Thread: Match Advice Please

Well I won't lie, I had the best time and my son really enjoyed his first match experience. I think he was in shock for the whole game. He idolises the Irish team and could not believe he was getting to watch his country play!!!

We waited around until almost eleven o clock trying to get him an autograph (He would have been happy even to see one of the team from afar) but yes we were made to feel like complete nuisances and ran off the grounds. There was only about five or six people waiting around but the officials were not happy and insisted we nicely get lost! We managed to get to see the German bus leave and even this to my son was a huge deal. I felt dissapointed for him though. I realise these players have manic schedules but there were only a handful of fans waiting around, two mins is all it would have taken to say hi. Anyways hope to bring him see them training of course when he is off school!

All in all a great experience though.

(Heard the german team signed some autographs and the irish boys refused)
    Manic schedule my arse, with the team playing the way they are and out of a championship the least they could do would be to sign autographs. gobsheens.

Id say in fairness though the country lads like dolye and long would make themselves available if they knew.

386 Posts
    I'd imagine the majority of players wouldn't have problems signing autographs - don't see why they would. It sounds like they were being ushered around by officials and probably didn't know there was fans waiting for autographs.

Agree with Paul. Both Doyle and Long strike me as genuine, down to earth lads that would be delighted to give away their autographs if asked (and if they knew you were there).

Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    Id say in fairness though the country lads like dolye and long would make themselves available if they knew.
    You still got that culchie chip on your shoulder?

Ya, but at least i know that my country brethren would stick round for autographs!!!

Or you assume they would. You can't think anybody is more down to earth than, say, Richard Dunne surely?

You can't think anybody is more down to earth than, say, Richard Dunne surely?
    Where was he then? Fair point for every 9 there is always an odd one out , he was a true dub till he got a good shoe up his arse at Man City though, then he copped on and you prolly couldn't meet a more modest and humble fella ( though I never met him - he comes across as such ), it is he who I feel really sorry for during this campaign, as he said himself "I am happy enough with my performance through this campaign", just after he said "we" didnt perform well enough throughout the campaign.

Meeting Players

I was forunate enough to meet the players after the Game they played against Jamaica a few yaers ago at Charlton and have to say they were all very friendly especially Kenny Cunningham, but I was there as a guest of Clive Clarke. I know a couple of mates of mine Redladd from here had a great session with the team after the Estonia match. By and large though the players now are so cosseted from the real world in England that they rarely get to meeet supporters and with the like of Tony Hickey around the chances are it will stay that way.

I was in Airport departures when they arrived for the flight Bratislava to Prague. Everyone of them I asked (6 of them) signed a shirt for me for my nephew at home.
    "I'd rather play in front of a full house than an empty crowd" Johnny Giles

Manic schedule my arse, with the team playing the way they are and out of a championship the least they could do would be to sign autographs. gobsheens.

Will you shut up with this rubbish about country lads. Do you honestly believe that country lads are better people than guys from Dublin. I have seen Damien Duff and Robbie Keane sign loads of autographs after games and I have seen Roy Keane do it for ages too.
    In Trap we trust

Where was he then? Fair point for every 9 there is always an odd one out , he was a true dub till he got a good shoe up his arse at Man City though, then he copped on and you prolly couldn't meet a more modest and humble fella ( though I never met him - he comes across as such ), it is he who I feel really sorry for during this campaign, as he said himself "I am happy enough with my performance through this campaign", just after he said "we" didnt perform well enough throughout the campaign.
    and where were the country lads. Your point is based on nothing other than your biased country view of the world.
    In Trap we trust

Lads I was around the team hotel in Bratislava on the Sunday. Most of the lads were very friendly and had no problem with standing in for photos
    NAMELY:
    Doyle OShea Hunt Long Keogh, Kilbane, Given, Dunne, Stan, Delaney (yes he did stand in for 2 photos and the face on him in acception looked like he had just won the world cup)

However, Carsley arrived in with Kilbane and just stayed for maybe half a minute and then ran off, not friendly at all, ditching Kilbane in the process. Keano was acting as if he was in a big hurry and didnt hang around for too long either (good PR by the captain), Reid wasn't at all hospitible, didn't even reply when asked for an autograph (but I don't blame him, probably still fuming seeing his absence from the match the night before) and well then we have Tony Hickie

But don't get me wrong, I'm not saying them players are like that the whole time. But I did think a few of the senior players were bigger headed than those younger.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Neill look at that list above and get back to me.

and back on point account, lets just hope mother and son weren't at the cyprus game...
    Superdave to the resc....

Can you wait til I finish my pint? Or else...

Mother & Son

No, mother and son were not in attendance at the Cyprus game. We were watching alright and I am glad I did not bring him. He does not care though. the irish boys are to him, the best, untouchable. Ah bless the little children!

Still, I am keeping the faith and I am looking forward to bringing him to his next match.