Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rambler1 View Post
    Thats Right...he is only our top scorer after all....thats says it all really.....dont play him for Ireland again....he'd be so lucky with some of the "expert" posts on him here.
    Yes because kicking a round ball into a net demands a level of intelligence on par with the greatest minds of our time.

I've never seen any thread about Stephen Ireland that didnt result in ****e going on at the moment, Jealous, bitter spiteful comments, Accusations with no evidence, its a joke. Treat the lad like ye treat the likes of Joey O'Brien i hate the way comments bout cork come into it, its the lowest form intelligence, embarassing. "Ya but he's from cork their all the same"-Stupid ****e, says more about the posters than people from Cork, some poeple are having a pop off Ireland in a intelligent civilized manner, fair play. thats the way to do it. If you have a problem with the boy go about it in a educated way.

Dahamsta is deleting threads for good reasons i reckon Mojo, i seen one that is deleted now that was ridiculous.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

i havent seen the ones that are being deleted only my own one that was clearing up that ireland has 2 kids not the 4 that people are saying on here. i wasnt giving out about dahamsta just wondering was he deleting threads that he didnt like...

If he is suffering from depression to the extent where he has pulled out of the Irish setup then there is no way he could play for Man city the way he has played the last few games. He has played better than he has ever played in a blue jersey but who am I to judge? If it is the case that he is unwell then I wish him the best of luck and I really hope he recovers quickly and comes back to play for Ireland again. We as Irish supporters are a very forgiving lot imho and I think he would know that.There just appears to be so much going on in this guy’s life considering his very short international career.

Maybe its us as a group of supporters who are depressed and considering the results in the last few games and rightly so. There just does not seem to be any passion and pride left any more.The rugby was a typical example with its in house conflict and maybe the same applies within the current football camp.

Just look at the passion in the Scottish camp, a team that on paper is not as good as ours. Even the English players have now more pride in playing for their country than us. Now that’s not saying much but it’s true. Look at Michael Owen just back after a big stomach operation, John Terry with a broken jaw, Steven Gerrard with a broken toe.

The Irish players need their passion back and start to punch above their weight like they used to. I just wish we had more of the Given, Dunne, Kilbane, Keane, MacShane attitude and we may finally get it right.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    It matters little whether he plays anyway, afterall he played and scored when we lost to Cyprus, so whilst we may miss his goals we may also miss 5 going in the other end .
    I'm not saying Stephen was responsible for them of course but he is hardly what I would call a key player.

Quote Originally Posted by MojoPin View Post
    i havent seen the ones that are being deleted only my own one that was clearing up that ireland has 2 kids not the 4 that people are saying on here. i wasnt giving out about dahamsta just wondering was he deleting threads that he didnt like...
    Oh i know ya i was just on bout the other comments, one of mine were deleted too
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Are you Irish?
    Sigh

I was born in Limerick

Do I follow the Oirish national side?? Not on your fcukin life

Jealous, bitter spiteful comments
    Why would anyone be jealous of the poor tortured soul??

HE'S STILL PLAYING FOR MAN CITY

The apologists are looking increasingly pathetic

Only in Oireland.......

I would have thought fair enough if he is really shook up over the miss-carriage and the foolish events afterwards but he's playing for city. This is a fupping joke. Man things are getting pretty bad....

Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    If he is suffering from depression to the extent where he has pulled out of the Irish setup then there is no way he could play for Man city the way he has played the last few games. He has played better than he has ever played in a blue jersey but who am I to judge? If it is the case that he is unwell then I wish him the best of luck and I really hope he recovers quickly and comes back to play for Ireland again. We as Irish supporters are a very forgiving lot imho and I think he would know that.There just appears to be so much going on in this guy’s life considering his very short international career.

Maybe its us as a group of supporters who are depressed and considering the results in the last few games and rightly so. There just does not seem to be any passion and pride left any more.The rugby was a typical example with its in house conflict and maybe the same applies within the current football camp.

Just look at the passion in the Scottish camp, a team that on paper is not as good as ours. Even the English players have now more pride in playing for their country than us. Now that’s not saying much but it’s true. Look at Michael Owen just back after a big stomach operation, John Terry with a broken jaw, Steven Gerrard with a broken toe.

The Irish players need their passion back and start to punch above their weight like they used to. I just wish we had more of the Given, Dunne, Kilbane, Keane, MacShane attitude and we may finally get it right.
    Good sensible post at last.....Maybe he thinks that he had/has the backing of the City Fans but wouldnt be able at this point in time for the possible grief he was going to get from a section of the fans at any irish game. Maybe we just dont know and are too quick to judge when we dont obviously know the whole story.....

The Ireland apologists are friggin hilarious, not one of you has given a reasonable explanation as to why he can continue to play for Man City but not Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    The Ireland apologists are friggin hilarious, not one of you has given a reasonable explanation as to why he can continue to play for Man City but not Ireland
    Because he's loved there and ye hate him.....I mean ye probably have never even forgave yer mothers for not letting ye watch and give out about something related to the Irish Squad..... when ye were in the womb...

176 Posts
    Did his pinky have another miscarriage??

Stephen Ireland should not be allowed to be in the Ireland squad again, simple as. The nature of his "explanations-lies" to get out of the game in Prague were so disgusting, the amount of money wasted by the FAI to fly him back on false pretences, the inconvenience that he caused to the team and his boss as a result, should have warranted a tough response from his boss, and the FAI. It's time players like him, were made an example of. Who do we think he is, Roy Keane?? We have other options in his position, it's now time to use them.

The apologists are looking increasingly pathetic

As are you. You have him hung, drawn and quartered WITHOUT knowing the FULL story.

Quote Originally Posted by 4tothefloor View Post
    Play's a blinder for city in the last few games and now all of a sudden he's depressed?

Again do you know the full story? If so provide a link please other than the brief statement that was released. I might add the word depresion has not been given anywhere. The word seems to have been pounced upon without ever having been used officially.

The fact that he is having "problems" and will have "treatment" can be a whole host of different things.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

72 Posts
    Richard Dunne's take on the Stephen Ireland situation.

"I chat with Stephen about everything," remarked Dunne.

"If he tells me he does not feel right to play for Ireland, it`s not up to me to be prying into his personal life and convincing him he should be going.

"Yes, he`s been very good, and he has scored some very important goals, while his all-round ability and play has been excellent.

"Within himself, he needs to make sure he is happy and completely committed and ready to play for Ireland before he can be away from home for 10 days."

Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    Because playing for city equals zero nights away from home (and whatever may be going on there), playing for ireland equals 10 nights away from home.

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    As are you. You have him hung, drawn and quartered WITHOUT knowing the FULL story.
    HE'S STILL HAPPY TO PLAY FOR MAN CITY

Pathetic Oirish fans

YOU STILL DO NOT KNOW THE FULL STORY.
    Top Breeders recommend drinkfeckarse....

Quote Originally Posted by drinkfeckarse View Post
    YOU STILL DO NOT KNOW THE FULL STORY.
    *Stops shouting*

He is still happy to play for Man City

3,500 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Did his pinky have another miscarriage??
    That's way out of line

214 Posts

Pathetic Oirish fans
    what's pathetic about fans waiting to hear the full story before condemning and ridiculing the lad?

FFS you'd think he has a raped a bus load of nuns by some of the reactions on here. He has decided that at this moment in time that he isn't well enough mentally to come over to Dublin and play in two games of football.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Page 9 of 12 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast