Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast

Thread: Stephen Ireland pulls out of squad

2,796 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by FarBeag View Post
    Mental Illness or not,either way it look's like he has no interest in playing for his country.
    Given the info that has come out overnight I think it's clear that he's having big personal problems & being away from a stable environment is the last thing he needs. I saw nowhere, explicit or implicit, that he has no interest in playing for his country.

This is a really badly handled PR balls up yet again. The initial statement brought a lot of criticism then the subsequent info on counselling and personal problems etc. provided some justification & grounds for compassion. Man City's media people are obviously far more sophisticated than the FAI's.

All the guy is receiving on here now is widespread vitriol. I think there's sufficient room for doubt and sufficient info for all to back off for now.

The comment I find intriguing was in the Indo where Dunne is alleged to have had words with him and found the response "exasperating". What was that supposed to mean / imply?

The rumours about disharmony in the Indo are worth getting to the bottom of. I hate the innnuendo - get straight out with it man! It may help hasten Stan's departure as squad morale was seemingly his biggest selling point at the start.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 10/10/2007 at 2:31 PM.

You Ireland fans crack me up:

"You can't call him a disgrace, you don't know him"

Swiftly followed by:

"He obviously has personal issues"

He is a disgrace, a coward and a liar and he's is pi$$ing all over ye.
    Are you Irish?

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Jesus, talk about one sided. According to Kerr he made no such promises and Ireland walked out in a huff when he wasn't named as a starter...

Its clear now who was telling the truth...
    According to Kerr !!...Did 'according to Kerr' know that Kerr convinced Man City Manager Kevin Keegan over the phone as to what an integral part he had to play in the competition...did according to Kerr know that he was dropped for the first game (not even named on the bench) dropped for the second game ...and yes then went home before he could be dropped for the last one and spare the embarassement of walking around with your kit bag like a langer for all 3 games in front of your home town who had paid to get in and see you ......did 'according to Kerr' know that Kerr personally travelled to manchester to explain after why he shafted him..... Do u know the truth ...cause I do and theres lots more that guys like you will never know but still judge based on some statement from someone covering their arse....have all of ye people out there who say he should never play again ever been in a major crisis point in your life ...and and if so how have u done...was football on the top of your agenda at that time or was it near to bottom of the list....ye make me sick all ye so called experts who talk a great game ...Most of ye are the reason Kerr got the boot and now ye are not happy either with Staunton ... serves ye right...
    Give the guy a break and act like adults for a change.Theres a reason for it and its not up to you or me to decide if the reason is valid or not...As for does he care about Ireland ?...Well what do ye experts think ?....Is he not one of the few Irish players who ran themselves into the ground for the Irish cause and did the job of the forwards in doing so...or maybe ye have conveniently forgotten all that....doesnt care about Ireland!!!...Give me a break

I think what would bother most people about the situation is not the fact that he feels unable to play for his country rather the fact that he has just signed a new contract at city & is playing out of his skin for them.

Doesn't seem to to be the actions of someone in turmoil. However, if he does indeed have demons that he needs to confront, then he should be left alone to do so.
    And you ask me to help you??!! Man is evil!!!! Capable of nothing but destruction!

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    If Ireland has mental problems according to some of the muppets on here then why after half a dozen caps are they only causing such a serious problem now that he can't even force himself to show up for an International squad? Don't be so naive you plonkers isn't it far more likely that he's not showing up because:

a) He's afraid of any criticism he was likely to get from the fans after his last episode.
    b) We are now definitely out of Euro2008 so he's probably not that bothered.
    c) He was probably told he wouldn't be starting anyway and as per Kerr a few years ago has gone off into one of his tantrums.

His serious mental problems obviously haven't affected him at Manchester City in the slightest or in any of the previous international caps he's accumulated.

Ireland is a 100% plonker and the epitome of what's wrong with footballers in this day and age. He caused trouble at youth level and he's been causing trouble in his short career at senior level. Wake up and smell the sh*te including that wally from Cobh above and stop trying to ignore or explain away this obvious fact with pure speculative dribble.

Lucky he's pretty sh*te anyway or we'd be in trouble. We get overrun everytime he plays in the midfield. At least Stan the dunce will now be forced to start with A Reid.

P.S. Why do people from Cork all have to support each other even when it's clear one of them is in the wrong? Do they really think everyone else in Ireland has it in for them? As a Dub I can state that nobody in Dublin I ever met could care less about Cork so it continues to elude me as to where a large percentage of them got these chips on their shoulders from.
    Your young alright...and thick

Quote Originally Posted by Rambler1 View Post
    Your young alright...and thick
    A clever and well constructed argument from the Cobh gentleman!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

Maybe the kit draws attention to his extremely dodgy barnet.... Nah everything does.
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    Shame no gentlemen support Bohs !

Beating up four old men and a woman, brave fellas !
    Bye bye Stan. Go off back to collecting cones you useless git.

Quote Originally Posted by btid1 View Post
    Ya just giving the previous post the respect it deserves....none..If we want to start slagging one another off then Im as good as dishing out insults as anyone....

3,500 Posts
    If Ireland has mental problems according to some of the muppets on here
    and according to official statements from himself, his manager and his club
    then why after half a dozen caps are they only causing such a serious problem now that he can't even force himself to show up for an International squad?
    because he never had to deal with a girlfriend suffering a miscarriage after any of those caps? (don't want to appear insensitive or flippant to anyone who's suffered a miscarriage here, if my statement offends you then I'm sorry)
    Don't be so naive you plonkers isn't it far more likely that he's not showing up because:
    a) He's afraid of any criticism he was likely to get from the fans after his last episode.
    possibly, although I'd like to see you walk out in front of 80,000 people ready and waiting to criticise you
    b) We are now definitely out of Euro2008 so he's probably not that bothered.
    we're not definitely out, we're more than likely out
    c) He was probably told he wouldn't be starting anyway and as per Kerr a few years ago has gone off into one of his tantrums.
    Unlikely, apart from his debut, he's started every game he's been in the squad for
    He caused trouble at youth level and he's been causing trouble in his short career at senior level.
    Brian Kerr was as much to blame IMO
    Lucky he's pretty sh*te anyway or we'd be in trouble. We get overrun everytime he plays in the midfield. At least Stan the dunce will now be forced to start with A Reid.
    he's so sh*te he's our top scorer in the qualifiers? And scored the winning goal in 2 of the qualifiers?

And if you're going to try and start an argument, try to back it up with facts, the word "probably" has no place in any convincing argument.
    Finally, attack the post, not the poster. We are none of us "plonkers" or "muppets".

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Stephen Ireland, Roy Keane, Eddie O'Sullivan......spot the connection
    Ya great sporting brains....and earning more then you at a living..Im sure Ill think of a few more...

i have noticed that alot of posts are being erased by dahamsta including one of which was my own when i defended ireland in relation to a claim he had 4 kids already. is this a touchy subject dahamsta

im not taking a pot shot i understand that the forum needs moderation my post was a fact and i know it is a fact as i know him and his family not too well but more than alot here, well at least i used to know him.

P.S. Why do people from Cork all have to support each other even when it's clear one of them is in the wrong? Do they really think everyone else in Ireland has it in for them? .
    im from his home town and i think he is doing wrong from what we know! but in all fairness if i was too put half the stories that are heard around here he is a serioulsy messed up boy and not in a spoilt brat sort of way to be honest i expect him to have a break down pretty soon the way he's getting so much media attention wouldnt be surprised if something may happen in the not too distant future.

Quote Originally Posted by Aldini98 View Post
    Shame no gentlemen support Bohs !

Beating up four old men and a woman, brave fellas !
    Very clever and you know that no gentlemen support Bohs how exactly?!!

Back to your barstool!
    Bohs Will Be Back!!!

Ya great sporting brains....and earning more then you at a living..Im sure Ill think of a few more...
    Anyone who thinks Stephen Ireland is a sporting brain must be drinking water from the Lee!

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    I would find it very suprising that anyone who is suffering from severe
    depression could play in a high intensity Premiership match in front of 40,000
    people.
    I hate ppeople who look at depression like this. Sebastian Deisler was one of Europes best midfielders until he suffered depression, it effectivly ruined his career. Money cannot save a person from depression or prevent them from suffering it.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tetsujin1979 View Post
    because he never had to deal with a girlfriend suffering a miscarriage after any of those caps? (don't want to appear insensitive or flippant to anyone who's suffered a miscarriage here, if my statement offends you then I'm sorry)
    This was over a month ago and it didn't stop him turning out for any of his recent Man City games so your argument doesn't hold water.

possibly, although I'd like to see you walk out in front of 80,000 people ready and waiting to criticise you
    I seriously doubt 80,000 people will be slagging him. A small minority may have given him some slight abuse as a result of him lying stupidly in the first place at a crucial point in our qualification. And yes, if I had been silly enough to put myself in the same situation I would be prepared to face a few of the fans and their frustration instead of just making the whole thing worse by hiding and waiting until everything blows over.

we're not definitely out, we're more than likely out
    We are out in everything but a mathematical sense even if you would like to think otherwise.
    Unlikely, apart from his debut, he's started every game he's been in the squad for
    Until he ran out last month. Possibly this could change things. Maybe Stan decided to keep Reid in the team. Who knows? Not me but it's far more likely than Ireland having a rare but severe mental disorder that doesn't affect his club career in the slightest but only rears it's head when he has to play an International match.

he's so sh*te he's our top scorer in the qualifiers? And scored the winning goal in 2 of the qualifiers?
    Who cares? We've been overrun in midfield in every game he's been involved in and conceeded goals on many occasions that have cost us results. I'd rather have a player in midfield that sticks his foot in and gets involved in the game rather than a plonker that pops up occasionally with a goal but does nothing for the other 89 minutes of the match.

And if you're going to try and start an argument, try to back it up with facts, the word "probably" has no place in any convincing argument.
    Finally, attack the post, not the poster. We are none of us "plonkers" or "muppets".
    If someone seriously believes Steven Ireland has a severe mental problem that only affects him when travelling to International games but isn't a problem when travelling sometimes greater distances for away matches at club level then they are indeed a gullible plonker.
    Last edited by youngirish; 10/10/2007 at 4:39 PM.

This doesnt excuse anything. he scored against Slovakia buyt after mcgeady was the worst player on the pitch. Too often he has completly disapeared while playing central midfield. Dont let his scoring record take away from his poor all round play. I felt really sorry for Carsley in Bratislava trying to do the job of two men in central midfield

131 Posts
    Ya just giving the previous post the respect it deserves....none..If we want to start slagging one another off then Im as good as dishing out insults as anyone....
    You should be used to defending yourself after all everyone is against you aren't they being from Cork in all? When is your new book coming out 'Stephen Ireland - The Sun Shines out of your Arse?'

Is it an autobiography?
    Last edited by youngirish; 10/10/2007 at 4:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Anyone who thinks Stephen Ireland is a sporting brain must be drinking water from the Lee!
    Thats Right...he is only our top scorer after all....thats says it all really.....dont play him for Ireland again....he'd be so lucky with some of the "expert" posts on him here.

Page 8 of 12 FirstFirst ... 678910 ... LastLast