Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast

Thread: 4 Bohs fans jailed in Derry

was at the match, didnt seem lik much trouble otherwise. From what i heard was certinly sectarian. The Tavern Pub is only of the only Protestant pubs in Londonderry City centre.

Also, i have noticed a growing numbers of sectarian republican bohs supporters at dalymount recently, noted seeing 4 individuals wearing jackets with Sinn Fein/IRA badges on them and bohs insignia.
    "No one could make a greater mistake than he who did nothing because he could do only a little." - Edmund Burke

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    I have never read such unadulterated bull**** in my life.So the gist of what you are saying here is that Bohs members should escort these so called "fans" all over the country everywhere they go making sure they dont get into or cause any bother!!!

This is an issue for the Gardai/PSNI.If what is being claimed did happen how the hell is it anything to do with Bohemian FC.It happened miles from any ground and these people were not wearing club colours.It is an issue of public order not a footballing related incident!

The logic of some people on this board baffles me....
    where did i say bohs or derry

and why cant others in that grounp who claim to be fans allow others to throw a rock through a window not know whats on the other side, that is totally unaccepable if i could i would never allow these people into my town, neither would you,
    Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

Last night im pretty sure I read a short piece on the bbc website that there was reports of fans being assaulted near the Londo Street area. Where has this story gone to?
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    I wouldn't know what to believe here. I have heard two sides to the story locally. I find it hard to believe that any fans would set out to find this pub looking for bother. I reckon they stumbled upon it looking for the Oakgrove only to be told where to go by the locals, then it probably kicked off.
    I was texted before the game saying that they were going into the Fountain looking for a row.

This is obviously primarily a policing matter to resolve, but if I was associated with Bohs I'd be worried and looking to do something about it, if purely on reputation grounds. Particularly if these people came up on the subsidised club buses.

Its just something else for the barstoolers to jump on.
    Last edited by OneRedArmy; 10/10/2007 at 2:57 PM.

89 Posts
    I reckon they stumbled upon it looking for the Oakgrove only to be told where to go by the locals, then it probably kicked off.

No chance.

They were drinking at the bar down drom the Oak, on the corner of Bishop Street and Abercorn Road. It was JD's but I think is "Sullivans" or something like that NOW.

Typical casuals, between 30-50 of them, drinking outside. Not a top, scarf or the like to be seen, just the usual hoolie wear. They had wrecked their bus on the way up,and the driver had dropped them and headed straight back to Dublin.

They headed down the direction of the Fountain and putting hoods up and the like it was obvious they were looking for bother. The Tavern is the first bar you'd come to in the Fountain when coming that direction, so they probably just decided to have a whack at it.

Gerry Conway's "defence" of the incident on local radio today was ridiculous.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

4 of the 7 arrested have been sent toprison for 3 months for riotous behaviour. Was headline on the Radio Foyle News at 4 oclock
    FHFC Forever in Our Shadows - PARTY POOPERS UR HAVING A LAUGH

DCFC AIRTRICITY FIRST DIVISION CHAMPIONS 2010

BACK WHERE WE BELONG!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Maribor View Post
    Can you elaborate on this bit please ........

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    This is obviously primarily a policing matter to resolve, but if I was associated with Bohs I'd be worried and looking to do something about it, if purely on reputation grounds. Particularly if these people came up on the subsidised club buses.
    They didnt, they organised their own bus and when they smashed up the toilet door on the bus the driver dropped them off in Derry had then went home, leaving them stranded.
    Last edited by bohs til i die; 10/10/2007 at 3:20 PM.

1,553 Posts
    4 of the 7 arrested have been sent toprison for 3 months for riotous behaviour. Was headline on the Radio Foyle News at 4 oclock
    Delighted to hear this. Can't imagine that happening on this side of the border.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    They didnt, they organised their own bus and when they smashed up the toilet door on the bus the driver dropped them off in Derry had then went home, leaving them stranded.
    Fair enough so. Sounds like they got what they deserved.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    Fair enough so. Sounds like they got what they deserved.

No arguments on that score, just a pity there wasnt a few more.

Has anyone got any links to local news sites for the Derry area with any confirmation of this?

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1010/derry.html

Four Dublin football fans jailed in Derry

Four Dublin football supporters who travelled to Derry on Tuesday night for the eircom League Cup final between Derry City and Bohemians, were today jailed for three months when they admitted their involvement in disturbances outside a city centre pub an hour before the cup final started.

Jailing the four, Resident Magistrate Barney McElholm described their actions as "outrageous thuggery".

Those jailed for three months were Evan Kane (20), a student from 205, Upper Dorset Street, Dublin, Francis O'Reilly (29), a local authority employee from 4 Clonturk Park, Dublin, Gavin James Hanly (22), a security company employee from 86, McKee Park, Dublin and Brian Shannon (20), of 7, Ventry Drive, Cabra.

All four pleaded guilty to a charge of riotous behaviour at the Tavern Bar, situated on the edge of the loyalist Fountain Estate. O'Reilly, Hanly and Shannon also pleaded guilty to a charge of causing up to £3,000 of criminal damage to the bar.

The four, who declined legal representation when they appeared in court, were among seven men arrested following the disturbances. Three other men were all released unconditionally having stayed Tuesday night in the cells in Derry's police headquarters at Strand Road.
    A Public Prosecution Service solicitor told the court that the four had earlier been drinking in another bar before they entered the Tavern Bar. Once inside the premises, they shouted "Up The Ra" and smashed three windows, damaged items of furniture and assaulted two women.
    "The incidents outside the bar were recorded by a nearby CCTV.device and, after it was examined by the police, the defendants were identified and arrested by the police after the match", he said.

All four declined to address the court before they were sentenced. The Magistrate said he was told that they chanted sectarian slogans during the disturbances.

He said: "This must have been a very frightening experience for the customers and staff. I view this as an extremely serious offence. We, for a long time in this part of the country, have had to put up with violence and now, just at a time when we at

last seem to be dragging ourselves out of it, you four arrive from Dublin.

"This bar in London Street on the cityside has unfortunately been attacked in the past for sectarian reasons. The courts are obliged to protect all of the people of this city. I sentence each of you to three months imprisonment because this sort of behaviour demands an immediate custodial sentence," he said.

When the sentences were passed, two of the four defendants wept in the dock. All four then asked to instead be allowed to pay compensation and restitution to the bar owner, Kingsley Curry, who was in court for the hearing.

The Resident Magistrate then asked Mr. Curry if he wanted a chance to recover money from the four or did he want the punishment already imposed.

"Punishment, I will take the loss", Mr. Curry replied.

The Magistrate then replied: "That is fair enough, the sentences stand".
    We are the SR the SRFC.......
    Part time Finn Harps too :)

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    No arguments on that score, just a pity there wasnt a few more.

Has anyone got any links to local news sites for the Derry area with any confirmation of this?

not at the minute tho im sre as soon as it is on the BBC website it should be put up

BACK WHERE WE BELONG!!!!

Last edited by dcfc_dee; 10/10/2007 at 3:29 PM.

BACK WHERE WE BELONG!!!!

43 Posts
    No chance.

They were drinking at the bar down drom the Oak, on the corner of Bishop Street and Abercorn Road. It was JD's but I think is "Sullivans" or something like that NOW.

Typical casuals, between 30-50 of them, drinking outside. Not a top, scarf or the like to be seen, just the usual hoolie wear. They had wrecked their bus on the way up,and the driver had dropped them and headed straight back to Dublin.

They headed down the direction of the Fountain and putting hoods up and the like it was obvious they were looking for bother. The Tavern is the first bar you'd come to in the Fountain when coming that direction, so they probably just decided to have a whack at it.

Fair enough, spotted that crowd at Sullivans at 5 O Clock. Not a club colour on them. Scumbags to actually go into that area, and look for a row. Thought it was a seperate crowd coming from the town that I met earlier, who I gave directions to the Oak!
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

89 Posts
    Basically claimed that those involved didn't know what they were doing.

I'll try and find the link on the Radio Foyle website.
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Its a Secterian Hate crime, they have different laws in the North and take no prisoners especially when lads from the South try to cause secterian s***e.

Quote Originally Posted by ForzaHoop View Post
    Its a Secterian Hate crime, they have different laws in the North and take no prisoners especially when lads from the South try to cause secterian s***e.
    And they are dead right not to take any ****e from them.My only gripe would be that they would be associated with Bohemian FC when they are just thugs who have no interest in the fortunes of the club and are just out to cause trouble!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

82 Posts
    Another victory for the CCI CCTV network in Derry.

Swift justice indeed. Well done Barney.

http://www.rte.ie/news/2007/1010/derry.html

It is official, maybe this will scare the BSC lads and Stop them from this Hooligan s***e they carry on with, attacking innocent people and bars.

I wouldn't know what to believe here. I have heard two sides to the story locally. I find it hard to believe that any fans would set out to find this pub looking for bother. I reckon they stumbled upon it looking for the Oakgrove only to be told where to go by the locals, then it probably kicked off.
    exactly what i thought lofty...yer man (curry) the owner said that there was 2 tourists there among the 5 customers,....now with my (limited) knowledge of derry,It wouldnt strike me as a spot where tourists would have a pint....seemed he was just making it a whiter than white story....still ********s for thrashin the place, but id say as lofty says there is more to the story!

Page 2 of 15 FirstFirst 123412 ... LastLast