" YOU NEVER WIN ANYTHING WIT KIDS "
STEP FORWARD COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIVISION CHAMPS 2007
I love this attitude.The old "you dont know the full story so dont comment"!!Its absolute nonense.We can only call it on the facts we have.If Stephen wants to clear the matter up he is more than welcome to do so but until he does I can only judge this case on its merits and they are the facts that he says he couldnt do himself justice in a green jersey but he can in a blue one!
Why would he get any reaction other than apathy?Despite the fact that this issue has commanded a 9 page story he really is not that important to me or to the national team.Lets be honest hes no Richard Dunne or Shay Given and my bet is that 80,000 punters in Croke Park wouldnt even acknowledge his presence!!If he thinks they would then he has a very high opinion of himself.
Bohs Will Be Back!!!
I think there's been enough mentioned about his personal life being in a mess for the guy to be given the benefit of the doubt.
I see what you're saying, but the facts came out the last time and there really wasn't any need fer the whole of Manchester and Ireland to know that his partner miscarried. I think everyone said at the time that personal reasons would have been a sufficient statement, and that's the case now... It's strange, but the tone from the FAI doesn't appear to be bitter or begrudging.
Post the link there please
"post the link there" as in with the fairies
Hasn't this Bebo brain dead discussion gone low enough for most people's standards?
Lim till I die,
For someone who seems to hate the Irish international team you appear to have a serious interest in the (mis)fortunes of our players. Why bother posting on this supporters forum? Why is your signature concerning the teams woeful display in san marino? Whats that all about if you don't support the team? Do you 'not support' Ireland ahead of all other football interests?
And what is this 'Oirish' shyte? thats the sort of stuff Sun/Mail hacks use when ripping the pis$ out of the 'micks'.
The dude abides....
Its a commonly used term when talking about anything fakely Irish (eg Tom Cruise's accent in "far & away" was Oirish)
have yet to see it being used in any other way, and fail to see how it could be.
No need to get into the specifics of Lim's use, as its fairly obvious
Seriosly lads, back that last claim up or it gets deleted...
The most depressing thing about this campaign is that with 3 games to go Steven Irelands personal life is the hot topic.
[QUOTE=btid1;788201]I love this attitude.The old "you dont know the full story so dont comment"!!Its absolute nonense.We can only call it on the facts we have.If Stephen wants to clear the matter up he is more than welcome to do so but until he does I can only judge this case on its merits and they are the facts that he says he couldnt do himself justice in a green jersey but he can in a blue one!
QUOTE]
Steven Ireland is hardly going to come out and say "I'm on medication - two tablets a day, I have difficulty sleeping, I'm seriously depressed and anxious and sometimes am scared of leaving the house because the world feels like it's going to fall in" etc etc. If the lad is depressed then the last thing you'd want is the whole country reading about how your private life is causing you so much distress and turmoil. People taking the mick saying "how can you be depressed earning 30 grand a week blah blah blah". Look how much ridicule Stan Collymore got for admitting he was suffering from depression. Front page news in the English tabloids.
"If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.
You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!
How can he play for City, and not for Ireland? Consider this:
Imagine your wife/girlfriend had a miscarraige a few weeks ago. She's upset, you're upset, things are tense/hard.
You take a few days off work to be with her, but before too long, you have to go back to work. Before too long, you have the option of doing some extra work, over and above your normal job, in a different city, for about a week.
Wouldn't you pass this up, to stay with your wife/girlfriend? Or would you say "Well, I've been able to do my regular job, despite these trying times, so there's no reason why I shouldn't go away and do this other job for a week."
I don't think Stephen Ireland should be considered for another Ireland squad until he's grown up and become an adult, which seems like a fair bit away yet. His decision here is a disgrace imo.
The miscarriage incident was a month ago, I really don't think I(or the majority of people) would be taking time off work a month later if my gf had a miscarriage, my mother had a miscarriage a long time ago a took a couple of days off work, my father didn't, I'm not saying you shouldn't take time off work if your gf had a miscarriage but taking time off after a month has passed is a bit of a stretch to say the least, I don't buy this as the reason he won't play.
When the Czechs need 3 points from the Slovakia match Stephen might feel fit enouth to play against Wales.
I don't feel right commenting on his personal life, but he is a luxury player that we can't build a formation around (so is McGeady). He isn't a defensive presence and Carsley is too slow to defend the centre of the park by himself, so we are better off without the lad at the minute.
"No regrets, none at all. My only regret is that we went out on penalties. That's my only regret. But no, no regrets." -Mick McCarthy