Thread: Ireland V Cyprus - pre- match thread

O'shea will come back, but where ?

I'd play him left back with Kilbane on the same wing - can cover for O'Shea

Play Hunt on right wing. Neither McGeady nor Keogh are good enough for this level.

Alternatively, play him in centre mid, along with Reid - leaving O'Brien centre back with Mcshane

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Townie View Post
    Admittedly i've only watched the match once, but i thought Keogh did well on saturday, and i also think he provides a bit more of a physical presence than McGeady. He certainly put in some hard tackles in the opening part of the game. A couple of times he lost the ball and got straight back in and either won it back or made sure that the Germans couldnt advance with it, which i don't remember McGeady doing against the Slovaks or Czechs.
    There's a video of Andy Reid's performance in the match thread. He sent 4 long balls over to Keogh in the video. You don't see the end result but Keogh lost possession on all 4 occasions. He rarely kept possession. He wasn't impressive in the US either. It's unfair to be playing him out of position and I wouldn't play Keogh or McGeady on Wednesday.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Of course McGeady has been rubbish for Ireland but to say Keogh was much better is crazy. I watched the match live and I watched it again yesterday. He was guilty of everything McGeady was guilty of. I certainly wouldn't just say that to back up McGeady, whether you believe that or not.
    It's possible that you could compare mistake statistics but there is no question in my mind that the young Keogh has the attributes that Ireland need right now, if it's a question of one over the other.
    The last thing we need is a brilliant wee player cowering on the wing getting shoved off the ball with ease.
    It's not that crazy to think that the stout hearted Andy Keogh is one of the young lads that we need to have with more big game experience. He stood tall against the flying German elbows and gave as good as he got.
    McGeady can get substitute time.

Leave O Shea on the bench where he belongs, Start Keogh up front in place of "wave my arms about like a clown and miss a really really easy chance against Germany" Keane. Mcgeady is not good enough yet to start.
    Miller and Hunt HAVE TO both start, but alas Ginger gimp will amaze us with his team selection again I suspect!!
    Homer did it ever occur to you to let go of the Candy?

634 Posts
    As Neil has said earlier in this thread we really have to put our players in their natural positions or at least where they play for their clubs.
    This midfield

Keogh - Miller - A.Reid - Hunt

would be physically run over completely I believe. This campaign is gone and if the management are really and truely trying to tweak things for wc10 qualifiers then try a few new combinations, we surely won't get a better 2 matches.

The call for Joey O'Brien in centre midfield is a good one. He appears to be very composed on the ball, something Dunne is not. He is quite strong, good in the tackle and is tall enough also.

I'd be happy with this team
    Given
    Finnan
    Dunne
    O'Shea
    Kilbane
    Miller
    Reid
    O'Brien
    Hunt
    Keane
    Doyle

Will there be 50000 in attendence given the amount of spares available?
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

International Prospect passinginterest's Avatar
    435 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post

Given
    Finnan
    Dunne
    O'Shea
    Kilbane
    Miller
    Reid
    O'Brien
    Hunt
    Keane
    Doyle
    That's the team I'd like to see too. God only knows what it'll be though.
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
    Tallaght Stadium Regular

I think Stan will favour Douglas over Miller to replace Carsley.

I actually wouldn't mind seeing Miller and Douglas play together in central midfield because they were actually quite good together the year Leeds made it to the playoff final.

Obviously Reid has to start if he's fit.

I just hope John O' Shea doesn't get in. You can't keep rewarding a guy who plays that badly with a place in the team. I feel the same about Mcgeady. He's had enough chances. Keogh deserves at least another look this game.

67 Posts

Given
    Finnan
    Dunne
    O'Shea
    Kilbane
    Miller
    Reid
    O'Brien
    Hunt
    Keane
    Doyle
    Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    That's the team I'd like to see too. God only knows what it'll be though.

Lads Dunne is suspended

Quote Originally Posted by passinginterest View Post
    God only knows what it'll be though.
    I'm not God, but here's what I think Stan'll do.

Given
    Finnan O'Shea McShane Kelly
    Stan will say that O'Shea and McShane did well against the Czechs together. (It's possible that O'Brien will hang on to his place and O'Shea go to left full though.)

Keogh Reid Douglas Kilbane

Doyle Keane
    Foot.ie's entire existence is predicated on the average idiot's inability to ignore other idiots

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Which is 50 minutes more than McGeady against Czech and Slovakia. Whats your basis on picking McGeady over Keogh?

He's in better physical condition, meaning he'll be able to run for more than one half.

1,928 Posts
    Will there be 50000 in attendence given the amount of spares available?
    By Euro standards, 50,000 would be an incredibly good attendance for a "meaningless" end of season qual game with Cyprus.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibs4Ever View Post
    Lads Dunne is suspended
    Apologies I did mean to have McShane in place of Dunne.

Just to clarify why I'd have O'Shea and Kilbane in the team, and its a point I repeatedly make. Height. We have very little of it.
    If people were to pick their ideal teams, ina scenario where all are fit I believe we'd be doing well to have 3 players over 6 ft. This would be a disaster at set pieces. I'm saying that we should be ncorporating 7ft monsters into the team just to make up for our vertical deficiencies, but I reckon it is why we have consistently seen Kilbane on the left wing for Ireland.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    By Euro standards, 50,000 would be an incredibly good attendance for a "meaningless" end of season qual game with Cyprus.
    But given the fact that these tickets were all pre booked would 50,000 be a good capacity. I don't know if any of you have been to Croker before with 50,000 in it, but I have and even when its an organised 50k ( by this I mean lower tier selling only) the ground looks terrible so if its an unorganised 50k , with massive blanks in the ground, it will show up poorly.

646 Posts
    The german delegations will have a field day.

85 Posts
    It's the oul' Kilbane at left back chestnut again.. I haven't seen him for Wigan there. I did see him there for the toffee's and he wasn't great but no worse than what we have.

I heard that Potter and O'Shea will be fit..
    Given
    Finnan
    O'Shea
    McShane
    Kilbane
    O'Brien
    Potter
    Reid
    Hunt
    Doyle
    Keane
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

We'll struggle in this game. I reckon we'll propbably get a one nil result but I just can't see where the goals will come from.
    I think I should the parachute, because I'm great.

In fact, I think I should get both parachutes, in case one doesn't work.

Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    It's the oul' Kilbane at left back chestnut again.. I haven't seen him for Wigan there. I did see him there for the toffee's and he wasn't great but no worse than what we have.

I heard that Potter and O'Shea will be fit..
    Given
    Finnan
    O'Shea
    McShane
    Kilbane
    O'Brien
    Potter
    Reid
    Hunt
    Doyle
    Keane
    That's good news if Potter's fit, would like to see him given a chance. Would agree with your "diagnosis" there doctor except for J o'B, would prob stick Miller or McGeady on the right...

Jaysus there's been a few mad ideas thrown around in this thread aswell....The old Kilbane at CM chestnut, Hunt at CM (!), Douglas to start, Hunt at RM (!!), Keogh instead of Keane.....its a forum of Steve Stauntons!
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

If potter is fit I'd give him a run and change the team to:
    Given
    Finnan - McShane - O'Brien - Killer
    Miller - Reid - Potter - Hunt
    Keogh Doyle/Keane

Doyle and Keane are our two best strikers but the Keane Doyle partnership hasn't really worked so far, I'd like to see us experiment with a different partnership since this game is effectively a friendly

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ciaran View Post
    Colgan

Finnan McShane O Shea Finnan

Alan O Brian Douglas O Brian Kilbane

Murphy Keogh
    Are you Stan in disguise ?
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

386 Posts
    My team is:

-------- Given -----------
    Finnan McShane JOSH Kelly
    -------- O'Brien ----------
    ---Miller Reid Kilbane ----
    ------- Doyle Keane ------

Hunt and McGeady as second half subs if things aren't going our way.

Page 3 of 10 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast