Thread: Five games, five defeats...

@ndy
    I think Doolin wants him to become the midfield commander to free tony up for centre back.

I have a head ache

Met a bohs fan in the pit for the stereophonics gig...we both got chucked out for robustly 'dancing' (possibly on other peoples heads) while waving a crowe for ireland tricolour

Second team

Id say Im the only fan in the entire Premier Division who wants to see you guys stay up, I even want ye to win ever one of yer games except for 3 of them . During my Dublin exile UCD and Rovers (In the RDS) were the nearest teams but I could never go support Rovers as a City fan so I went to UCD games when ever I could. Im preparing my my next bout of exile but the plight of my Second team is worrying, whats happening lads? I dont want to be going to see UCD in the 1st Div!!

I know Bazza and Clive are gone but besides that the team is still way better than what they are showing. I think an extra man in the midfield would help,but Im only judging from the one game I saw against City. If Baker dropped back into the new Duff role perhaps, (I sure Martain could do this too when Baker cant play) it would stop ye getting opened up so easily. I'll prob. be killed for saying this but maybe just maybe Doolin himself would be up to playing 60 of each match in the centre of midfield just until some thing can be sorted out?
    Oh no not them again

@ndy

Re: Second team

Originally posted by SÓCcfc
    I'll prob. be killed for saying this but maybe just maybe Doolin himself would be up to playing 60 of each match in the centre of midfield just until some thing can be sorted out?
    Ya know, the thought has struck me, but i was afraid to say it. I'd say his fitness isn't great, maybe he is training? Maybe he should be. Midfield is the hardest area to play when u're not fit. If he could get half fit, with his ability...he is one of these players who can get away with half fitness because of his knowledge and ability to read the game....

c'mon doolo....tog out boy!

I don't know if Doolin would even last half the game to be honest. Even if he could, I think he doesn't want to be both playing and managing (mostly the reason he retired in the first place). A younger Doolo is what we need though!

An extra midfielder is all very well but that would leave the single striker very isolated and seeing as we've only scored one goal so far, I don't think we can afford that.

I've moved the musical interlude out of here by the way.

They've got an article in today's Dublin Daily about Dessie Baker.

According to it we've only got Dessie on a "short term deal" and has quotes from the man himself where he's saying things like "I hope to score a few goals while I'm here". It never actually states how long he'll be here though.

Also he's still training with Shels along with us, I'd doubt that he'd be able to keep that up very long.
    And stay out of Bumtown, ya no talent bum.

@ndy
    Well, if Shels are full time and we're not, i assume they train a couple of times more a week than us. I'm sure he's training full time so, which is great, and explains why, even tho visibly overweight he lasted the full 90 in Derry.

I'd say that his own attitude is not to rule anything out. It seems like a gentlemen's agreement between Doolin and Fenlon. Fenlon knows that at the moment he does not have any use in the first team for Baker. Baker obviously wants to play first team football, rather than reserve football, so we are his best option at the moment, being the only premier team in need. If shels lose a forward or two thru injury the situation will obviously change. Similarly if he hits a run of sparkling form, and shels are not scoring a lot of goals, they may decide they want him back? I'm sure he wishes he could walk into the shels first team hence his attitude. Either way, he is a quality striker and we should be delighted to have him for as long as possible. Be it a month, 3months, or the season.

As for the ambiguity re the term, it's from the horses mouth that we have him for the season...being cut short by either of the three parties...UCD, Dessie Baker and Shelbourne, if they decide they want to.

That is how i see it.

Andy.

Originally posted by @ndy
    As for the ambiguity re the term, it's from the horses mouth that we have him for the season...being cut short by either of the three parties...UCD, Dessie Baker and Shelbourne, if they decide they want to.
    I didn't think $hels had any say in it. Although if they want him back, Dessie would probably go I suppose.