go to the underage games if they're on in Dublin and would be familiar with all of those players but Nolan's name just didn't ring a bell with me at all...saying that, I was at the German u19 game so must have seen the fellah playing. Jaysus I must be gettin old, me memory's creakin!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

1,928 Posts
    I see Givens made 5 substitutions in that game against Sweden

3 at HT
    Henderson for Randolph, Power for Garvan, Sheehan for Quinn
    Coleman for Nolan (58 mins)
    Judge for O'Brien (68 mins).

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I see Givens made 5 substitutions in that game against Sweden

3 at HT
    Henderson for Randolph, Power for Garvan, Sheehan for Quinn
    Coleman for Nolan (58 mins)
    Judge for O'Brien (68 mins).
    Randolph was carrying a slight injury, it was probably precautionary to take him off.
    Surprised Garvan went off

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    The team against Sweden was:

-------------Randolph----------------
    Nolan--Spillane---O'Dea(c)---O'Halloran
    -------Cregg---Garvan---Quinn-------
    ----O'Brien-----Downes-----Stokes---

Rooney will most likely takes the place of Downes.
    Spillane... Is he normally a Midfielder??

The line up against england looks attacking alright.. Just hope though that Givens isn't falling into Keanes habit of playing Stokes left of Midfield!!!
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

Judge for O'Brien????

Anymore of the cast of Wanderly Wagon playing?

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast